Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars49
4.7 out of 5 stars
Price:£12.03+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 February 2013
Do you ever feel as though you are not living the life you were meant to lead? Do you feel yourself living for others and putting yourself last? Well that is exactly how the 3 idiots feel... we all have one shot at life, so do you think you need a hand in moving your life in the right direction? If yes, then do not delay, you need to watch this fantastic film.

Without giving too much away, the film revolves around 2 guys, who have the right intentions, yet everything they seem to be doing is to keep others happy, especially their parents!! That is until they meet Rancho, a student who really does dare to be different!! He believes in creating his own rules, opposed to following the crowd.

A beautiful film, which should be enjoyed by people of all walks of life... it does not matter if you are black, white, Indian or any other nationality!! There are great lessons to be learnt from this film, that if implemented, you will start to see your life moving in a totally new direction for the better.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2011
I believe that this is the first Bollywood film I have seen. It has opened a door to a very different World. The nature of the Indian people - both the negatively stubborn grip on dogma, and the warmth of the social side of their nature - was a delightful change from the fare from Hollywood.

That the film is punctuated by delightful music and occasional dances is true to the Bollywood style, and shows the Indian love of life and how they do not take life too seriously. I was so enamoured by these people that I plan to spend a month in India on holiday.

This is one of the best films I have ever seen (and I have seen many). The sharp and penetrating writing, choreography, vibrant colours, perfect casting, great acting, unpredictable twists and turns, the camera work, and those vibrant colours!

The dance/song in the middle of the film made me cry. It is like a dream sequence and so beautifully captured that I want to watch it again and again. It is funny also. I found it funny also that the actors would randomly switch from Hindu to English and back again.

I also bought "Like stars on earth" because I was so impressed by Aamir Khan - the lead role in the film. That film confirmed my belief that Aamir really believed in the ideas underlying the film - it comes across that the film was a vehicle for expressing the unspoken, the taboo, to the Indian people that they all wanted to hear, but delivered from the heart.

I cannot recommend it highly enough but do be warned that it is about 3 hours long. Do not worry about the need to see subtitles - this had minimal impact on the viewing.
22 comments|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2011
This is a wonderful film which transcends labels like 'Asian Cinema' or 'Bollywood' and indeed, you don't need to be a fan of either to get a lot out of this film though at the very least, you should not mind subtitles too much. If you can get past that you will get to see one of the greatest films of your life, on a par with movies like Shawshank Redemption that are just classic feelgood movies.

The story is that two friends and a rival of theirs meet up hoping to meet their friend Rancho who vanished after going to the same engineering college with them. The days when they met him, getting to know him and all their adventures and shared experiences is displayed using flashbacks, there are a few songs but not many, and not enough to distract from the plot of the occasional song and dance is not your cup of tea.

There is a serious side to the movie which is easy to ignore, the theme of the pressures inherent in Indian society, boys should become engineers, girls should become doctors and the resultingly high suicide rates among students there. Even the caste system is scorned by Rancho and his open and vibrant philosophy of doing what you love.

I found the film amusing but not hilarious its just such a great journey and you have time over the 170 minutes (It won't feel that long) to feel like you're one of them and the ending itself is about as neat and happy as anyone could want. I watched it recently on Channel 4 (It prompted me to own a copy) and the subtitles on the dvd version are not quite as good in some bits but it probably won't detract from the movie at all.

The acting is great from everyone except maybe Chatur whose toadying and boasting may have been a little overdone. Aamir Khan and Kareena Kapoor are the male and female leads and are perfect for their roles. If this gives you a taste for Indian movies a nice follow up might be 'Asoka', 'My Name is Khan' or 'Like Stars on Earth' / 'Ghajini' if you want to see more of Aamir Khan, though I can't comment on the latter two as I haven't yet seen them.

Coming back to look at this review a few weeks after I posted it I wonder if I praised it highly enough. I mean for better or worse, people give 5 stars to films they liked quite a lot, I've done the same - so what do you give those movies that are truly magical and wonderful and stand head and shoulders above so many other 'good' films? Despite the length of this movie I've watched it at least 10 times by now, and could happily watch it without the subtitles since I know all the lines. Still, I plan to watch it many more times, and introduce all my friends to it.

Almost everyone will enjoy this modern classic and its a great family film. Watch this film as soon as you can.
11 comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2010
This is an entertaining film with very broad appeal, and a perfect start for anyone who has never seen an Indian film before.

It's full of comedy, but there are some serious themes too. For a British viewer it also provides some stereotype-busting glimpses of modern India.

This is the sort of film which everyone leaves with a silly grin on their face. "Citizen Kane" it's not, but it's very entertaining and passes the test of a long film - at the end it doesn't seem possible that you've been watching for nearly three hours.
0Comment|20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 October 2015
WONDER FULL FILM!

Amazingly beautiful , a real joy to watch. An exuberant film full of laughs but also highlighting a very real problem particularly in India where the aspirations parents have for their children to have professional careers and rise above their humble origins puts huge pressure on them and sadly often has tragic results. So there are lessons to be learned here . The message is that people should follow their heart and pursue a career that fulfils their own ability and dreams not someone else`s ideas of what they should do. A thought provoking film with pathos but so much joy .So glad I bought it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2013
Aamir Khan challenges traditional views of education. Very funny but also challenging. Education is not just about giving the right answer in examinations. A good film for everyone in education to watch. You do have to put up with reading subtitles, but it's worth it!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2012
I watched this in my Urdu class and found it hilarious but it had no subtitles (I'm English and cannot yet speak fluently so I couldn't understand all of it) so when I bought this DVD (with subtitles) I found it even more so. A real laugh out loud film with great characters but with a Bollywood theme, good for all the family as well.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 January 2011
I loved this film. It is beautifully produced, has an intricate plot full of twists and turns and keeps you in stitches from start to finish.
The laughs are intelligent, not slapstick, yet my 10 year old daughter was laughing loudly and equally and has now watched the film 3 times in succession having never before seen an indian film.
Buy, beg, borrow or steal this film - you wont regret it.
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2012
Three Idiots [DVD]
This is a Hindi movie starring Aamir Khan, Kareena Kapoor and Boman Irani. Boman has become one of my favourite Hindi actors; he is equally good in a comedy such as this movie playing the bumbling College Head/father to 2 young women or as the crafty crook that he plays in Don.

Three Idiots is a story of 2 young men who were at college together and their search for their long lost buddy who influenced and inspired them during their college years. Aamir Khan is brilliant as their long lost young friend Rancho, who along with the other two young men were referred to as Idiots, but really, who are the idiots?

There are some crazy scenes, some very sad and provocative parts and some catchy songs. You probably won't be able to get "All izz Well" out of your mind, or perhaps it will be Zoobie Doobie Doo that will torment you!

This is a great movie, with a great soundtrack and it has some lovely scenery up in Ladakh and the cast is brilliant.

The twist at the end is just the best.

I bought the 2 disc version which has Special Features included on the 2nd disc. This is very informative as I enjoy watching how films are made. It always makes me appreciate the effort the crew put into getting the "shot" just right.

A must watch movie!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 2011
This comedy is the best I've seen in ages! The central precept is that if you follow your life's passion you will never really 'work' a day in your life. This is illustrated by the free spirited Rancho- brillinatly played by Amir K. who's character could have come across as a cocky rebel but is portrayed as a imaginative, sensitive and caring; an advanced soul (even at the end of the film when he is being chastised by the director of the college who tells him he can't be right all the time, Rancho humbly agrees; when in point of fact he has never failed in his studies and his relationships). Every teacher should watch this film- Rancho succeeded because he loved learning whereas his friends always flunked because of fear of failure or by living to fulfil parental ambitions. Everyone should know a Rancho in real life! The songs and dance routines are superb. The film makes a very strong social comment on the price of pursuing success. It could be criticised since it deals with the pretty heavy issue of suicide at several points in the film. Also, 'Silencer's speech scene loses its comedic timing and impact in translation. Still, if you want to be inspired, moved and cheered up watch this film!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)