Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Don't drink the water
Great fun for someone who likes that kind of English humour. I do and I think it was very well done.
Published on 24 Feb 2011 by Susanne Kontouris

versus
20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars One for diehard on the buses fans only
This is often lambasted as one of the worst sitcoms of all time....it's definitely not that. I can think of many worse.

What it is though is very generic mid-70s comedy. Blakey is as he was in on the buses (and there's lots of references to this), there's German neighbours (cue much "war time" hilarity), they don't like the "foreign" food etc.

Oddly...
Published on 8 Nov 2010 by Ed W


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Don't drink the water, 24 Feb 2011
By 
Susanne Kontouris "papusch" (Germany) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Don't Drink The Water - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
Great fun for someone who likes that kind of English humour. I do and I think it was very well done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars unfairly hated, 1 Dec 2011
This review is from: Don't Drink The Water - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
Been mentioned how this is "one of the worst sitcoms ever" but I think thats a bit cruel. Yes, its not amazing, but its a gentle watch and good to see a reprised Blakey back at the helm with Pat Coombes. Its best viewed with the OTB set: On the Buses - The Complete Series [DVD] and the OTB Book: I 'Ate You Butler! - The Making of On the Buses: Behind the Scenes of Britain's Favourite Sitcom
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars One for diehard on the buses fans only, 8 Nov 2010
This review is from: Don't Drink The Water - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
This is often lambasted as one of the worst sitcoms of all time....it's definitely not that. I can think of many worse.

What it is though is very generic mid-70s comedy. Blakey is as he was in on the buses (and there's lots of references to this), there's German neighbours (cue much "war time" hilarity), they don't like the "foreign" food etc.

Oddly enough if you understand British politics in the mid 70s, there's some actually quite humerous comments about this, especially to do with strikes/3 day week (although now very dated).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't Drink The Water-"Blakey", 13 Dec 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Don't Drink The Water - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
Just great comedy,Stephen Lewis at some of his best work and Pat coombs is perfect as his sister.You can't beat anything Stephen Lewis stars in Brilliant comedian.Blakey retires to spain and bought a condo Home sight unseen,typical Blakey the character is from On The Buses.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Don't Drink The Water - The Complete Series [DVD], 20 Feb 2011
By 
F. carpentier "tc" (belgium) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Don't Drink The Water - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
Nice dvd glad to see pat coombs preform,but I must say that On the buses was a Better series.I'm glad to have this dvd in my collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't miss Don't Drink the Water, 16 Feb 2011
By 
Jacqueline Munro-smith "Jacquiems" (Melbourne, Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Don't Drink The Water - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
A fabulous slice of history of popular culture of Britain in the 1970's.
Stephen Lewis is a gem of British comedy acting and if you liked / loved On The Buses you'll love this.
Lots of exclaimations of "'ere" as in 'we can't put up with this' and we don't do that back home. Stephen Lewis' Blakey is true to character and the addition of his sister gives him someone to bounce off as he had with Stan et al.
A lovely series and I'm so glad they've put it on DVD.
'ere !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very funny sitcom, 2 Jan 2011
This review is from: Don't Drink The Water - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
I had watched the first episode of Don't Drink the Water which was on the special features of Series 7 on the buses. I really liked it and thought it was very funny, when it came out on DVD I bought it straight away and watched it in two days.Stephen Lewis as Blakey is an absolutely brilliant British actor.
This dvd is a definitely a 10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars dont drink the water, 29 Dec 2010
This review is from: Don't Drink The Water - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this because of on the buses. Which is a great saucy british comedey at its best. Sadly though even the acting skills of Pattie Coombes, Stephen Lewis and Derick Grithiths (That are considerable) can not make more it than a "if thers not any thing else on watch this" sitcom into anything funny. Ok, its watchable and far better than whats on now such as outnumbered which is facile. However, much better in my opinion is Terry and June. This is very very good, but like all good things requires some thought and perserverence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Blakey in Spain, 5 Nov 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Don't Drink The Water - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
I'm pleased that Network have brought out this sequel to On The Buses as it shows Blakey newly retired in Spain having all sorts of problems in his new apartment living with his sister Dorothy and having to cope with the ever-present Carlos the Spanish porter and his mother-in-law. Although nowhere as near as funny as On The Buses both Stephen Lewis and Pat Coombs are on pretty good form as is Derek Griffiths. However the constant "Bognor" references from Pat Coombs tend to get very tedious.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Funny., 14 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Don't Drink The Water - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
Good laugh.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Don't Drink The Water - The Complete Series [DVD]
8.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews