Customer Reviews


136 Reviews
5 star:
 (113)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At Last plus much more from Delta Xtra...
I agree with the reviews that rave about Etta's album "At Last". This new CD from UK label Delta Xtra has the LP amd much more with a total of 25 songs and approx 70 minutes of vocals. Here we have 2 1961 albums "At Last!" and "The Second Time Around" both originally recorded for the Argo label plus her first ever single and some duets with Harvey Fuqua. This one has full...
Published on 16 Jan. 2012 by C. FULLER

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's okay
It's just okay - does what it says on the cover. It didn't cover a lot of her best songs
Published 21 months ago by Ionia


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At Last plus much more from Delta Xtra..., 16 Jan. 2012
By 
C. FULLER (Brixham, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: At Last (Audio CD)
I agree with the reviews that rave about Etta's album "At Last". This new CD from UK label Delta Xtra has the LP amd much more with a total of 25 songs and approx 70 minutes of vocals. Here we have 2 1961 albums "At Last!" and "The Second Time Around" both originally recorded for the Argo label plus her first ever single and some duets with Harvey Fuqua. This one has full liner notes and very good transfer quality. Another quality release on the Xtra label and at a price you will appreciate. Aimed at the collector because of its content and the rarity of some items.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good intro to Etta James, 27 Sept. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: At Last! (Audio CD)
Some of Etta's better tracks. Recording a bit patchy in places but still enjoyable.
For the price a good introduction to Etta James.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars etta james at last, 25 Jun. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: At Last! (Audio CD)
Great. Etta at her very best. At last is the studio version and really great, not a bad track on the album.
Don
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful singer, great compilation, 13 Dec. 2012
By 
R. Arnold "Woohoo Spongebob!" (Dorset, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: At Last - The Best Of Etta James (Audio CD)
Stunning singer, and a great choice of songs, all the best Etta James classics, including At Last, i just want to make Love to you and more!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just brilliant!, 8 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: At Last - The Best Of Etta James (Audio CD)
There are lots of fabulous tracks on this CD and I wish I'd bought her music long ago, still, better late than never. You'll be pleased you bought this as it's just quality! Such a versatile singer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At Last,etta james, 21 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: At Last (Audio CD)
At Last,she`s finally getting the recognition she so trully deserves!Forget the likes of beyonce(poor imitation),get the real thing!!!!!!!absolutely a must!Today!Now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the best of etta james, 21 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: At Last - The Best Of Etta James (Audio CD)
great cd,an amazing artist,great songs should be more recordings of this artist.amazing blues the best i have heard for a good time its great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Plenty of 'Oomph' from Etta, 24 Feb. 2014
By 
Thespionic "Thespionic" (West Country) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: At Last - The Best Of Etta James (Audio CD)
Etta James must have been the nearest thing to Aretha Franklin. From Los Angeles, Etta died, aged 74, in 2012
Her mother was 14 when she had Etta; from an unidentified husband. Etta had her only number one at age 15 and was dating BB King by the following year. She battled drugs all her life.
She made 39 albums and over 50 singles, she also won 6 Grammy awards.
There are 25 tracks on this album covering a period of 40 years. She had such a powerful and distinctive voice. There are a couple of duets on here with Harry Fuqua, which were both hits in America - this is not mentioned on the rather limited album enclosure.
I have to say that I prefer Etta's `oomph' to both Billie Holiday's and Ella Fitzgerald's style, which is much more contained. There's lots of great songs on here. I was a little underwhelmed by her version of 'Loving Arms' but really enjoyed her version of 'Light My Fire.'
I also liked the big band backing, with plenty of brass, saxophone solos, crisp drumming and blues & jazz guitar - it comes across as almost 'live' in places.'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect Title, 25 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: At Last - The Best Of Etta James (Audio CD)
Ok, I never really bought any Etta James Records in the past, and only really remember Her for three songs. However, with the use of 'At Last' on a recent TV Add, I just had to have that track. Finding an Album on Amazon actually called 'At Last', prompted me to buy it, and I'm so glad that I did. Etta was surely one of the true greats in Music, with a wonderful style and performance that is such a pleasure to hear. It took me a long long time to buy Her Music, and this Album is a great choice, AT LAST!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Etta James, 30 Nov. 2012
By 
Mike H (Eastington, Stonehouse, Glos) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great album for Etta fans or anyone that likes blues. Listen to it all the time. Would recommend to others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

At Last - The Best Of Etta James
At Last - The Best Of Etta James by Etta James (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews