Customer Reviews


47 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars unfairly hated
Been mentioned how this is "one of the worst sitcoms ever" but I think thats a bit cruel. Yes, its not amazing, but its a gentle watch and good to see a reprised Blakey back at the helm with Pat Coombes. Its best viewed with the OTB set: On the Buses - The Complete Series [DVD] and the OTB Book: I 'Ate You Butler! - The Making of On the Buses: Behind the Scenes of...
Published on 1 Dec. 2011 by Sammy Davis Jnr

versus
22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars One for diehard on the buses fans only
This is often lambasted as one of the worst sitcoms of all time....it's definitely not that. I can think of many worse.

What it is though is very generic mid-70s comedy. Blakey is as he was in on the buses (and there's lots of references to this), there's German neighbours (cue much "war time" hilarity), they don't like the "foreign" food etc.

Oddly...
Published on 8 Nov. 2010 by Ed W


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars unfairly hated, 1 Dec. 2011
This review is from: Don't Drink The Water - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
Been mentioned how this is "one of the worst sitcoms ever" but I think thats a bit cruel. Yes, its not amazing, but its a gentle watch and good to see a reprised Blakey back at the helm with Pat Coombes. Its best viewed with the OTB set: On the Buses - The Complete Series [DVD] and the OTB Book: I 'Ate You Butler! - The Making of On the Buses: Behind the Scenes of Britain's Favourite Sitcom
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Don't drink the water, 24 Feb. 2011
By 
Susanne Kontouris "papusch" (Germany) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Don't Drink The Water - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
Great fun for someone who likes that kind of English humour. I do and I think it was very well done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't Drink The Water-"Blakey", 13 Dec. 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Don't Drink The Water - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
Just great comedy,Stephen Lewis at some of his best work and Pat coombs is perfect as his sister.You can't beat anything Stephen Lewis stars in Brilliant comedian.Blakey retires to spain and bought a condo Home sight unseen,typical Blakey the character is from On The Buses.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nostalgia at its best!!, 19 Jun. 2013
By 
FAMOUS NAME (UNITED KINGDOM) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Don't Drink The Water - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
Oh I LOVED this series - it was so funny!

Pat Coombes was a great comedienne who was never off our screens for more than two decades, and the idea of teaming Pat with another great and talented comedy star in Stephen Lewis was sheer genius! This comedy filled a huge void left by the long running and very successful comedy `On The Buses' (see my review for that title) that had finished the previous year. Some people may have found it a bit hard going in places - mainly due to comparison, but I think perhaps its downfall was that there was a much more limited number of comedy situations that could be milked from around the scenario of having moved to live in Spain after perhaps the initial success of the first season - but it did go on for a second, and they are all included here in this great value release!

Highly recommend for those who love the nostalgia of great vintage TV!

NOTE: You will find many pleasant and familiar faces popping up in this TV gem!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars One for diehard on the buses fans only, 8 Nov. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Don't Drink The Water - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
This is often lambasted as one of the worst sitcoms of all time....it's definitely not that. I can think of many worse.

What it is though is very generic mid-70s comedy. Blakey is as he was in on the buses (and there's lots of references to this), there's German neighbours (cue much "war time" hilarity), they don't like the "foreign" food etc.

Oddly enough if you understand British politics in the mid 70s, there's some actually quite humerous comments about this, especially to do with strikes/3 day week (although now very dated).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Don't Drink The Water - The Complete Series [DVD], 20 Feb. 2011
By 
F. carpentier "tc" (belgium) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Don't Drink The Water - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
Nice dvd glad to see pat coombs preform,but I must say that On the buses was a Better series.I'm glad to have this dvd in my collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A real find, 25 May 2013
By 
Lee Peachair (Barnsley, South Yorks United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Don't Drink The Water - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
I love this show. yes it was made on a shoe-string budget and clearly they were never abroad in Spain, just in the one studio but somehow this show still conjures up the atmosphere of 70s package holidays to Spain and if you took one, or several. there will be lots of little jokes in here that will remind you of those jollys.

My favourite episode sees Inspector Blake, dating a money grabbing courier, whos tous operator has gone bust (court line? Intasun?) anyway she has no job and decides Blakey s ripe for the picking but it doesn't work out! some good performances. Its not high brow stuff but its passed on a few hours for me and I will return to it. One of those shows, where if your down, just watch it and it will cheer you up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't miss Don't Drink the Water, 16 Feb. 2011
By 
Jacqueline Munro-smith "Jacquiems" (Melbourne, Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Don't Drink The Water - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
A fabulous slice of history of popular culture of Britain in the 1970's.
Stephen Lewis is a gem of British comedy acting and if you liked / loved On The Buses you'll love this.
Lots of exclaimations of "'ere" as in 'we can't put up with this' and we don't do that back home. Stephen Lewis' Blakey is true to character and the addition of his sister gives him someone to bounce off as he had with Stan et al.
A lovely series and I'm so glad they've put it on DVD.
'ere !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars DON'T WATCH IT, EITHER !!, 28 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Don't Drink The Water - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
Stephen Lewis who played Blakey in On The Buses deserved a better spin off than this, he really did! You see, he, alongside Bob Grant (who played Jack the conductor from OTB) wrote some of the better scripts for the last season together of OTB and the Blakey character really started to shine through as he was lodging at Mrs Butlers and you actually forgot about the original star of the show, Reg Varney. !! Unfortunately the original writers of OTB had the bright idea of setting this new spin off show in a 70's tourist building Spain where Blakey goes to retire but unfortunately has to take his whining sister (played by Pat Coombs) with him and this is a big problem for the viewer as eventually she gets on your nerves. Coombs was a good actress but this show makes her character grate on the viewers ears and does not help the lousy double en'trendere scripts. Stephen Lewis then has to put up with other badly written characters in the two series. How it got to two series beats me as one was enough !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very funny sitcom, 2 Jan. 2011
This review is from: Don't Drink The Water - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
I had watched the first episode of Don't Drink the Water which was on the special features of Series 7 on the buses. I really liked it and thought it was very funny, when it came out on DVD I bought it straight away and watched it in two days.Stephen Lewis as Blakey is an absolutely brilliant British actor.
This dvd is a definitely a 10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Don't Drink The Water - The Complete Series [DVD]
£9.70
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews