Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars unfairly hated
Been mentioned how this is "one of the worst sitcoms ever" but I think thats a bit cruel. Yes, its not amazing, but its a gentle watch and good to see a reprised Blakey back at the helm with Pat Coombes. Its best viewed with the OTB set: On the Buses - The Complete Series [DVD] and the OTB Book: I 'Ate You Butler! - The Making of On the Buses: Behind the Scenes of...
Published on 1 Dec 2011 by Sammy Davis Jnr

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Blakey's retirement blues
The two Ronnies (Wolfe & Chesney) created one of the iconic 70's sitcoms in "On The Buses" which featured the equally iconic character - the grimacing & long-suffering Inspector Blake. On the face of it "Don't Drink The Water" (1974/5) sounds like an interesting spin-off idea, taking the Blakey character away from familiar surroundings and placing him within a completely...
Published 18 months ago by Colin Smith


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars unfairly hated, 1 Dec 2011
This review is from: Don't Drink The Water - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
Been mentioned how this is "one of the worst sitcoms ever" but I think thats a bit cruel. Yes, its not amazing, but its a gentle watch and good to see a reprised Blakey back at the helm with Pat Coombes. Its best viewed with the OTB set: On the Buses - The Complete Series [DVD] and the OTB Book: I 'Ate You Butler! - The Making of On the Buses: Behind the Scenes of Britain's Favourite Sitcom
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Don't drink the water, 24 Feb 2011
By 
Susanne Kontouris "papusch" (Germany) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Don't Drink The Water - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
Great fun for someone who likes that kind of English humour. I do and I think it was very well done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Blakey's retirement blues, 25 May 2013
By 
Colin Smith (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Don't Drink The Water - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
The two Ronnies (Wolfe & Chesney) created one of the iconic 70's sitcoms in "On The Buses" which featured the equally iconic character - the grimacing & long-suffering Inspector Blake. On the face of it "Don't Drink The Water" (1974/5) sounds like an interesting spin-off idea, taking the Blakey character away from familiar surroundings and placing him within a completely different environment.

So now Blakey decides to enjoy his retirement by starting a new life on the Spanish Costa Brava. Accompanied by his spinster sister, Dorothy (Pat Coombs) the pair take up residence in an apartment block. The scripts are not the worst I've ever seen but this is very mediocre fare. Setbound with no sparkling wit et al, just a procession of mildly amusing situations with repetitive scenes of the electricity on the blink, dodgy wiring, plumbing problems, a crummy elevator, along with the foreign cuisine culture-shock, the German neighbours. And the reptile-in-the-flat gag trotted out more than once - all very predictable & often slapstick entertainment.

It's not a disaster but there's very little substance to it all, although it does have it's moments. It's the type of silly comedy with a certain innocence that I get a little kick out of when in the right frame of mind. I found the performances to be OK - Blakey was Blakey, while Pat Coombs' Dorothy character was a gold-medal cert for the whinging Olympics - the rain, the heat, can't sleep etc. The continual whining was a bit of a trial to say the least, which in a way was partly my fault as I watched all 13 episodes spread over two successive evenings, which does tend to drive home the point. The supporting cast includes Derek Griffiths, while comedy stalwarts, Claire Davenport, Pat Ashton & Geoffrey Hughes also put in guest appearances.

The picture & sound quality is generally OK. There are no extras or subtitles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nostalgia at its best!!, 19 Jun 2013
By 
FAMOUS NAME (UNITED KINGDOM) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Don't Drink The Water - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
Oh I LOVED this series - it was so funny!

Pat Coombes was a great comedienne who was never off our screens for more than two decades, and the idea of teaming Pat with another great and talented comedy star in Stephen Lewis was sheer genius! This comedy filled a huge void left by the long running and very successful comedy `On The Buses' (see my review for that title) that had finished the previous year. Some people may have found it a bit hard going in places - mainly due to comparison, but I think perhaps its downfall was that there was a much more limited number of comedy situations that could be milked from around the scenario of having moved to live in Spain after perhaps the initial success of the first season - but it did go on for a second, and they are all included here in this great value release!

Highly recommend for those who love the nostalgia of great vintage TV!

NOTE: You will find many pleasant and familiar faces popping up in this TV gem!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars One for diehard on the buses fans only, 8 Nov 2010
This review is from: Don't Drink The Water - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
This is often lambasted as one of the worst sitcoms of all time....it's definitely not that. I can think of many worse.

What it is though is very generic mid-70s comedy. Blakey is as he was in on the buses (and there's lots of references to this), there's German neighbours (cue much "war time" hilarity), they don't like the "foreign" food etc.

Oddly enough if you understand British politics in the mid 70s, there's some actually quite humerous comments about this, especially to do with strikes/3 day week (although now very dated).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Don't Drink The Water - The Complete Series [DVD], 20 Feb 2011
By 
F. carpentier "tc" (belgium) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Don't Drink The Water - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
Nice dvd glad to see pat coombs preform,but I must say that On the buses was a Better series.I'm glad to have this dvd in my collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't Drink The Water-"Blakey", 13 Dec 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Don't Drink The Water - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
Just great comedy,Stephen Lewis at some of his best work and Pat coombs is perfect as his sister.You can't beat anything Stephen Lewis stars in Brilliant comedian.Blakey retires to spain and bought a condo Home sight unseen,typical Blakey the character is from On The Buses.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A real find, 25 May 2013
By 
Lee Peachair (Barnsley, South Yorks United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Don't Drink The Water - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
I love this show. yes it was made on a shoe-string budget and clearly they were never abroad in Spain, just in the one studio but somehow this show still conjures up the atmosphere of 70s package holidays to Spain and if you took one, or several. there will be lots of little jokes in here that will remind you of those jollys.

My favourite episode sees Inspector Blake, dating a money grabbing courier, whos tous operator has gone bust (court line? Intasun?) anyway she has no job and decides Blakey s ripe for the picking but it doesn't work out! some good performances. Its not high brow stuff but its passed on a few hours for me and I will return to it. One of those shows, where if your down, just watch it and it will cheer you up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't miss Don't Drink the Water, 16 Feb 2011
By 
Jacqueline Munro-smith "Jacquiems" (Melbourne, Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Don't Drink The Water - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
A fabulous slice of history of popular culture of Britain in the 1970's.
Stephen Lewis is a gem of British comedy acting and if you liked / loved On The Buses you'll love this.
Lots of exclaimations of "'ere" as in 'we can't put up with this' and we don't do that back home. Stephen Lewis' Blakey is true to character and the addition of his sister gives him someone to bounce off as he had with Stan et al.
A lovely series and I'm so glad they've put it on DVD.
'ere !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very funny sitcom, 2 Jan 2011
This review is from: Don't Drink The Water - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
I had watched the first episode of Don't Drink the Water which was on the special features of Series 7 on the buses. I really liked it and thought it was very funny, when it came out on DVD I bought it straight away and watched it in two days.Stephen Lewis as Blakey is an absolutely brilliant British actor.
This dvd is a definitely a 10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Don't Drink The Water - The Complete Series [DVD]
£7.90
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews