Customer Reviews


50 Reviews
5 star:
 (42)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolute classic, 1 May 2006
This review is from: Damn The Torpedoes (Audio CD)
So many great songs on this album, it is almost a 'best of' but much cooler than that because it has album tracks which work well amoung the hits, which is pretty much a dream combo for an album I think. I love putting on this and Fleetwood Mac's 'Tusk' and imagining late 70's California. 'Even the Losers', 'Don't Do Me Like That', 'Refugee' great singles but tracks like 'You Tell Me' have a wonderful laid back swagger. The Heartbreakers are one of those amazing backing bands, a bit like Elvis Costello's 'Attractions'. This and 'Hard Promises' are essential purchases, soundtrack to sunny days.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tom Petty hits his stride..., 29 May 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Damn The Torpedoes (Audio CD)
This is not to say that Damn The Torpedoes is better than the self-titled debut or You're Gonna Get It, but rather that it sounds more confident and more accomplished than either of its predecessors. While the first two albums were both excellent, with plenty of sneer and youthful swagger, they still felt (to my mind at least) like a band still finding their feet and exploring their vast potential.
Highlight on this album include Refugee, Don't Do Me Like That and my personal favourite Even The Losers, but the whole album is brilliant, and is probably the most consistent effort Petty has produced to date. It blends nicely the southern leer of Southern Accents, the mythological/nostalgic element of Into The Great Wide Open, the power and kick of Full Moon Fever and the personal touch of Hard Promises.
It's hard to advocate Tom Petty if you haven't heard him beyond saying that he's absolutely fantastic, and without doubt as far as I am concerned the most consistent rocker of the last 25-30 years, and Damn The Torpedoes sees him mature into the great artist he has long since proven himself to be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 32 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars PUT UP OR SHUT UP TIME, 18 Nov. 2010
By 
Paul M "ROYALSFAN" (Reading ,England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Damn The Torpedoes (Audio CD)
Q : When is a "Deluxe Edition", not a " Deluxe Edition"?

A : When its the Reissue of Damn the Torpedoes!

With both discs totalling a combined running time of 68 minutes, its clear that a single disc would have sufficed, and Universal are really stretching their definition on this release. That said, if you can pick up this release cheaply enough, then there is just about enough interesting stuff to justify owning this musical upgrade.

Damn the Torpedoes was in effect Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers put up or shut up album, following a stunning self titled debut, and lukewarmly received follow up in You're Gonna Get It [ actually a fine album, somewhat overshadowed by its predecessor]. It was time to deliver, and truly make the leap to arenas, and ultimately the focus of Damn the Torpedoes is that of huge choruses, raging guitars, and fine musicianship in a set that delivered on the Heartbreakers early promise. With the anthemic opener Refugee [pretty much the bands signiture song], and a set of fine polished southern rock, here was an album that proved American rock in the late Seventies was finally accepting the challenge of the trendy new wave and beginning to forge its own path through a turbulant musical climate.

On this "Deluxe Edition", disc one offers a remastered version of the original album, which in some ways adds a certain gloss, that was not evident on my earlier cd version. Now the guitars are higher in the mix, with Stan Lynch's drumming driving the music along very effectively [ especially on Century City ], and the radio friendly production job is fully realised, showing just how much attention was paid to the task in hand.

Disc two opens with 2 gems, Nowhere and Surrender, [ both of which in retrospect should have been held over for the disappointing Hard Promises album], and although sounding slightly unfinished, both have great riffs with effortless Petty choruses. It mystifies me why songs this good languish in record company vaults for years, when inferior music gets released, although the next two songs, Casa Dega, and It's Rainin' Again are pretty throwaway [ the former gets a reprise as a demo later in the disc!].
The live tracks seem out of place on the disc , and as there are only 3 of them, surely the best option [ for the punter at least ] would have been to put out a full live show on the second disc, whilst putting the studio material after the main album.This way a real " Deluxe Edition", could have been created. This second disc finishes with an alternate take of Refugee [ complete with studio banter!], which is slightly restrained compared to the album version, which is interesting but little more.

The set is housed in a flimsy card gatefold sleeve [ of the type that tears easily when you attempt to get at the booklet], and sleevenotes are effectively an essay by David Fricke that sheds some light on this period of Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers career.

Overall a good set, that just about does justice to a classic album, but it could have been so much more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blu ray audio is the way forward., 15 Jan. 2011
This review is from: Damn the Torpedoes (Blu-ray Audio)
Every Tom Petty fan with a blu-ray player should own this amazing release. The audio quality is phenomenal. The soundstage has remarkable clarity and depth, close your eyes and Tom Petty and The Heartbreakers are in the room with you. I have read elsewhere on internet that this release was only possible because of Tom Petty's insistance that his fans should be able to hear this classic album on a format that was as close to the original master tapes as possible. This personal commitment is also shared by Neil Young who released Archives Vol 1 on this format. It appears that record companies are not willing to issue releases on this hi-def format because the profit margins are too small (due to economies of scale). They got burnt by releasing music on DVD-Audio and SACD formats over the past few years and are unable to commit to this format. As a music consumer and audiophile I want to listen to digital music in the highest audio quality possible, and over the years I have built up a collection of mainly rock/pop music on both of these now obselete formats. I can only hope that lovers of quality music get behind this format and together with Tom Petty and Neil Young we can show the record companies that there is a market for this kind of product. Please support Blu-ray audio.
My hope for 2011 is that Island Records (owned by Universal Music) will invest in this format when they celebrate the 40th anniversary of Queen-My DVD-Audio version of "The Game" is spectacular and I would love to have hi-def versions of all their back catalogue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Petty's big break, 21 Aug. 2007
By 
D. J. H. Thorn "davethorn13" (Hull, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Damn The Torpedoes (Audio CD)
However much is made of Tom Petty's later work, such as 'Full Moon Fever' or his participation in The travalling Wilburys, 'Damn The Torpedoes' is the work that made him huge. The first album gave him a tentative foothold on fame, especially in the UK; this album broke him big in the US, at a time when he was in the financial mire. It's sleeker than the two previous albums, their raunchiness replaced by sheer driven energy.
'Refugee' hooks you straight away, Petty's urgent delivery backed by a sweeping band performance. Benmont Tench's organ-playing adds a great deal of drama right across the album, with Petty and Mike Campbell playing guitars off each other like never before or since. 'Here Comes My Girl' follows suit, with the addition of fluttering piano flourishes. The pace rarely drops. 'Even The Losers' and 'Shadow Of A Doubt' are more celebratory and not quite as compelling, but essential tracks nevertheless. 'Century City,' though, is fierce rock and roll.
Side two of the original album opens with the US hit, 'Don't Do Me Like That,' almost bland by comparison, but too likeable to ignore. The plodding 'You Tell Me' is a chiller and 'What Are You Doin' In My Life?' picks up the pace again. The six-minute 'Lousiana Rain' provides a heart-tugging, rousing finish.
'Damn The Torpedoes' features similar traits to some of Bruce Springsteen's music, but there's no mistaking Petty's stamp and The Heartbreakers are on great form. This 1979 album is a rock classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DAMN! THAT'S GOOD!!!, 8 Jan. 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Damn The Torpedoes (Audio CD)
I thought TP and The HBs were an impressive, fully formed, kick ass entity right from their first album.
Not sure why their second effort, You're Gonna Get It, recv'd such a mediocre reception because I think it was just that much better than the first one.
A natural progression upwards.
By the time the got to DTT they were maybe the best band in the world.
(Their Jeff Lynne studio period got a little blocked out and ploddy to me, but eventually lead to The Wilburys, so all is forgiven there.)
Being one of my all-time favorite albums, I play Damn The Torpedoes quite often so this remastered version is a welcome addition to my collection.
I'm not gonna moan about the 'bonus' disc because I would have bought this version without any extras.
I will say that songs that were cut from the album were done so with good reason.
They're just not as strong as what was used.
In my opinion, they actually reveal a little too much of the band's 'formula' by showing us how similar in feel and melody they are to some of the ones that made the album, but still missing the mark by enough to be overshadowed by the them.
The 'live' stuff is great but then this is an unbelievably fine 'live' act.
(The 4 disc of concert material that was released awhile back is a must!)
TP and the boys are one of the acts I've always wanted to see 'live' and, unfortunately never have.
I hope they make it to the UK someday soon.
I also hope that, by then, they've gotten over doing too many tracks from the extremely disappointing Mojo album, released last year (see my review there).
Anyway, back to the point of THIS review -
DAMN THE TORPEDOES is a great, great album made even better on this remastered release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It doesn't get any better than this, 13 July 2011
This review is from: Damn the Torpedoes (Audio CD)
I bought this album in 1979 after hearing Louisiana Rain on the Richard Skinner show as a teenager. I'd never heard of Tom Petty then. Guitars, emotion, lyrics. A lot has changed about me in 30+ years but this is my rock, my desert island disk (if I could only take one, it would be this). This is still as fresh, as vibrant, as raw, as meaningful now as it was to a moody teenager back then. Lie down in a darkened room, close your eyes and soak it up. It just doesn't get any Damn better than this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Petty fly for a white guy, 23 May 2011
This review is from: Damn The Torpedoes (Audio CD)
If like me you had ignored Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers because they weren't hard/fast/loud enough then be prepared to discover something great. Getting into Tom Petty albums is one of the best things about growing up. The obligatory best of was purchased, then the safe pair of hands hit album, Full Moon Fever (worth mentioning that it was a solo effort here), then it was time to get serious and explore the back catelogue.

Written and recorded at a time when he was close to being dropped by his label this no nonsense balls to the wall effort is what saved his career. The opening, Refugee is a solid rock number bathing in hooks. Bon Jovi may live to be 90 and he'll never write a tune as good as this. The pace rarely stops throughout the album, the production is bright and clean. Yes there are other albums with more recognised songs on it but none of them come close to this. For fans of the Black Crowes, Stick Fingers era Stones, Aerosmith and quality song writing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Damn The Torpedoes, 29 Dec. 2007
By 
Spider Monkey (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Damn the Torpedoes (Audio CD)
'Damn The Torpedoes' is Pettys third album and was written at a time when he was fighting a legal battle with his record company. The anger and frustrations are clearly evident on this album and make it all the more forceful and potent. This album, more than any other, has produced what are now classed as Petty's main hits. From songs like 'Refugee', 'Here Comes My Girl', 'Even The Losers', to 'Don't Do Me Like That', you have the makings of a Petty best of album on one CD. 'Century City' is a strong song about his travels to Century City near LA, the place where the lawyers for the court case were, it is a touch cynical (as you might imagine) and just exquisite rock and roll. Overall this is a great place to start with Tom Petty, although there is so much more out there to delight and I'd say 'Wildflowers' is a great next choice for an example of his later, more acoustic, work. Simply brilliant.

Feel free to check out my blog which can be found on my profile page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Album Lives Up to Its Billing, 26 Aug. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Damn The Torpedoes (Audio CD)
I was inspired to buy this after watching a documentary about the group and Tom Petty in particular and was not disappointed.

I already had a few of their albums including the Greatest Hits. If you're not a big fan of the group then you will find the best known tracks of the album on the Greatest Hits and if you just like the big hits of the group then the Greatest Hits album will make this one redundant. But if you're inspired to find more of their music then it's definitely worth it.

The documentary really explains what the group were going through with the music company at the time this album was being made and you can hear this in some of the tracks, a lot of the sentiment on the album. Even the name of the album is appropriate.

This is definitely a classic album and I wish I'd bought it years ago.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Damn The Torpedoes
Damn The Torpedoes by Tom Petty (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews