Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars AND MOTHER MAKES ME LAUGH
'And Mother Makes Three' is one of those cosy middle-class comedies which were so prevalent in the 1970s. Wendy Craig was equally adept at serious roles, but I think she is most fondly remembered for her dotty-mother character in this series, the follow-up 'And Mother Makes Five', 'Butterflies' and the earlier series 'Not In Front Of The Children'.
Sally Harrison is...
Published on 26 Mar. 2012 by C. Kingswell

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Funny as a kid in the 70s,not quite so funny now. Like it for sentimental reasons.
What you remember as being funny as a kid in the 1970s, isn't quite as funny as an adult in modern times.
I like it more for sentimental reasons, some of the episodes are sort of funny, and make you smile, even quite broadly, even if you don't actually laugh.
Published 5 months ago by coolsimon


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars AND MOTHER MAKES ME LAUGH, 26 Mar. 2012
By 
C. Kingswell - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: And Mother Makes Three - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
'And Mother Makes Three' is one of those cosy middle-class comedies which were so prevalent in the 1970s. Wendy Craig was equally adept at serious roles, but I think she is most fondly remembered for her dotty-mother character in this series, the follow-up 'And Mother Makes Five', 'Butterflies' and the earlier series 'Not In Front Of The Children'.
Sally Harrison is a 30-something widow with two children who shares her house with her auntie Flo and works as a secretary for a veterinary surgeon. She invariably gets herself in a muddle with chaotic results and it is all great fun. As the series progresses, she meets and falls in love with widower David Redway ( played by Richard Coleman ) who just happens to live next door. It seems a pity in a way, because there is then less interaction between Sally and her boys, but there are still plenty of laughs to be had.
Robin Davies, who plays her older son Simon, is probably familiar to most of us as Carrot in the classic children's TV series 'Catweazle', but he has appeared in many television series since. David Parfitt, who plays her younger son Peter, gave up acting after 'And Mother Makes Five' and went on to become a very successful film producer with such titles as 'The Madness Of King George' ( 1994 ) and 'Shakespeare In Love' ( 1998 ).
All 26 episodes of 'And Mother Makes Three' are included here and the quality couldn't be better. Very pleasant viewing and great nostalgia.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely loved this!, 11 July 2012
By 
S. A. Bollongino "Bookaholic" (Berlin, Germany) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: And Mother Makes Three - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this comedy on a whim as I enjoyed seeing Wendy Craig in "Nanny".

This box set is wonderful, very very funny and a real joy to watch. The whole family love this, especially my boys. Wendy Craig is extremely talented and a superb comedy actress. We have also invested in the follow-up series "And Mother makes Five" which is a real joy to watch. This box set though will remain our absolute favourite.

If you enjoy some quality comedy with a touch of slapstick fun and the "very British" style of the 1970's then this box set is a must buy. It's ideal for rainy afternoons during school holidays or for those "Mum, I'm bored" moments and an essential for a family TV night.

The best spontaneous purchase I've made this year!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I watched it when originally broadcast.., 21 Feb. 2013
By 
C. FULLER (Brixham, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: And Mother Makes Three - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
Yes,I did watch the whole series week by week and I remember thinking how lovely a family it was even when their dad had died. I thought then that Wendy Craig was so well cast that it might have been real and Auntie was so good to the mum and the boys. I think many sitcoms of the time were "nice" and that is what is missing today. I too had remembered Robin Davies from Catweazle and it was good to see him in another role and growing up as the series moved forward.
I also thought the vet was a good character and at one point I thought Sally was going to marry him and then I thought Auntie might be the one. Now all these decades later watching the episodes it brings back something that is very "British" and nothing wrong with that and I suppose a bit middle class. I knew people exactly like the characters when I was at the local grammar and they did make you laugh out loud. If anyone under 20 now watches these episodes they will notice the lack of gadgets to amuse the kids and no doubt wonder how we managed. Life was still hard work and you had to do your exams but as in the series they had time to be a family and not dysfunctional.
I can recommend the series because you cannot but smile at the grown ups and wonder at the simple but happy life the boys portray. Also you will see many familiar faces in the different episodes and it is fun as a grown up now to say " didn't he or she used to be in...?"
Good picture quality, good sound and good price. Look out also for And Mother Makes Five/the box set with both series if you want to get both and save some money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars And Mother Makes 3, 10 Feb. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: And Mother Makes Three - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
One of the lads in this programme used to be Carrot in Catweasel (another funny programme - get it). Very 70s style show but funny it was pleasant watching something that i used to watch. It was like watching for the first time as I think i remember missing some of the episodes. Good to have in if you have the same proble as me with tv when nothing appeals to you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars And Mother Makes Three - The Complete Series [DVD], 16 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: And Mother Makes Three - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
Wendy Craig as Sally Harrison, a widow to her sons, Peter and Simon. Wendy Craig plays a comedic role. Great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Funny as a kid in the 70s,not quite so funny now. Like it for sentimental reasons., 12 Nov. 2014
By 
coolsimon (Meols, Wirral.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: And Mother Makes Three - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
What you remember as being funny as a kid in the 1970s, isn't quite as funny as an adult in modern times.
I like it more for sentimental reasons, some of the episodes are sort of funny, and make you smile, even quite broadly, even if you don't actually laugh.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Nice piece of nostalgia!, 6 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: And Mother Makes Three - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
Bought as a present, the recipient says they have enjoyed seeing these programmes again and that the quality of the disc - video and audio - is very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun to watch!, 21 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: And Mother Makes Three - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
The show is funny and the family like one another. You never know what the Mother is going to get into and if she is going to get the family in it with her. The Aunt and the two boys are happy the mother works hard to make sure of that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars TV DVD, 15 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: And Mother Makes Three - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
Bought as a gift, the recipient is delighted
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good retro, 27 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: And Mother Makes Three - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
Good quality and enjoyable retro nostalgia
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

And Mother Makes Three - The Complete Series [DVD]
£18.85
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews