Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Revalation
The Book of Acts attracted me by the very fact that the script / narration is as the NIV Bible is written and the chapters + verses are recorded at the bottom right hand corner. As a committed Christian on viewing the film it gave a visual picture of the way of life and the interaction between the saints. The choice of actors seems to have fitted the characters they...
Published on 10 Mar. 2012 by Amazon Customer

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as the Gospel of John
I bought this DVD because we already had the Gospel of John from the same producers, and had been impressed by it. The Book of Acts is, I suppose, more difficult to deal with as the balance between narration and spoken word is quite different. A large proportion of the events is described, with little dialogue, resulting in the "action" appearing more stilted...
Published on 12 Dec. 2012 by Richard Crittall


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Revalation, 10 Mar. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Book Of Acts [DVD] (DVD)
The Book of Acts attracted me by the very fact that the script / narration is as the NIV Bible is written and the chapters + verses are recorded at the bottom right hand corner. As a committed Christian on viewing the film it gave a visual picture of the way of life and the interaction between the saints. The choice of actors seems to have fitted the characters they played, giving a greater degree of realism. I'm pleased I bought all three as advertised by Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best ever, absolutely true to the gospel word for word!, 3 Jan. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Book Of Acts [DVD] (DVD)
This film is on two discs and is absolutely wonderful every Christian should own this. It is a word for word translation based on the accounts from Luke and Paul simply moving. This is wonderfully refreshing to see Acts brought to life of how Christianity formed after the resurrection of our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ. God Bless the creators outstanding and informative this is simply superb!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 24 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Book Of Acts [DVD] (DVD)
It is a very good informative film as per the scripture. It will be a bit of despair for those seeking the entertaining film. It is fantastic for your devotion and retreat if you are looking to inspire your spirit. No additives like other english biblical films and can be watched with all family members!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars American accents!, 5 Jan. 2012
By 
Mr. T. J. Moyler (EXETER Devon UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Book Of Acts [DVD] (DVD)
A superb production and very helpful. British viewers should note that the cast is American. It took me a while to switch off from the American accents!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as the Gospel of John, 12 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Book Of Acts [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this DVD because we already had the Gospel of John from the same producers, and had been impressed by it. The Book of Acts is, I suppose, more difficult to deal with as the balance between narration and spoken word is quite different. A large proportion of the events is described, with little dialogue, resulting in the "action" appearing more stilted. It came across as much more American, while the Gospel of John seemed to be directed at a more mid-Atlantic audience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best of a superb series, 20 Nov. 2011
By 
M. C. Digby "Mark" (East Anglia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Book Of Acts [DVD] (DVD)
Superb production, cast, whole package brilliant. The way it sticks to the NIV Bible verse by verse a joy to watch and so educational for an avid bible student. Captures a remarkable story perfectly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great to see it sticks to the Bible narrative, 23 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Book Of Acts [DVD] (DVD)
Great to see it sticks to the Bible narrative. One or two extra events could have benefitted from being acted out rather than told in story form. Pity that the baptism of the eunoch was inaccurate in that it didn't portray full immersion into the water. However, great to follow as a daily Bible study - brings the events to life and more likely to remember them!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly good, 4 Mar. 2014
By 
Peter Mercer (Lisburn, N. Ireland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Book Of Acts [DVD] (DVD)
I was casting around for something to accompany a series of Bible studies on the Book of Acts and found this on the internet. It is an acted word for word NIV version of Acts in a variety of accents, predominantly American, which I thought might be slightly off-putting as we all know that Jesus and his disciples spoke medieval English! However, it actually works quite well and has proved popular with my classes. I know they were trying to be completely true to the text, but I think the inclusion of the phrases such as 'he said' make it slightly clunky. Also at one point where Peter and John are healing the paralysed man there is clearly a part of a microphone boom above their heads! These are, however, minor criticisms and I would thoroughly recommend the DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Book of Acts (DVD), 5 Jun. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Book Of Acts [DVD] (DVD)
Love the way the story is told using the exact words of the NIV. However, I was VERY disappointed to see that in the story of Philip baptising the Ethiopian eunuch (Acts 8:36-38) the NIV text clearly said....then both Philip and the eunuch WENT DOWN into the water and Philip BAPTIZED him.
In the film Philip was seen SPRINKLING water on the eunuch......this IS NOT BAPTIZING!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars it was interesting, 23 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Book Of Acts [DVD] (DVD)
Although not like a movie for entertainment, it is still very interesting to watch. Seeing and hearing the book of Acts for the first time brought it more to my attention in a different light. Still a recommended see for those not bothered about a usual run of the mill movie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Book Of Acts [DVD]
The Book Of Acts [DVD] by Regardt van den Bergh (DVD - 2010)
£14.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews