Customer Reviews


645 Reviews
5 star:
 (564)
4 star:
 (67)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


178 of 183 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An unexpected treat
I took a risk on this album after I heard a snippet of "That Man" on the radio and loved the sound. I didn't regret it at all. It's a hugely enjoyable album with a 30s and 40s swing sound (and hints of the Andrews Sisters) combined with 2010 production. Caro Emerald is a really good singer and she gives very good material a real sparkle. There is an excellent brass...
Published on 24 Oct 2010 by Sid Nuncius

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars review of album
just thought her second album was better. i am still a big fan though and cant wait to see her in concert
Published 9 months ago by xxxxxxxx


‹ Previous | 1 265 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

178 of 183 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An unexpected treat, 24 Oct 2010
By 
Sid Nuncius (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Deleted Scenes From The Cutting Room Floor (Audio CD)
I took a risk on this album after I heard a snippet of "That Man" on the radio and loved the sound. I didn't regret it at all. It's a hugely enjoyable album with a 30s and 40s swing sound (and hints of the Andrews Sisters) combined with 2010 production. Caro Emerald is a really good singer and she gives very good material a real sparkle. There is an excellent brass section, a fine keyboard player and terrific rhythm sound from percussion, guitar and double bass, with the addition of a bit of synth and scratching. I'm not a fan of scratching at all, but it isn't obtrusive and works really well here. The overall effect is irresistible from smoky ballads to swing numbers you just can't sit still to.

This was a real departure for me, but I'm delighted that I've discovered it. If in doubt, my advice is to buy it - it's a classy, joyous treat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A few details that Amazon left out, 28 Jan 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is just a little addition to Amazon's lack of detail for this item:

2 x 180g vinyl LP's
1 x CD of the album is included as well

The tracks are as follows:

Side A

1. That Man
2. Just One Dance
3. Riviera Life

Side B

1. Back It Up
2. The Other Woman
3. Absolutely Me

Side C

1. You Don't Love Me
2. Dr. Wanna Do
3. Stuck

Side D

I Know That He's Mine
2. A Night Like This
3. The Lipstick On his Collar

To sum it up, this is a beautifully packaged vinyl album and very good quality too. not only do you get the 2 x 180g vinyls but you do also get the CD as well too, so no need to buy an additional copy of the CD if you don't want to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 14 Dec 2011
By 
A. Conder "Geo Dude" (Lancashire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Caro has found her own niche. Her sound is unique, her image is quirky and you do get that big band feeling. Well supported by her band, this album has many catchy tunes that you will be singing again and again.
If you get the chance to see her live, go for it. You will be entertained!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Caro Emerald, 22 Dec 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Caro emerald suprised us.. a jazzy feel, nostagic of 1920's -1950's in music type but very contempoary at the same time.( we were born after 1950 but still liked it greatly) The great voice of Caro herself is fun and lighthearted. And every track is a song that you can dance to, be it Rumba, Cha cha, Quickstep etc! We loved it and have sent it as Christmas too.We expect 'Strictly come dancing' to use her tracks once they are well known - she has already sung for the programme.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


87 of 93 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An absolute joy of a listen, 7 Mar 2011
By 
A. Owen "anthonymowen" (Orpington, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deleted Scenes From The Cutting Room Floor (Audio CD)
Having worked for a Dutch company for many years I have a great love of the country and its people. However, I've never thought of it as a source of great music, an opinion reinforced by Mouth & Macneal, the Vengaboys and others! This album deserves all its plaudits from other reviewers and it has been a delight to discover it and also a very lively Dutch music scene. My ear was first caught by 'A Night Like This' a really catchy jazz/pop tune. My research took me to You Tube where there are excellent videos of this and a number of other tracks from the album. I suggest you see and hear them for yourself. The big surprise was that 'Caro Emerald' is in fact Caroline Esmeralda van der Leeuw from Holland. Nothing wrong with that of course! Part of me hopes she gets a wider European and world success while part of me delights in surprising other people with her great music. If you've stumbled on this review you can buy the album and share a 'secret' musical gem - in the UK at least. She's extremely famous in the Netherlands!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


58 of 62 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great listening, 22 April 2010
By 
Fiona (Netherlands) - See all my reviews
Listening to this music makes you all sheerfull.
Lovely music with instruments you can recognize.
Music can be fun.
Let summer come!
A mix of jazz with some funky effects. Beautiful voice.
I really recommend "Back it up" and "A night like this".
A Dutch product to be proud of.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great + refreshing, 20 Dec 2011
This review is from: Deleted Scenes From The Cutting Room Floor (Audio CD)
In a world where X-factor rubbish seems to dominate, thank God for something fresh and original. Mixing genres well, this is a cracking album. Get it for the car, for the living room, for fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Deleted scenes from the cutting room floor, 6 Dec 2010
This review is from: Deleted Scenes From The Cutting Room Floor (Audio CD)
This is a really enjoyable CD to listen to - I'm so glad I decided to risk a tenner on it. Money very well spent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BUY IT!, 15 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
basically one of the best female singers EVER. this album is easily the best music I have heard in the last 10 years, probably even longer. you won't regret buying this!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TOTALLY AWESOME, 24 Aug 2011
By 
WAS BLOWN AWAY BY HER VOICE SHE IS AWESOME CAN'T WAIT FOR HER FOLLOW UP ALBUM, AM TOTALLY HOOKED CAN'T STOP PLAYING IT!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 265 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Deleted Scenes From The Cutting Room Floor
Deleted Scenes From The Cutting Room Floor by Caro Emerald (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews