Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Intelligent romance and a little bit more.
The product description of this book says:

"After breaking off her engagement, thirty-something writing professor Andi Cutrone abandons New England for her native Long Island to focus on her career and start over. When she meets Devin at a cocktail party, the sight of an honest-to-goodness male escort shocks her--and fascinates her more than a little. Months...
Published on 9 April 2011 by ImReallyAnElf

versus
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars interesting once you get past the annoyances
This is one of those novels that spends the first half of the book screaming 'America', which personally i find hugely irritating when it does not seem to be highly relevent to the storyline.
Also, there seems to be a degree of highbrow academic snobbery at the start,in that the Author seems to be intent upon letting the reader know she has a career in rhetoric and...
Published on 27 Mar 2011 by Colliesaluki


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars interesting once you get past the annoyances, 27 Mar 2011
By 
Colliesaluki "Gub" (uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Faking It (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is one of those novels that spends the first half of the book screaming 'America', which personally i find hugely irritating when it does not seem to be highly relevent to the storyline.
Also, there seems to be a degree of highbrow academic snobbery at the start,in that the Author seems to be intent upon letting the reader know she has a career in rhetoric and composition studies by making very frequent and unnecessary references to it but disguising it as being part of the plot,again far beyond what seems necessary.
If you can get past the annoyance of these factors and actually start to hear the story, it's quite interesting, parts of it will make complete sense to most women as we all have parts of ourselves we wish were better! it also balances out neatly by allowing the male lead character to reveal his insecurities despite his ultra confident facade.
it flows along at a gentle and natural speed and becomes quite a good read.
It comes to a fairly predicatable ending but felt a little like the last half (and by far the better half) of the book was rushed.
The Author does make a particularly good job of slowly revealing the idiosyncrasies and personalities of the characters as the story unfolds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Intelligent romance and a little bit more., 9 April 2011
This review is from: Faking It (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
The product description of this book says:

"After breaking off her engagement, thirty-something writing professor Andi Cutrone abandons New England for her native Long Island to focus on her career and start over. When she meets Devin at a cocktail party, the sight of an honest-to-goodness male escort shocks her--and fascinates her more than a little. Months later, Andi impulsively calls Devin. Over cheesecake in Brooklyn, she offers him a proposition: he will teach her how to be a better lover, and in return, she will give him writing lessons. He agrees, and together they embark upon an intense partnership that proves to be as instructive as it is arousing. For in the midst of lessons in rhetorical theory and foreplay, Andi and Devin delve into deeper questions about truth, beauty, and self, gradually coming face-to-face with the issues at the core of their emotional limitations. Smart, witty, and introspective, Faking It is an engrossing novel about two people discovering their authentic selves."

What you get is exactly true to the description, but a whole lot more. The characters are very likeable, and there's no tedious ongoing angst, just enough background to Andi's repressions to round out her character to perfection. Devin's character doesn't fully evolve until a fair way to the end of the book, but it's a very interesting journey.

I also found it interesting that a book which very much involves a woman learning about her sexuality should manage to keep my interest where "erotica" would simply have had me skipping pages.

I found it an extremely well written and entertaining book, although not without its moments of pathos, and I highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it, 16 Dec 2011
This review is from: Faking It (Kindle Edition)
Not your usual chick lit - it actually became intellectual at times when interspersed with the outputs of Andi's literary classes. A slow reveal of the emotional hang-ups of the two key characters, Devlin and Andi helped bring them to life. I read this during my tube commute over 4 days and found my eyes blurring with tears.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Misfired, 27 Nov 2011
By 
W. Tegner "Bill" (Cheshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Faking It (Kindle Edition)
When I started this book I thought I'd enjoy it. Then we had the improbable bargain struck between a gigolo and an academic. And then it got so boring that I quit a quarter of the way through. Ah well, I only wasted 1-74.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Soppy, 11 Nov 2011
By 
Angus Jenkinson "angusjenkinson" (Cambridgeshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Faking It (Kindle Edition)
Romantic tosh in which a literature academic who does not know the meaning of lascivious discovers she has a Rubenesque body and sexy mind with the help of a gigolo (aka escort).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars sex and sexuality, 3 July 2011
By 
K. D. Squire (Cheltenham, Gloucestershire, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Faking It (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This book was a good read, but not one id loan my nana! if your comfortable reading about sexual discovery and fulfillment then this is a read you will thourghly enjoy. the story itself is well written and although its not gripping you will want to follow it to the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Looks like chick-lit but is far more enjoyable, 27 May 2011
By 
Roman Clodia (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Faking It (Kindle Edition)
Like another reviewer here I think this book is more intelligent than its misleadingly chick-lit-ish cover and title suggest. Andi is a 34 year old writing professor at a New York university who appears confident but actually has all kinds of hang-ups about her body and sexuality. Through a rather contrived deal with a beautiful male escort, she learns to unleash her inner self - but can she find the kind of life and relationship which has always eluded her?

I hate so-called 'women's books' which either have ditzy, mistake-prone girls or 'feisty' ones who hate and have to fight everything. So Andi is a refreshing heroine who is successful professionally, clever and yet still a little damaged by previous men in her life. Her experiences to connect to her true inner self can be a little self-indulgent at times (remember that episode in Sex & the City where Miranda tries to discover her inner goddess? - this is a little similar) and yet also tackle real issues that women face every day with dysfunctional body image and the tyranny of size zero.

Devin, the male escort, is utterly delicious, but certainly not just a pretty face, and has a journey of his own. I didn't really buy completely into the ending which is why this dropped a star from me, but am interested in reading the sequel.

So this certainly isn't 'literature' or deep and meaningful - but it's an enjoyable read which tackles some important issues in a light-hearted way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Woman's Journey, 17 May 2011
This review is from: Faking It (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I found a couple things about this book to be unexpected. One was the main female character, Andi. She's bright, successful in her career, and yet also seems to have a self image of herself that leaves her wanting. When her boyfriend Andy (what's with THAT?! Andi and Andy?) basically says she isn't a whole person he can be attracted to because she hasn't had sex with him, she decides to take matters into her own hands. She moves away, changes job and comes to an arrangement with a male escort that is acquainted with some of her work colleagues. truth be told, she isn't in touch with her nature as a sexual being, and is determined to explore this side of herself. She will teach Devin the ins and outs of being a writer, and he will teach her about sexuality.

Now, this so easily could be the plot for a piece of erotica or even a work of ordinary chick lit type romance. In the second bit of unexpectedness, I found it certainly has elements of both, but is neither. In fact, Devin uses a "toy" to teach her, and it really is a learning experience. Andi makes discoveries about herself not only as a woman with physical needs but thanks to Devin, learns to see herself and her former boyfriends more clearly. It is a time of self discovery that could have been exciting, but the writing does drag on a bit. It's being marketed as a romance novel too, and while it does indeed deal with the topic, it fails in execution to quite fit into the expected tropes outcome wise of that genre. So while a worthwhile read about male/female relationship dynamics and self image, if looking for a titillating bit of romantic fluff, you'll be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Modern look at Love Relationships and Sex, 24 Mar 2011
By 
Alessi Lover "C.A.D." (Knightley UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Faking It (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I enjoyed reading 'Faking It' a tale of one woman's journey into love and relationships, basically you have to learn to love and know yourself before letting yourself fall headlong into a relationship (well that's the feeling I was left with after reading the book).

You have a young lady who uses the services of a male escort but no money exchanges hands only her time and writing expertise in exchange for his lessons in learning how to love. You do think will it or won't it get all 'Mills and Boons', will they fall deeply for each other and live happily after together?

Well not wanting to spoil the outcome..... all I will say is that it is well written and something I can say am glad I read.

A modern look at love, relationships and sex.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars really enjoyed, 29 Mar 2011
By 
Sian Louise (UNITED KINGDOM) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Faking It (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I was waiting for payday and then I was actually going to buy this on Kindle version, however when I saw it on Amazon Vine I jumped at the chance to get it.

I agree with another reviewer that there did seem to be some academic snobbery within this book, but it didnt actually put me off. In fact the "brainy" parts to this book I actually found quite interesting.

I thought the character of Andi was actually very relatable. A lot of women are unhappy with themselves, how they look etc and in this book it just goes to show what a little confidence in yourself can do for you and how others see you, and this is true in real life.
Devin was an extremely charming character and you can't help but fall for him a little too. Although I have to say I imagined him as Dermot Mulroney from The Wedding Date, as it had the feel of that a little (altho this book was way better than Asking for Trouble by Elizabeth Young).

I was honestly surprised by the ending, I was hoping it was going to end up as a traditional romance and end the way most of us readers probably wanted it to. But maybe in a way thats what made the book better, because the ending wasnt predictible.

I actually would have given this a full 5 stars except for the fact we only had the tiny part near the end in Devin's words. I would have loved to have had more from his perspective, as I like to know what's going through my main character's heads and how they feel etc.

I really did enjoy the writing style of this book and once I started I couldn't put it down, I would definately read more from this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Faking It
Faking It by Elisa Lorello
3.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews