Customer Reviews


130 Reviews
5 star:
 (97)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


54 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Every twitch,every flip...a terrific mix of songs from a great singer (and band) ...all for you
Imelda and her band return with another energetic mix of rockabilly, pop and jazz ; From the opening "Pulling the rug" all the way through to their excellent cover of Tainted love, the album is chock full of songs that worm their way into your skull that you'll be humming for weeks.
The cheeky "Psycho" has a driving sixties-spy vibe complete with growling guitar and...
Published on 4 Oct 2010 by Andrew

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Misleading - not a new album, just an extended version of Mayhem
The title 'More Mayhem' suggests that this is a second album in the same vein as 'Mayhem', but it's just the same album with a couple of extra tracks. This is really misleading and quite annoying.

Don't buy if you already have Mayhem. If you don't, buy this instead, as it does have some extras.

Will be buying one of her other albums and check the...
Published 15 months ago by Seraph


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

54 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Every twitch,every flip...a terrific mix of songs from a great singer (and band) ...all for you, 4 Oct 2010
This review is from: Mayhem (Audio CD)
Imelda and her band return with another energetic mix of rockabilly, pop and jazz ; From the opening "Pulling the rug" all the way through to their excellent cover of Tainted love, the album is chock full of songs that worm their way into your skull that you'll be humming for weeks.
The cheeky "Psycho" has a driving sixties-spy vibe complete with growling guitar and howling outro ; "Mayhem" is a tale of a disruptive London couple with a catchy chorus ; "All for You" is an earthy atmospheric ditty that reeks of the bands links with burlesque; "Bury my troubles away" is a wonderfully jazzy-blues foot-tapper, "Let me out" is another catchy tune that just begs a crowd singalong to the chorus....the list goes on.
Highams guitar work drives the tunes along ; Prisemans' trumpet work shines throughout; Al Gare's bass and Rushton's drums make the beat irresistable- one of the bands great strengths is that each is given space to breathe and the overall effect is a delight to the ear. Anyone who has seen the band live will know how amazing they are on stage; they are all excellent musicians at the top of their game.

Is the album perfect ? Not quite.

Where the album's slips slightly (and it *is* only slightly) is that some of the arrangement choices made by the band for the recording seems to have blunted their edge a bit. "Eternity" and "All for you" - both fantastic songs live, and amoungst their best - particularly seem to have lost a little in translation. "Too sad to cry", "I'm alive" and "Kentish town waltz" aren't instant classics, but are decent songs, and do grow on repeated listens.

That said, this remains an excellent and well-paced album, packed with tunes you'll be humming for weeks, and offering alot to both the casual listener and the avid fan. If you've enjoyed her songs on the radio or loved "Love Tattoo", I can heartily recommend this album - the lady doesn't disappoint, and you'll be playing this again and again for many years to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars New Fan, 21 Jan 2011
This review is from: Mayhem (Audio CD)
As an older person I am very reassured about the younger generation when I hear music as good as this. I have even ordered a previous cd which cannot come too soon. Many thanks Imelda.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Misleading - not a new album, just an extended version of Mayhem, 12 Jan 2013
By 
Seraph (Somerset, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: More Mayhem (Audio CD)
The title 'More Mayhem' suggests that this is a second album in the same vein as 'Mayhem', but it's just the same album with a couple of extra tracks. This is really misleading and quite annoying.

Don't buy if you already have Mayhem. If you don't, buy this instead, as it does have some extras.

Will be buying one of her other albums and check the track list to ensure it's not just a bunch of dupes.

That said, Mayhem is a fantastic album that I play endlessly. If you like that retro, rockabilly, double bass sound and songs to dance to, then this album is a must buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 14 Dec 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mayhem (Audio CD)
I can't stop playing this, its absolutely brilliant and I like every track!! Thats almost unheard of previously. Just the thing if you need cheering up!

Play loud!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An outstanding stomper of an album!!!!, 14 Oct 2010
By 
D. M. G. Rollason "Dan the Music Man" (Dudley, West Midlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mayhem (Audio CD)
I absolutely adore this album. From the very start of the album "Pulling the rug" up to the remix version of "Johnny got a boom boom" is just outstanding. Even the slower tracks on this album are equally as good. If you are looking for a real footstomper of an album for Christmas, please make this your first choice, and make it go to number 1. This album deserves that accolade.

Well done Imelda, keeping on rockin'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Gal Dun Good !!!, 9 Oct 2010
This review is from: Mayhem (Audio CD)
Following on from the critically accalimed 'Love Tattoo', Imelda May releases her brand of Rockabilly Mayhem on this her second studio album. The difference between this album and the last is that the songwriting is stronger & the sound more gutsy and edgy. It is a fantastic breath of fresh air as opposed to most of the drivel around these days. You can tell that Imelda loves doing what she does and is supported with a fantastic backing band. 'Psycho', 'Mayhem' and 'Pull the Rug' are the foot-stompers whilst 'Kentish Town Waltz' and 'All For You' lend the balanced sentimentality to the album. A fantastic collection, finished off with a great version of 'Tainted Love'. This collection will enhance any music collection. Buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding, 9 Oct 2010
This review is from: Mayhem (Audio CD)
Totally agree with previous review.
The production quality, the songcraft and amazing vocals blew me away.
Imelda May and her incredibly talented band go from strength to strength with every new release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars She's a sneaky, freaky, naughty, sexy girl!, 7 Jan 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mayhem (MP3 Download)
I love this album. Imelda May sings with gusto and pleasure. Her lyrics drip sex, love, lust, heartbreak and more sex! The music bounds along in great rockabilly stye with a couple of great slowies too. Highly recommended. Great singer and great band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 17 Jun 2011
This review is from: Mayhem (Audio CD)
Saw and heard Imelda May sing her own composition on tv and was blown away by her voice, look, and lyrics. I feel she appeals to all age groups as I suppose you could class me as a hip wrinkly. Can't stop playing cd while driving.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My Latest Favourite Album!, 3 Feb 2011
This review is from: Mayhem (Audio CD)
Imelda May, a wonderful talent. Clever lyrics, sung beautifully, with passion and energy. Imelda is backed by equally talented musicians, altogether, this is worth every penny of anyone's money. But maybe that's just my opinion. Looking forward to Imelda and her band enjoying great success and making more music! (I will be waiting)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xae2fdde0)

This product

Mayhem
Mayhem by Imelda May (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews