Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars47
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£11.20+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 January 2012
A superb production and very helpful. British viewers should note that the cast is American. It took me a while to switch off from the American accents!
11 comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2012
The Book of Acts attracted me by the very fact that the script / narration is as the NIV Bible is written and the chapters + verses are recorded at the bottom right hand corner. As a committed Christian on viewing the film it gave a visual picture of the way of life and the interaction between the saints. The choice of actors seems to have fitted the characters they played, giving a greater degree of realism. I'm pleased I bought all three as advertised by Amazon.
0Comment|19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2012
This film is on two discs and is absolutely wonderful every Christian should own this. It is a word for word translation based on the accounts from Luke and Paul simply moving. This is wonderfully refreshing to see Acts brought to life of how Christianity formed after the resurrection of our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ. God Bless the creators outstanding and informative this is simply superb!
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 December 2012
I bought this DVD because we already had the Gospel of John from the same producers, and had been impressed by it. The Book of Acts is, I suppose, more difficult to deal with as the balance between narration and spoken word is quite different. A large proportion of the events is described, with little dialogue, resulting in the "action" appearing more stilted. It came across as much more American, while the Gospel of John seemed to be directed at a more mid-Atlantic audience.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2011
Superb production, cast, whole package brilliant. The way it sticks to the NIV Bible verse by verse a joy to watch and so educational for an avid bible student. Captures a remarkable story perfectly.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2011
It is a very good informative film as per the scripture. It will be a bit of despair for those seeking the entertaining film. It is fantastic for your devotion and retreat if you are looking to inspire your spirit. No additives like other english biblical films and can be watched with all family members!
22 comments|22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2014
I was casting around for something to accompany a series of Bible studies on the Book of Acts and found this on the internet. It is an acted word for word NIV version of Acts in a variety of accents, predominantly American, which I thought might be slightly off-putting as we all know that Jesus and his disciples spoke medieval English! However, it actually works quite well and has proved popular with my classes. I know they were trying to be completely true to the text, but I think the inclusion of the phrases such as 'he said' make it slightly clunky. Also at one point where Peter and John are healing the paralysed man there is clearly a part of a microphone boom above their heads! These are, however, minor criticisms and I would thoroughly recommend the DVD.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 October 2014
Great to see it sticks to the Bible narrative. One or two extra events could have benefitted from being acted out rather than told in story form. Pity that the baptism of the eunoch was inaccurate in that it didn't portray full immersion into the water. However, great to follow as a daily Bible study - brings the events to life and more likely to remember them!
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2012
Love the way the story is told using the exact words of the NIV. However, I was VERY disappointed to see that in the story of Philip baptising the Ethiopian eunuch (Acts 8:36-38) the NIV text clearly said....then both Philip and the eunuch WENT DOWN into the water and Philip BAPTIZED him.
In the film Philip was seen SPRINKLING water on the eunuch......this IS NOT BAPTIZING!
55 comments|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2016
A religious DVD that does what it says on the tin, namely that it is faithful to the Bible account, bringing many incidents in the age of the Apostles to life. Acting is excellent; no-one falls short. Buy with confidence!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)