Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars197
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

I agree with the reviews that rave about Etta's album "At Last". This new CD from UK label Delta Xtra has the LP amd much more with a total of 25 songs and approx 70 minutes of vocals. Here we have 2 1961 albums "At Last!" and "The Second Time Around" both originally recorded for the Argo label plus her first ever single and some duets with Harvey Fuqua. This one has full liner notes and very good transfer quality. Another quality release on the Xtra label and at a price you will appreciate. Aimed at the collector because of its content and the rarity of some items.
0Comment|23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2011
Great. Etta at her very best. At last is the studio version and really great, not a bad track on the album.
Don
0Comment|26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 September 2011
Some of Etta's better tracks. Recording a bit patchy in places but still enjoyable.
For the price a good introduction to Etta James.
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 24 February 2014
Etta James must have been the nearest thing to Aretha Franklin. From Los Angeles, Etta died, aged 74, in 2012
Her mother was 14 when she had Etta; from an unidentified husband. Etta had her only number one at age 15 and was dating BB King by the following year. She battled drugs all her life.
She made 39 albums and over 50 singles, she also won 6 Grammy awards.
There are 25 tracks on this album covering a period of 40 years. She had such a powerful and distinctive voice. There are a couple of duets on here with Harry Fuqua, which were both hits in America - this is not mentioned on the rather limited album enclosure.
I have to say that I prefer Etta's `oomph' to both Billie Holiday's and Ella Fitzgerald's style, which is much more contained. There's lots of great songs on here. I was a little underwhelmed by her version of 'Loving Arms' but really enjoyed her version of 'Light My Fire.'
I also liked the big band backing, with plenty of brass, saxophone solos, crisp drumming and blues & jazz guitar - it comes across as almost 'live' in places.'
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2014
At Last,she`s finally getting the recognition she so trully deserves!Forget the likes of beyonce(poor imitation),get the real thing!!!!!!!absolutely a must!Today!Now!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2012
Great album for Etta fans or anyone that likes blues. Listen to it all the time. Would recommend to others.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2014
My favourite song is Etta's rendition of 'At Last'. Happily the entire album is of the same genre and quality. Love it!!!!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 October 2011
I love this CD. It makes perfect Sunday morning listening. It would also be good to have as background music at a party.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2012
Ok, I never really bought any Etta James Records in the past, and only really remember Her for three songs. However, with the use of 'At Last' on a recent TV Add, I just had to have that track. Finding an Album on Amazon actually called 'At Last', prompted me to buy it, and I'm so glad that I did. Etta was surely one of the true greats in Music, with a wonderful style and performance that is such a pleasure to hear. It took me a long long time to buy Her Music, and this Album is a great choice, AT LAST!
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 2012
Stunning singer, and a great choice of songs, all the best Etta James classics, including At Last, i just want to make Love to you and more!
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)