Customer Reviews


627 Reviews
5 star:
 (546)
4 star:
 (67)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


178 of 183 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An unexpected treat
I took a risk on this album after I heard a snippet of "That Man" on the radio and loved the sound. I didn't regret it at all. It's a hugely enjoyable album with a 30s and 40s swing sound (and hints of the Andrews Sisters) combined with 2010 production. Caro Emerald is a really good singer and she gives very good material a real sparkle. There is an excellent brass...
Published on 24 Oct 2010 by Sid Nuncius

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars review of album
just thought her second album was better. i am still a big fan though and cant wait to see her in concert
Published 7 months ago by xxxxxxxx


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Love Caro Emerald!, 2 Feb 2011
This review is from: Deleted Scenes From The Cutting Room Floor (Audio CD)
I'm listening to my cd right now (& especially like 'A Night Like This!') - how refreshing to listen to something melodic AND funky. I defy anyone to not tap their feet or get up & move around to this album. Fantastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars irresistable, 1 Feb 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deleted Scenes From The Cutting Room Floor (Audio CD)
I heard this record back in Holland and was instantly hooked!
this is a fun and joyfull, jazzy(groovy) record, with a modern twist!!
Not only her voice is great She is , she just got 'it'!! whatever this 'it' is or may be.The songs are like little scenes from 30'3 40's 50's films, the kind that are set in smooky bars..catch my drift??
fancy a treat??
get this!!
this is a hidden GEM...any jazz lover will love this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Caro Emerald - a gem!, 6 Jan 2011
This review is from: Deleted Scenes From The Cutting Room Floor (Audio CD)
Caro Emerald's album, Deleted Scenes from the Cutting Room Floor is a gem! Play it from start to finish and it'll please you all the way through. Stand out tracks are Back It Up (now available in various remixes) and On a Night Like This. Classy and classic. Well worth a listen!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Caro Emerald, 31 Dec 2010
Fabulous voice with big band feel. Just saw this performer in Amsterdam and she lives up to her studio reputation live. A truly remarkable artist with great song writers supporting her.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars very Good, 24 Nov 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deleted Scenes From The Cutting Room Floor (Audio CD)
I have enjoyed this album since first buying it. Heard her perfom on the radio adn bought the album almost immediately. Have not been disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 31 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great album but very overhyped, 29 Jun 2011
This review is from: Deleted Scenes From The Cutting Room Floor (Audio CD)
Firstly I'd like to say I really enjoyed this album the first time I heard it. I work in a bar where a bit of 40's music and jazz on a Monday and Tuesday is very much appreciated so when I saw the TV ads for this I thought I'd give it a go. So what to make of Caro Emerald's debut (UK) album...

On the whole the album is very good. A lot of new Jazz artists release a great song and then their albums are sometimes dreary (Melody Gardot and Madeleine Peyroux spring to mind), however "Deleted Scenes..." is largely a very lively, upbeat album. It takes a lot of influences from swing and big band but with a more bluesy sound and an almost RnB modern edge. So yes, as far as the songs go it's a good album and especially playing it at the aforementioned place of work a lot of our customers agreed.

Some of my highlights include "Just One Dance," "That Man" which are catchy and have that 50's quality and "I Know He's Mine" which for my money is the best track on the album as it's stripped down and has a more sultry, blues tone.

However...

After hearing this not only at my place of work over and over again, I've started hearing it everywhere else. Out shopping, on the radio, at other pubs. It seems I cant get away from it now and I'm just a bit sick of it. And the more I listen to it the more I can find fault.

I think the main problem is that Ms. Emerald is nothing special. Her voice is totally perfunctory and sometimes falls flat. She seems to be riding a wave of 50's/burlesque revival but the problem with this is that there are other artists doing similar stuff and doing it far superior. Her closest rival in terms of style is Imelda May but Caro can't belt out the lyrics as well, nor are the songs as well written. She is quirky and "poppy" but outshined by Paloma Faith. Her vocals are jazzy but nowhere even close to Melody Gardot. Even when she goes into blues and RnB territory she doesn't do it as well as Amy Winehouse. It's sort of a Jazz album for people who aren't really that into Jazz. A "My First Blues Album."

So if you want some decent songs and a pleasant voice that are alright for background music then this is the album for you. Just don't expect it to stand up to repeated listening. If you like your Jazz, Swing, Blues or even just pop music then go elsewhere. I'd recommend the above artists; Imelda May and Melody Gardot especially, over Caro Emerald before wasting your money on this lounge music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Deleted Scenes by caro Emerald., 22 Dec 2011
A fantastic singing star. To listen to her perform is very refreshing. There are all kinds and variations of music and the true enthusiast is able to adapt to various performers. Live & let Live! If you don't like it turn it off!! Happy Christmas everyone! Bob.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars cara emerald, 22 Feb 2012
Wonderful album. Can't stop listening to it.Arrived in a couple of days.Good value. She has a great voice.Have recommened album to many of my friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Caro Emerald, 29 Aug 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deleted Scenes From The Cutting Room Floor (Audio CD)
Heard this cd and could not wait to buy
She has an amazing voice and am really pleased I bought it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Second time Great!, 29 Jan 2011
This review is from: Deleted Scenes From The Cutting Room Floor (Audio CD)
The first copy received for giving a Xmas pressie was exactly what was wanted but of poor quality recording. The second copy sent (very speedily) is brill and a great extra in our CD library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Deleted Scenes From The Cutting Room Floor
Deleted Scenes From The Cutting Room Floor by Caro Emerald (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews