Customer Reviews


111 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (25)
3 star:
 (20)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (32)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


87 of 99 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cut or Uncut?
Even in it's censored form, A Serbian Film packs a powerful punch.

Without trying to sound like an apologist for censorship, the cut version still works and internet rants against companies putting out censored work should be directed at the censor, not the companies putting out the movies, who have to recoup costs regardless of the BBFCs outcome.

To...
Published on 13 Dec 2010 by SamJones99

versus
48 of 56 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Cut what made this movie real
The four and a half minutes cut from this movie were important parts that made it as extreme as it was. Just download the screener and don't waste your time on the dvd.
Published on 6 Feb 2011 by adam brooks


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

87 of 99 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cut or Uncut?, 13 Dec 2010
This review is from: A Serbian Film [2010] [DVD] (DVD)
Even in it's censored form, A Serbian Film packs a powerful punch.

Without trying to sound like an apologist for censorship, the cut version still works and internet rants against companies putting out censored work should be directed at the censor, not the companies putting out the movies, who have to recoup costs regardless of the BBFCs outcome.

To all the people bleating about how disgusting it is and how it should be banned I say this. You don't have to watch it. This isn't the kind of film, thanks to a combined campaign of open and honest marketing and furiously jerking knees, that anyone will come to without prior warning.

Therefore, if you choose to watch something and then get offended, it's your fault, not the fault of talented filmmakers creating transgressive imagery. Personally, I watched it and got very upset. Upset because the film asked me questions rather than simply throwing the claret around and jiggling breasts in my face.

If only more films were less thought provoking and had more pointless slaughter and more jiggling breasts,we could all sleep at night knowing that no one would be offended or uncomfortable. Fact is, art and creativity shouldn't be subject to censure only classification. I classify this movie as uncompromising, thought provoking, intellegent and extremely troubling.

If you don't like images of sex, violence and sexual violence, just don't watch it. Don't. If you're more tolerant of extreme cinema and taboo images, then A Serbian Film, despite protests from reviewers about it being pure exploitation (an act of cowardice as they try to avoid being seen to praise that which has been universally vilified), is a smart, clever, questioning work that will at least give you plenty of pub debate ammunition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


48 of 56 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Cut what made this movie real, 6 Feb 2011
This review is from: A Serbian Film [2010] [DVD] (DVD)
The four and a half minutes cut from this movie were important parts that made it as extreme as it was. Just download the screener and don't waste your time on the dvd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ??, 13 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Serbian Film [2010] [DVD] (DVD)
A Serbian film does indeed push the boundries of cinema, some scenes to many may be un watchable. as i have only watched the cut version (as the uncut is hard to get hold of and lacks english subs) i cant comment on what others have viewed. however to me this is a must see, a beautifully directed work of art, the acting is actually temendous. the child rape to me possibly went abit far and maybe wasnt nessercary, but i doubt it would have had as much impact if the director cut that scene. if your into sick twisted european (hollywood cant make horrors for poo) films then buy this film! just dont let your children get a hold of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not for all.., 30 Sep 2011
By 
This review is from: A Serbian Film [2010] [DVD] (DVD)
I must admit I am a fan of horror films and was looking forward to seeing this and must admit I didnt realise that the films had 4 minutes missing due to the censors!
Despite this this I found the film to be well acted and engrossing, the desent in despair of the main character was well portrayed. yes the film is shocking for most but it was also very enjoyable. Just wonder what was in those missing 4 minutes!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Masterpiece of extreme cinema, 15 Jun 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Serbian Film [2010] [DVD] (DVD)
My review is for the uncut version of the film,as the BBFC have chopped this one to bits.I recently bought this version off Amazon for the bonus features and to see what has been cut.It's not good.I was under the impression there would be just some slight trimming here and there(I had been on a website that compared both versions),but this is not the case.Some scenes have been shortened so much that their impact is greatly reduced,to the point in which they may aswell have been removed entirely(specifically the notorious baby scene and the one in which Milos is watching the filmed death of Laylah on the camcorder.In this version,the former scene is trimmed so much so that without Vukmir shouting "Newborn Porn" you wouldn't have assumed the baby was molested,as not enough is shown to even imply this).This makes me really angry,as legions of casual film fans who see this on a shelf in HMV and think it looks interesting,will judge this film on the version they see(and don't forget there is still a warning on the back of the sleeve,thus the content will be unfairly judged as it is not in it's complete format).....the good thing though is that in the spoken introduction the director informs us that this version is actually cut,so people know there is more to this film if they want to seek out the full version.
Before I talk about the film,I would just like to say a few things about the BBFC.Ahem......MOVIE CENSORSHIP IS NOW COMPLETELY REDUNDANT....HELLO PEOPLE....EVER HEARD OF THE INTERNET???!!!!!By heavily censoring a film,you are just going to make people like me more determined to track it down uncut....and it really isn't difficult nowadays!The whole process is so arbitrary,it makes me laugh.For example,when "Ichi The Killer" was first released on these shores,I think something like three or four minutes was cut.It was mostly all the violence towards women-which is fair enough.There was a warning on the sleeve for the films' content and it created a lot of controversy.I can understand all of this.What I CAN'T understand is why,then,would they not object to a film like "Irreversible"(which contains the most savage and prolongued rape/murder I have ever seen on film)?The only warning sign on it's box is for the strobe lighting!Hilarious!!!!Good work BBFC!!!!
Anyway,onto "A Serbian Film".I really didn't have high expectations for this movie because so many of the reviews on the net made it sound like a crummy exploitation film.A film in which the story existed only to drive the carnage.I am really glad I watched it for myself,I found the film to be utterly gripping from start to finish.I don't know how anyone could argue that it isn't a highly immersive movie,there aren't many films I have EVER seen where I have felt such a feeling of imprisonment,where you feel you are trapped in this situation with the main character.Indeed,even after the film had finished,this feeling took a while to shake off.I really felt for Milos aswell,which was another pleasant surprise(some reviewers made it sound like there were no "human" characters in the film),he is a very likeable guy.Down on his luck and just trying to do what's best for his family,he has no idea what he is getting into!
As a massive fan of extreme cinema and someone who actively seeks out repulsive subject matter I am probably not the best person to judge the stronger scenes!But I will say that this film is definitely rough going in places(particularly the horrible ending)and obviously not for those of a weak disposition.A lot of scenes however,sound a lot worse than they actually are.For example,my friend was reading about the film(knowing I had seen it)and when he read about the baby scene,he gave me a very funny look!Of course,when I said it sounds a lot worse than it is,he stared at me even longer!!!!!But it's really true.A previous reviewer likened the scene to something you would see in a Troma film and I couldn't agree more,it is not as bad as it could have been(I am not complaining here,it's bad enough!).Personally,I found the end of the French film "Inside" much,much harder to endure.
Anyway,to conclude,"A Serbian Film" is definitely shocking,disturbing and even downright vile in places,but it is also an original,well-written,impeccably acted and highly engaging story.If you are not turned-off by challenging subject matter,I highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars WARNING!!!!!!!!!!!, 21 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is for the US unrated version of "Serbian film". Just a quick word of warning to anyone thinking of buying this version of the movie, is that it may be an unrated version of the movie but it is still not the complete film, the us version was re-cut before it was released.The version that was released in the uk was cut by over 4mins but it still shows more of the deeply disturbing baby rape scene, also the final shocking unmasking of Milos's family has also been shortened in the US print. What you do get more of in the US print is the full on screen murder of Layla which was all but cut from the uk version, also some more brief full frontal nudity and more images of children during the sex/sexual violence scenes. So as it stands both versions contain footage that was cut from each separate release but neither is complete.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shocking, 5 Jan 2011
This review is from: A Serbian Film [2010] [DVD] (DVD)
This is probably the most shocking film I have ever seen. Appart from that I thought the acting was excellent and the film draws you in. Definitely keeps you watching and gives you face ache due to the constant shocked look on your face!
I would highly recommend this film to people who aren't easily shocked because if you are easily shocked then get the smelling salts out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Unpleasant yes. Disturbing, not really., 10 Dec 2010
By 
Munkyfista (Liverpool, England) - See all my reviews
I think I have to start by clarifying that I'm a pretty big fan of extreme cinema so I was always going to seek this film out. However, I must admit such is the hype around this movie I did start to worry that maybe it would be a little heavy even for my tastes. Luckily my perversity over-rode my reservarions and I dove in feet first and watched the uncut version. I have also since had a thorough look on the BBFC website to see exactly what has been removed from the version available here. Firstly, as long as you hardened to strong, gory "horror" there isn't really much in this film you will lose any sleep over. Yes, it is violent and features some over the top scenes of sexual depravity that are in many ways unmatched by most films. However, tonally the film is much closer to the "Saw" movies or possibly "Inside" in it's hysterical nature than anything I have found genuinely disturbing such as "Salo" or "Irreversible". It is also not quite as good a film as any of the above(well, it is better than the Saw franchise), though that's not to say it is bad. I found the acting fantastic and this has obviously had some proper money spent on it with good, solid special effects. There is also a surprising amount of fun to be had from it's relentlessly hysterical nature and eagerness to offend and shock. Really, I can't help but feel that the BBFC and alot of others have massively over-reacted to this film. Even the most famously "challenging" scene involving the newborn baby is just too obvious a shock tactic to take seriously and almost reminded me something you would see in a Troma movie. In fairness though, as far as I can tell alot of what has been removed will not really impact on the overall experience of the movie one way or the other. If you like you're films nasty give this a go, but don't expect the gruelling slog this has been touted as.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Region 1 is cut, 4 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Although this region 1 version is well over 3 minutes longer than the UK release, it remains cut; the newborn sequence is completely massacred, with barely a single shot of the baby seen on screen; these cuts ruin the flow of the scene and can be spotted a mile off. The second edit is of the revealing of a child's face during a rape scene (without wanting to spoil the plot), which takes away crucial meaning and emphasis from the scene. Both hugely disappointing cuts, made not by the MPAA but by a distributor concerned about potential legal action. The only uncut release is the swedish region 2 version - banned on ebay and never been on amazon, but worth snagging if you can (although beware it does not contain english subs).

If the swedish release remains too hard to find, the U.S. version does make for the most complete version with the added benefit of english subtitles - although saying that, the cuts to this release are so poor that, for continuity, you could in all honesty do far worse than the british version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "An Emotional Family Drama", 26 Jun 2011
By 
Tommy Dooley "Tom" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: A Serbian Film [2010] [DVD] (DVD)
That is how the director Srdjan Spasojevic, describes this film. I really do beg to differ. It is an horrific, cruel polemic on the state of modern life and more accurately Serbia.

He uses pornography and non consensual sex - ie rape, as a vehicle for how low society has become. This is after the horrors visited on his country by two decades of conflict. As others have said this should not have been cut, as censorship is wrong in my opinion, we are able to make our own decisions without the `Nanny State' stepping in to say what is good for us. That said I do not feel that more scenes of apparently gratuitous violence, sexual or otherwise would have helped to ram the message home any more than it needed to be.

The plot is that of a semi retired porn star who gets offered `a life changing' sum to make an unscripted porno for an eccentric `artist'. The catch is that he must do as directed at the drop of a hat, and be able to perform, no matter what the circumstances. Those circumstances become increasingly challenging, but there are hints throughout, of what the `director' is looking for, like when he says "victims sell the most".

I think anyone would be hard pushed to say they `like' this film, but whether or not it has merit as a satire or otherwise will be a very personal choice. I admire film makers for pushing the boundaries, and this certainly does that. It was not a happy viewing experience, but then it was never meant to be, so from that reasoning it is a `good' film. It will just not be to everybody's liking, and if you are unsure there is a very good synopsis on Wikipedia, but it contains plot spoilers. Even having read that, I still was shocked and was left feeling quite down after this I remember thinking it was `belligerently dystopian', when in fact that is what it was saying about society. A film that shocks, makes you think and asks questions - all in all a very good effort, but watch with caution.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Serbian Film [2010] [DVD]
A Serbian Film [2010] [DVD] by Srdjan Spasojevic (DVD - 2011)
Used & New from: 7.94
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews