Customer Reviews


62 Reviews
5 star:
 (38)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


55 of 60 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The ultimate Hellraiser set from Clive Barker.
In this box are enclosed 4 disks, containing the first three Hellraiser movies, (the only three that Clive Barker really had any part in the making of), and these are in my opinion all excellent films, and at least the first two are classics, (the third isn't really stylised in the right way to make it a classic like the first two, but it is still a great movie). The...
Published on 1 Oct 2004 by the great amphibian

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars German import!
I got this set and, on opening it, found a sticker saying that it was "exactly" the same as the version described on Amazon.co.uk. This immediately raised my suspicions. On flipping the disc box over I discovered the text was in German. I visited the Amazon.de site to read the reviews for this product. Oh dear, lots of 1 star ratings because it is.............CUT! So,...
Published 18 months ago by Irving Washington


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

55 of 60 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The ultimate Hellraiser set from Clive Barker., 1 Oct 2004
In this box are enclosed 4 disks, containing the first three Hellraiser movies, (the only three that Clive Barker really had any part in the making of), and these are in my opinion all excellent films, and at least the first two are classics, (the third isn't really stylised in the right way to make it a classic like the first two, but it is still a great movie). The reason I bought this box was to have the audio commentary on all three movies, and having had these movies on video for years I recognize that the movies in this DVD set are totally uncut, (and in the commentary this is confirmed), with some particularly gory parts of scenes which were edited out in the [American I think] version of the movies that I have on VHS. I was very pleasantly surprised to find that there are two different commentaries for the first movie, (one with Barker, Ashley Lawrence, and the screenplay writer of the next two movies who adds eruditely to the discussion), and one solo one by Barker that I have yet to watch but that I'm looking forward to. There are two commentaries for Hellbound, and one entertaining commentary for hellraiser three with Doug Bradley and the director, (who seems like a really nice guy). I would have jumped at the chance of buying this box if each movie just had one commentary and no other extras. Not only do you get two commentaries for two movies and one for the other, but each of the three disks that I am discussing have an extras section which contains at least two documentaries, and one with Doug Bradley on all three disks, (as well as on-set interviews with the directors of the first two movies and an up to date interview with Clive Barker on the Hellraiser disk). So there are loads of commentaries and documentaries. Could this be augmented? Well yes, because there is yet another disk which contains the arty short movies made by Barker and his long term friends who were involved in the Hellraiser movies in some way (one of them wrote the scripts to the second and third Hellraiser movies). Both of these short films are introduced with interviews with Clive and the script writer, Pete Atkins, and also on the disk is another version of Hellraiser 3, (though I don't know what is different from the version on the third disk, but I haven't watched it yet and assume the difference must be substantial or it wouldn't be there).
This box set, (quite literally a box), gives Hellraiser fans like me everything they could ask for from the first three movies, including the totally uncut version if ever they were censored in any ways, (the amusing director to the third movie showed appreciation when a head exploded, as this was previous cut out of the video version; I must note that the goriest parts of the films are quite a bit more disturbing now that they are uncut.. particularly in the second movie, with at least two obviously uncut versions of scenes). Anything you could ever need to know about the first three movies, (let's face it, the only three that most Hellraiser fans could care less about), is all here, with ample commentary and interviews, and uncut movies. The box is also extremely good value for money, given that the first three disks at least are more/much more feature-packed than most other standalone dvd's are, and even for three great dvd's this would be excellent value for money, but then there is the fourth disk with even more stuff on it).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


50 of 55 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic way to rediscover a true horror classic!, 23 Feb 2005
I recently received this boxset as a present i had debated buying it but had eventually decided against it as id never been a fan of Hellbound: Hellraiser 2 or Hellraiser 3. All i can say is that this is one of the best DVD boxsets in my collection. All three movies are presented in beautiful widescreen with fully remastered picture and sound and in the case of the first two completely uncut for the first time. Each of the disks is jampacked with featurettes, trailers, honest interviews (its clear that series creator Clive Barker has no love for the later sequels!) and extremely entertaining commentaries for each movie. However like all DVDs great features do not make a great package but thankfully 2 out of 3 of these movies are dark, inventive masterpieces. If all you know about these movies are that it has some guy with nails in his head then you are in for a shock. Hellraiser plays almost like some weird family drama at times and has a claustrophobic feel with the action never really leaving the inside of a house but i dont want to spoil it for you because the first time i saw it it was not at all what i expected. Pinhead is merely a supporting character in the first two and it is these few breathtaking scenes that give him a kind of regal nobility. The original is still the best but having re-evaluated Hellbound, i found it almost as amazing as the classic original and it certainly does a brilliant job of following up plot strands left from the first movie. It is extremely stylish looking and has some fantastically surreal imagery contained within. Although the gore factor does take things a little too far in places and i aint squeamish so thats really saying something! Unfortunately by Hellraiser 3 Hollywood had come calling and had clearly decided it was time to turn Pinhead into a wisecracking Freddy Krueger style franchise spewer. Dont get me wrong its ok but too much money and a lack of originality give this movie no identity of its own, still its a lot better than the later movies! So two classic movies, one so-so and a more extras than you could shake a meat hook at and at the current price you should snap this baby up, believe me if youre a fan of horror movies this is darn near essential.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars We Have Such Sights To Show You!..., 12 Aug 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a great boxset for Hellraiser and Clive Barker fans, I was just amazed at the level of details and the amount of length that Anchor Bay/Starz would go to bring out as much special features for the first three films. The first two films are arguably the best in the series and considered to be classic 80's horror films. Clive Barker has created a world of horror that was very creative, it has a very dark and creepy atmosphere and unlike the later sequels in the series it has a ton of gore and violence and Pinhead instantly became a horror icon alongside Jason and the others. Hellraiser part 1 and 2 should be watched back to back but only if you have a strong stomach as both films continue the narrative storyline and are both very enjoyable to watch and are both horror/gore masterpieces.

The first film introduces us to Pinhead and the other demons from hell called cenobites that are summoned whenever the lament configuration box is solved by someone, the story is about a man named Frank brought partially back to life by the blood of his brother. He befriends his sister in-law Julia (brilliantly played by Claire Higgins) who agrees to supply the blood he requires to live, Julia decides to help Frank since they had an affair in the past, by seducing some strangers into the house and then killing them she allows Frank to suck the blood and Internal organs? of his victims to bring back his skin and look normal again but he is still haunted by the evil forces which held him captive in death. For Kristy Cotten (Ashley Laurence) its like a living nightmare when she finds out the truth and now she must stop her uncle Frank before its too late. The films subtext is about how far a person can go when they're looking for the ultimate pain and pleasure, it seems like the true villains are Frank and Julia, Claire was perfect as Julia, she seemed to play the ultimate wicked step mother from hell. You also might recognise actor Andrew Robinson as Kristy's father he was the psychotic killer in Dirty Harry and in this film he gives yet another great performance and Doug Bradley who of course was just brilliant and very menacing as Pinhead. The Special effects especially at the end looked about outdated but they were still great and is a reminder that CGI is not neccesary when you have a great cast and dedicated crew and staff. Hellraiser in my opinion had the best storyline and some great acting as well. The special features include an audio commentary with Clive Barker and Ashley Laurence a featurette called Hellraiser: Resurrection, Under The Skin, Onset Interview with Clive Barker, Merchandising trailer etc.

The second film Hellraiser: Hellbound continues the story when Kristy is kept at a hospital after the traumatic incident at the end of the first film with her father's skinned corpse and the demonic cenobites still fresh in her memory. Doctor Channard re-opens the channel between the dimensions and once again Kristy is propelled into their horrifying world. The second film does a brilliant job of following up some plot threads that were left during the first film and its obvious that the budget looks slightly bigger, the mental hospital or asylum setting was great it later turns into a maze from hell where each character gets tormented by reliving a dark secret or past that they regret doing. Theres even more gore than the first film and so its not recommended for those who have a weak stomach, in one particular scene where a mental patient takes a razor blade and starts cutting and mutilating himself while screaming "GET THEM OF ME!!!" will make you turn away in disgust cause it is very gory you have been warned. The makeup fx just look amazing and were an improvement. The film just gets better as it goes along and Claire was just as wicked as she was in the first film, Pinhead this time is featured in the film more often and has some great lines as usual. The series after these two films definitely headed towards a different direction with Hellraiser 3:Hell on earth Pinhead became more of a main character who said these cheesy one liners and started to look like a Freddy Krueger type of villain, I still liked it and it was fun but it wasn't the same anymore and after that the series was no longer scary or gory with disappointed horror fans and Clive Barker who I read in an interview somewhere he said that he hated the series especially what they did with Inferno and wanted to disown them. Anyway Hellraiser 3 was pretty good and decent but it seemed more Americanized. This packaging also comes along with a bonus disc with two earlier short films done by Clive Barker, Salome and The Forbidden and a couple of interviews discussing more stuff about these films. Overall I would have to say that this boxset was terrific and is guaranteed to satisfy horror fans, I highly recommend this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars German import!, 11 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I got this set and, on opening it, found a sticker saying that it was "exactly" the same as the version described on Amazon.co.uk. This immediately raised my suspicions. On flipping the disc box over I discovered the text was in German. I visited the Amazon.de site to read the reviews for this product. Oh dear, lots of 1 star ratings because it is.............CUT! So, another misleading description when it is advertised as "uncut".
Don't bother.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hellraiser box set bargain, 22 Mar 2011
This review is from: Hellraiser 1-3 Boxset [DVD] [1987] (DVD)
This Hellraiser boxset dvd is a bargain with the first 3 movies of the Hellraiser series, although the first two are more connected and grounded in the mythology of the lament configuration (The box)the third movie is not bad, but it's not really new or unique as it rehashes certain concepts.

So, the original Hellraiser movie and Hellraiser 2 Hellbound are the main dvds to watch in this box set and enjoy and with them being largely british inspired movies.

The work of Clive Barker is just awesome and these Hellraiser movies are a testament to that!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great boxset. (contains spoilers)., 27 Aug 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hellraiser 1-3 Boxset [DVD] [1987] (DVD)
The first three in the Hellraiser series in one boxset, the first movie starts with a character named Frank who buys a mysterious looking puzzle box, Frank then takes this box home and opens it unleashing the Cenobytes, beings from Hell who take pleasure in performing extreme torture upon their victims, Frank is then taken into the Hell dimension.
When Frank's brother returns to their old home with his wife Julia they find remnants of his being there but no Frank. Frank's return is brought on by blood being accidently spilled onto the floorboards under which Frank's corpse is being held.
Frank is back and demanding that bodies are brought to him so he can consume them and return to his former self.
Frank's niece Kirsty discovers the truth about her uncle and manages to take the puzzle box, unfortunately Kirsty inadvertently opens the box and is confronted by Pinhead, the Cenobytes leader. A deal is made to bring her murderous uncle before the Cenobytes to take him back to Hell instead of her!

The second instalment see's Kirsty in a psychiatric hospital haunted by the ordeal she has suffered, a bloody mattress is brought into the hospital for study, combined with a curious doctor and the puzzle box is opened once more!
Kirsty still traumatised has no choice but to enter the Hell dimension and try to save her soul and her sanity.

In Hellraiser III a young and charismatic night club owner buys a strange sculpture and puts it in his apartment, accidently cuts himself on the sculpture and once enough blood has been absorbed, Pinhead is back, making his demands and wreaking havoc.

For me the first movie is the best (how many times have we heard that). The only problem I have with the other movies was the demonic voice-over used for Pinhead was not used after the first Hellraiser, the demonic voice combined with the imagery of Pinhead was iconic. Other than that I have no complaints.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars We have an eternity to find out what makes you scream., 20 July 2005
By A Customer
This set is one of the better horror box sets to have been released. hellraiser is without a doubt, one of the most iconic horror characters to have hit the big screen.
the first film, while a little slow and dated at times, gives a good introduction to Pinhead, and the lament configuration box. It may be hard to watch for younger people who are more into the blood and gore, but to get to grips with all the many many hellraisers that came after,its nessecary viewing. The second is a gore fest, and features enough true horror for any fan. Its the perfect addition to the Hellraiser story. The third installment goes in a different direction, but again contains quite a bit of gore. The highlight of all these films is definitely Pinhead who has some of the best one liners ever uttered.His loyal cenobites also bring a lot of atmosphere to the films and who have some really icky makeup effects. If you can ignore the sometimes shaky acting, this set is brilliant.
And to top it all off, its presented in its own lament configuration box which makes a cool centrepiece. Question is, do you have the nerve to try and solve it?????
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good old horror, 14 Dec 2010
Hellraiser created a whole new genre back in 1987 which incorporated so many different aspects of horror that became a favorite by a very diverse group of horror fans. This DVD box doesnt boast the best video quality but for the price its a fantastic collection with good extras. Definitely does the job

Angelos Taplatzidis
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It could have had such delights to show us, 13 Sep 2011
By 
I. R. Kerr (Lancashire) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A suitable companion to the similarly boxed, but far superior 4 disc set of the first 3 Hellraiser movies Hellraiser Puzzle Box [1987] [DVD], but with an Anglo-Dutch emphasis.
The box contains 8 discs one for each of the movies but unlike the earlier puzzle cube set which was jam packed full of extras these are the basic discs.
If you are a fan you know what to expect from the movies, if not then give them a try. The first three movies are excellent, others less so but it's nice to have them all in one place at last.
From part 5 onwards the original cenobites take on lesser roles as arbiters of human decisions each one taking a slight deviation.
4 - Bloodline - takes us into the history of the box from 18th century France to a 22nd century space station.
5 - Inferno - a policeman invesitates murders where the killer leaves a child's fingers as clues.
6 - Hellseeker - after a car crash a man tries to find out what happened to his wife's body. Ashley Laurence returns as Kirsty.
7 - Deader - a reporter investigates a resurrection cult
8 - Hellworld - a nod towards the gaming genre, stars genre icon Lance Henriksen.

As regards the discs themselves, each movie is on one disc, when you start Hellraiser the first thing you see is a copyright warning in Dutch, when the movie starts you may get Dutch subtitles but you can switch them off on your DVD, it's mildly annoying not to have the option to kill them from the start menu.
All 8 discs are extremely light on the extras front, the first movie has most but these are confined to 4 short interviews with Writer Director Clive Barker and leads Andrew Robinson, Ashley Laurence and Clare Higgins.
Most of the other discs have just trailers, part 5 has a short interview with Doug Bradley (Pinhead).
If you already have the discs there's probably nothing here to really tempt you other than the box gimmick.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars No Subtitles, 28 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hellraiser 1-3 Boxset [DVD] [1987] (DVD)
No subtitles on this box set despite having looked around and someone saying there were... May have been a change in product but definitely no subs in this version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0x106d47a4)

This product

Hellraiser 1-3 Boxset [DVD] [1987]
Hellraiser 1-3 Boxset [DVD] [1987] by Anthony Hickox (DVD - 2010)
4.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews