Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop Black Friday Deals Week in Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Amazon Fire TV Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Paperwhite Listen in Prime Shop Now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars45
3.9 out of 5 stars
Format: DVDChange
Price:£10.21+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
on 11 November 2010
Sat and watched this film the other night and was impressed. It has a good story which brings the various characters to life, and although being subtitled, draws you in. On the front it says 'Romero would be proud', and to be honest I think he would.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on 11 December 2010
A great zombie film in the same vein as 28 days later. Some fantastic (if quirky)characters, tightly plotted and beautifully tense.
Its a story driven film with some simple but effect dynamics.
By far the best zombie film I've seen since 28 days later (and I've seen a lot!)
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 21 August 2012
Barricade yourself in and prepare for the apocalypse - Well thats what the cover the way the cover is as much relevance to this film as a picture of David Beckham in his speedos!
I was actually quite surprised considering it was in German with English subtitles, very low budget and zombies who looked more like rabies victims than zombies.(think Quarantine!)
I could easily see a bunch of students making this film for a laugh and making quite a good job of it!
If you want to experience something different but not taking itself too seriously then give it a go.........!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2011
Cracking take on zombies. Set in suburban Berlin within the confines of a gated block of flats, Seige is a low-key but tense and claustrophobic contribution to the zombie movie epidemic.
I suspect that, much like Channel 4's frenetic Big Brother zombie yarn Dead Set, Siege of the Dead was made for TV. It only runs for one hour and is a fine example of low budget, pared to the bone storytelling. Character backgrounds are sketched out by use of short phone calls, photos left on mobile phones and holed-up inhabitants shouting across a zombie-infected courtyard.
Again, probably due to the limits of its running time and budget, Siege generally doesn't paint a broader picture of terrible chaos. Much like Tom Cruise in War of the Worlds, we only see what is happening through the eyes of the faintly pathetic protagonist, Michael. Only once do we share his true realisation that the world has gone to hell in a handcart when he looks out across the smoking skyline of Berlin. It's the only money shot in the movie but it's used effectively. Interestingly, the same reveal is used in the equally entertaining but overwrought and demented action of The Horde (well worth checking out if you like yer guns and gore).
Anyway, back to Seige - The gentle, chiming theme that punctuates the movie is both charming and eerie. The editing is excellent and the performances are uniformly good. Intelligent zombie fans (Yeah! You!) will enjoy this.
One minor word of warning. Don't be fooled by the completely inappropriate artwork used on the cover. Maybe the misleading Romero-fuelled title of the film was all that was given to the art dept: Blazing skies, burning cop cars, helicopters firing missiles into a sea of skyscraper-wandering zombies. The box blurb is equally inaccurate: " With astonishing special effects...A thrilling gorefest..." I'm not sure which movie these artists and copywriters were watching (maybe The Horde!) but it wasn't this one.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2012
It's refreshing to see films such as La Horde, The Dead and this, Rammbock (Siege Of The Dead) re-animating a sagging genre. I have been aware of this film for a while but it's taken me til now to watch it. Straight from the start it's apparent that this is a very well photographed and effective looking piece; a washed out grey and bleak world is presented to the audience, no vibrantly saturated environments here. This perfectly conveys the horror and isolation that the few protagonists face and feel. This isn't so much a film that concentrates singularly on the mass un-dead invasion but more a film about surviving and escaping from it. Yes, the undead are in it, but what really draws you in (and makes you start to care about a couple of the characters) is how the besieged survivors are ever going to get out alive.
The film industry is full of bloated over-long releases, many of which could be cut by nearly half to produce a much better film. This is where Rammbock shines (and does a brave thing). The film runs at about one hour, a measly 60 minutes. Is this a bad thing? No! This film has no fluff, no padding to allow it to run to a 'commercially acceptable' time. It's a perfect length and makes you realise how unnecessarily over-long many other films are.
Great script, great cast and for once a great ending.
An excellent German film that deserves a wide audience.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 7 January 2014
It's widely regarded that most people loved 28 Days Later. Then it spawned an official sequel (28 Weeks Later) and then other countries got in on the `new-look running zombie' action.

The remake of Dawn of the Dead was 28 Days Later in America. La Horde was 28 Days Later in France and now we have Siege of the Dead, which is basically 28 Days Later in Germany.

Now, if we English can just get past the, `Oh, so Germany's overrun by zombies, huh? Well, never mind,' attitude, the film's actually pretty good.

Lovefilm's blurb on Siege of the Dead says it's laced with `humour.' I like to think I have a sense of humour, but I couldn't see any in this. I found it a straight horror - through and through.

It's claustrophobic, tense, good (normal) characters we can relate to, nobody does anything totally crazy and, although it has a small budget, it was put to good use. There's not that much gore, but that's also probably down to the budget.

If you like the 28 Days Later style of zombie movie (and don't mind subtitles and films that are under an hour in length) give this one a go and, if nothing else, you may learn of an interesting new weapon to fight zombies/the infected - click click click.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 24 April 2011
Let me be honest up front.. This isn't the best zombiemovie out there, but it does have some things going for it. The story is rather simple but decent. A guy wants to surprise his girlfriend by dropping by unannounced but ends up trapped inside her appartment (he had the keys) with a painter. From there on the film begins to tell the tale of survival. A decent movie with very believable zombies and situations. I recommend giving this one a try :)
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 18 July 2011
This movie is essential viewing for all fans of a low budget Zom fest. It has a couple of Euro-twists to set it apart from the shoot-em-up undead-visions across the pond. German with English subtitles, and knocks Romero's extravagant, 2005 "Land Of The Dead" in to the crowd.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 26 June 2011
Great take on the Zombie genre! A quirky little low budget gem! Has some excellent, funny and scary scenes! The film ends on a wonderful upbeat note, a glimmer of hope threaded into the narrative. The lurid cover on the DVD does this film no favours!!!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2012
Fairly short film but very enjoyable. Instead of the usual sprawl of a zombie film with streets filled with the hordes of the living dead, this one concentrates, albeit briefly, with the lives of an apartment block (whose story is probably repeated throughout Berlin). Found it a very enjoyable and entertaining zombie film and probably one we could all relate to - how would we defend our small space as increasing zombies whittle away our existence to the space of a few rooms and less.

As usual, bad choices etc result in the usual reduced numbers - still, I felt for the characters even if we really only have a brief snapshot of their existence through windows in other apartments.

A very good addition to the zombie genre.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
The Dead [DVD]
The Dead [DVD] by Rob Freeman (DVD - 2011)

The Horde [DVD] (2009)
The Horde [DVD] (2009) by Claude Perron (DVD - 2010)

The Dead 2 [DVD]
The Dead 2 [DVD] by Josephy Millson (DVD - 2015)

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.