Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Foreigners in a foreign land
White Material is vague,obtuse,brooding,inexplicable,lacking psychological detail or narrative structure or plotting dynamic.Entering into a dreamworld of image and sound impressions, we read from the characters and pick up from the landscape the clues we need from the montage of concrete impression and abstract manouever.From the opening running dogs caught in the...
Published on 19 Jan 2011 by technoguy

versus
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not for sensitive souls
I must say I was the only one at home who liked it depsite it's long silences, it's lack of subtelty, it's lack of logic or explanations too. But it must be said that this is a 15 plus film, killing is shown with no adrenaline to justify it and it is gory. The female character lacks inner logic, she is blind to all around her and her reaction at the end I still don't...
Published on 7 Nov 2011 by Alixlune


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Foreigners in a foreign land, 19 Jan 2011
By 
technoguy "jack" (Rugby) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: White Material [DVD] (DVD)
White Material is vague,obtuse,brooding,inexplicable,lacking psychological detail or narrative structure or plotting dynamic.Entering into a dreamworld of image and sound impressions, we read from the characters and pick up from the landscape the clues we need from the montage of concrete impression and abstract manouever.From the opening running dogs caught in the headlights to the dead body of the rebel leader caught in the torchlight we enter the oneiric door of a disturbing realm.We are in a perpetual present,both timeless and modern,in an unnamed African Francophone country.Isabel Huppert(Maria) runs a coffee plantation for her family,ex-husband, father-in-law,son.Stubbornly, blindly wanting to harvest and process the coffee beans, in the face of civil war,despite the fact her farmworkers are fleeing for their own survival,that her son is bone-idle,her ex-husband(Lambert) wants to leave,her father-in-law just wanders around,not wishing to leave.Things are left unsaid,or we pick up from two native speakers or a rebel DJ that the party is over for white people:"no more drinking cocktails on the verandah". Their farms and possessions are `white material',superficial to the needs of the African people, in the escalating civil war between government militia and wandering child soldiers and rebel gunmen.

Unfolding in flash-backs as Maria scrambles to make her way back home on the back of a bus.Huppert plays her part with steely magnificence and physical perseverence. Maria is determined to stay and with the help of local villagers, carries on alone to manage the harvest,in an attempt to bring the coffee to market.The dehumanising force of violence sweeps everybody up in its psychotic force,especially the troubled Manuel(Duvauchelle),Maria's son.At the centre of the maelstrom is the brooding figure of Boxer(De Bankole),who is wounded,on the run,bleeding away into legend.He's the rebel leader.Hiding out on Maria's farm.This is a journey into the heart of darkness,in a vision of African-set apocalypse.Raw, unfocused,with no coherence,but a fluid logic of consciousness as it experiences collapse and chaos.We experience a world with pitiless intensity: "how being white in Africa gives you a special status, almost a kind of magical aura. It protects you from misery and starvation. But although it can protect you, it is dangerous too. This is what Maria has to learn. The danger for Maria is that she thinks she belongs in Africa because she is close to the land and the people. She cannot return to France because she thinks that it will weaken her. But she learns that she doesn't belong in Africa as much as she thinks. For many white people in Africa this is the reality(Denis)."The sound track by Tindersticks is mesmerizing.The film captures the white colonialists' guilt and bad faith,but also their passionate longing to stay as they are caught in the middle of an African civil war.The rhythm of the film strikes you and the blistering,dry,dusty yet beautiful landscape.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Even Darker than Chocolat., 14 Dec 2010
By 
Bob Salter "Captain Spindrift" (Wiltshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: White Material [DVD] (DVD)
It was great to catch another film by the talented French director Clair Denis, and starring the very gifted Isabelle Huppert. Her stunning first film "Chocolat" made in 1988, which I have also watched recently, was a revelation that enticed me into watching her bewitching portrayal of life in the Foreign Legion "Beau Travail". Whilst I personally don't believe that it quite achieves the skilfully constructed nuances of these films, it is a very compelling film never the less. Clair Denis goes back to a subject that she understands so well, and explored to such powerful effect in "Chocolat", the white mans alienation in Africa. Brought up in colonial Africa she understands what it is to be a "Stranger in a Strange Land". The first reviewer is correct to draw comparisons with Conrad's "Heart of Darkness". Denis's Africa is the same white mans graveyard that Conrad so graphically wrote about, although interestingly Denis has based her film loosely on nobel prize winning author Doris Lessing's book "The Grass is singing".

The story concerns a white coffee growing family caught up in a stereo typical Central African civil war, of boy soldiers and arbitrary killings, where life is getting cheaper by the minute. The country might be Rwanda or Sierra Leone. It is clearly filmed in the same area as "Chocolat", which I believe was Cameroon, an old French colony. Most of the whites, sensibly seeing the writing on the wall, have left the country, but this family headed by family patriarch Michel Subor and supported by his daughter in law Isabelle huppert stubbornly ignore the possible fatal consequences of staying. This is certainly not so far fetched as it seems. Many whites stayed on in the Belgian Congo long after after their situation had become untenable. Michel Subor provides a monolithic Brando like presence, who gives us a very "Apocalypse Now" moment towards the end of the film. Old Lord Greystoke himself Christophe Lambert, is actually very good as Subor's realist son. Both he and father are Africa born and bred, but still sadly have no place in the new order. Huppert is superb as Lambert's wife who steadfastly refuses to face facts, when her world is crumbling all about her. Isaach De Bankole, whom Denis used to such good effect in "Chocolat", does not get enough screen time to make a real impact as a revolutionary icon.

The films treatment of building tension is expertly handled, using imaginative film angles to aid in cranking this up. Violence is amply conveyed, without having to resort to the usual gouts of blood so beloved by film makers. The film to quote Herman Melville has " A polar wind that blows through it and birds of prey that hover over it". The clammy sense of foreboding is all consuming. This certainly isn't the same dark continent recalled in "Out of Africa" and "Hatari". It is thought provoking and disturbing. Clair Denis makes it clear that the white man is merely a tourist in Africa, and those heady inglorious colonial days when the likes of Cecil Rhodes cut a swathe across Africa, are now but a crumbling memory. With the ongoing situation in Zimbabwe, the film is very much relevant for today, and no doubt tomorrow. I like Clair Denis, she is a damn good film maker. I don't suppose she would be too concerned if the renowned Bob Salter, (Captain Spindrift) didn't like her. But I do, so there! An excellent film that is well worth a watch. A good book to read concerning Africa's colonial past is "King Leopold's Ghost", which I found very illuminating. The films extras contain interesting interviews with Denis and Lambert.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not for sensitive souls, 7 Nov 2011
This review is from: White Material [DVD] (DVD)
I must say I was the only one at home who liked it depsite it's long silences, it's lack of subtelty, it's lack of logic or explanations too. But it must be said that this is a 15 plus film, killing is shown with no adrenaline to justify it and it is gory. The female character lacks inner logic, she is blind to all around her and her reaction at the end I still don't understand. The images stay with you and hurt.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars White Material, 18 Dec 2011
By 
Mr. Gary M. Stocker "G of Warwickshire" (Radford Semele, Warks, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: White Material [DVD] (DVD)
Set in a former French colony where a French peace keeping force is withdrawing from and there is a serious insurgency happening. However the owner of a coffee bean farm is refusing to leave and is determined to get the harvest in. Despite the fact that she gets no help from her son, people are reluctant to work there and there are insurgents nearby.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Compelling material, 5 Jan 2011
By 
Viviana Fernandez (Santiago, Chile) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: White Material [DVD] (DVD)
I had read many positive reviews of this movie. In addition, I am a great fan of Isabelle Huppert's work, so I looked forward to watching this movie. I particularly liked Claire Denis' non-chronological storyline. It's hard to tell whether this I. Huppert's most brilliant performance ever, but I. Huppert always gives outstanding performances.

From the DVD, I learned that the genesis of this movie came from I. Huppert's idea of making D. Lessing's "The grass is singing" into a movie. (C. Denis found it complicated to film and came up with the script of "White material").
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars "The Horror! The Horror!", 21 Sep 2012
This review is from: White Material [DVD] (DVD)
The film's title suggests it has something to say about race. Anyone who has seen 'Chocolat' might expect the topic to be handled by the director with power, insight and through fully formed characters. However this film seemed to me to be the other's antithesis. "Chocolat" tried to show every facet of Colonial exploitation of Cameroun and African's sophisticated resistance to it. Here a nameless Black African state is depicted essentially as the epitome of White settlers' fears.

The barbarity of the final scenes is as shocking as the barbarity of the thinking behind them. The implication is that the anti-heroine and her son have (a little like Kurtz in Conrad's novel 'Heart of Darkness') become as 'savage' as 'the Africans'. Can the charge of racism be avoided by showing that within all 'White Europeans' is an 'African Savage' waiting to escape? Denis may think she is shockingly undermining stereotypes but for me the entire film only reinforces them.

There is exceptionally good cinematography and direction(which creates the film's incredible sense of brooding violence and scenes of it's horrific realisation). The film contains some of the most shocking violence I've seen - shocking for it's quiet realism. Yet it is all built on a more broadly unrealistic and banal depiction of 'Africa', that it only works if you aren't offended by it. For me it was an inescapable conceptual flaw in what, set elsewhere and with an equal treatment of all characters, could have been an amazing film.

Here though the White characters motivations for violence are suggested and we are encouraged to empathise (if not sympathise) with their situation while the rebels are just a violent one-dimensional threat. This film maybe intentionally portrays an Africa only valid as a backdrop for 'White (only) Material'. It's plot is a tragedy in the classical sense but the lack of consideration that Black people, people who challenge racial discrimination and stereotyping or even(?!) African's might watch this film, is just tragic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Uncertainty in Africa, 9 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: White Material [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This film's strength lies in it's accurate depiction of what it's like to be in an African country on the verge of its descent into anarchy. An excellent cast and tight direction keep you involved in the tale as it unfolds. The blu ray disc this reviewer used presented the location with amazing clarity. This is not for those who want a Walt Disney finale in their films, however for those who want a gritty portayal of what it's like to be in the wrong place at the wrong time it is a film to add to your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Good Idea - Disjointed Story Telling, 7 July 2013
By 
Scots Lass (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: White Material [DVD] (DVD)
Somewhere in White Material there is a good, edge of seat drama waiting to get out. The problem for me was that we join the action in the middle and are then told the events leading up to that point in a series of flashbacks which are confusing at best and impossible to follow at worst. The story of a French woman determined to bring in her coffee harvest despite the wide scale chaos of a rebel uprising in the surrounding area is a good one, but the leading lady seems impossibly disconnected from the very real danger she and her workers are facing. Could anyone be so nave? She repeatedly has guns pointed at her but still continues to do the mundane - go to the bank, visit the chemist, collect her workers. Surely she would be battening down the hatches or accepting the offer of a flight out of the area for her and her teenage son and husband?

The son has a complete meltdown, shaves his head and throws his lot in with the rebels. His leap from lazy lie abed teen to shaven headed thug is so quick that it is hard to believe - we needed to know more about his basic character (he is apparently not 'fully baked' according to the local Mayor and family friend) for this transformation to be acceptable.

There are points during the film where the only way I could tell whether I was watching present day action or a flashback was by the dress worn by the central character. The film has an excellent idea - the child soldiers, orphans swept up by manipulative and charismatic rebel leaders are chilling in their gun carrying innocence (they rob a farm house, carrying guns as big as themselves, but when surprised, they run away, holding hands like the 8 year olds they are) and the whole white people making money in poor former Colonies is an excellent one for a drama.

Sadly, the script for this was just too difficult to follow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic performance from Isabelle Huppert, 17 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: White Material [DVD] (DVD)
An un-named country in Africa, a plantation owner refuses to leave her business and livelihood despite growing tension and violence in a period of civil war. Nail biting - and highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hard edged film from one of the best directors around, 11 Jan 2013
By 
L. Astbury "Minksie" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: White Material [DVD] (DVD)
Stunning film on all levels, Isabelle Huppert is just mesmerising to watch as she doggedly tries to carry on as normal in the face of the mounting signs of frightening and inevitable changes taking place.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

White Material [DVD]
White Material [DVD] by Claire Denis (DVD - 2010)
7.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews