Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Surfers Locker
A must see film for anybody interested in Big-wave and professional surfing.

The incredible events and fundamental paradigm shift of the sport that unfolded in 1974, on Hawaii's North Shore, are captured in this amazing and gritty documentary. The young Australian rabble rousers in the form Ian Cairns, Wayne "Rabbit" Bartholomew, Peter Townend, Mark Richards,...
Published on 5 Jun 2010 by P. Purdie

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars It was hard...
I used to surf and liked "Riding Giants" a lot - I thought that was a pretty decent documentary, with some awesome footage. The reason I bother to write a short review here is because I just think the current 5-star rating of "Bustin'Down" is a bit misleading. Although the story (of how these surfers started) is fairly engaging, the documentary is not very well made. You...
Published on 24 Jun 2011 by Blik Snyman


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Surfers Locker, 5 Jun 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A must see film for anybody interested in Big-wave and professional surfing.

The incredible events and fundamental paradigm shift of the sport that unfolded in 1974, on Hawaii's North Shore, are captured in this amazing and gritty documentary. The young Australian rabble rousers in the form Ian Cairns, Wayne "Rabbit" Bartholomew, Peter Townend, Mark Richards, and one South African, Shaun Tomson, all tell their very personal and emotional stories of the dream to become Pro-Surfers.

Their (literally) do or die attitudes to surfing the colossal waves, and brazen attack on the Hawaiin surfing establishment and cultural traditions, proved too much for the Islanders and even for the immense spirit of Aloha.

With the formation of the notorious Da Hui and the Black Shorts, the islanders begin a vicious fight-back that leaves the Antipodeans in no doubt that `Bustin down the door' could cost them their lives.

From an extremely comprehensive cast of witnesses made up of surfers and industry stalwarts such as David Gilovich, Dan Merkel, Jeff Hakman, Greg Noll, Eddie Rothman, Barry Kanaiaupuni, Bob McKnight, Phil Jarrat and interviews with modern icons; Kelly Slater, Rob Machado and Andy Irons, the story and background of the monumental developing events and the consequences of those changes are eloquently related.

But, by far the most riveting and emotional pieces to camera are those given by the legends themselves, especially Rabbit Bertholomew, Ian Cairns and Shaun Tomson - interviews that are truly honest (even brutally so) and poignant, with insights into their early careers and how they started surfing in the first place.

The final segment of footage provides an excellent finale to the story, one that shows the now middle-aged Mark Richards, "Rabbit" Bartholomew and Shaun Tomson in a session together, ripping up the surf and looking as stoked as they were when they were young, brazen and Bustin' down the door!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars It was hard..., 24 Jun 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I used to surf and liked "Riding Giants" a lot - I thought that was a pretty decent documentary, with some awesome footage. The reason I bother to write a short review here is because I just think the current 5-star rating of "Bustin'Down" is a bit misleading. Although the story (of how these surfers started) is fairly engaging, the documentary is not very well made. You have a lot of repeat footage of surfing, incoherent (to the story) footage of surfing (it's just stuck in 'cause it's, like, cool, man!) and certain issues are just drawn out - if you let me edit this movie, I'll make it a cracker (but it will only be 55 minutes long). And for God's sake, why does Shaun Thompson start crying in the end? I mean, if he had a reason I could still digest this, but you leave the movie thinking "warra' wimp!" It's like watching Oprah - "We had some hard times..." and he starts crying! I thought he was a hero who surfed Waimea! Anyway, it's maybe a good thing to see that - what NOT TO DO when you get interviewed one day...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bustin down the door, 2 May 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the best surf movie I have ever seen. In fact it is one of the best films I have ever seen. Brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magnificent men on their flyin boards, 7 Nov 2009
By 
N. Dakin - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is an amazing account of how the Hawaii wild west surf scene was busted open ! The Australian guys who took on the scene and won and how thrilling the story is ! Great footage, stills and an amazing story thrown in. Well worth watching and leaves me in awe of what the guys had to do and how far they went in order to succeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awe Inspiring. Simply Brilliant..., 8 Jan 2012
By 
This review is from: Bustin' Down The Door [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
For anyone interested in the roots of modern professional surfing this motion picture is a must have!

Largely focused on the "Free Ride" generation of the early '70s, Bustin' Down the Door reveals the true stories behind the uprising of some of the most influential surfers to have graced the water.

Narrated by Edward Norton and featuring intimate interviews with Shaun Tomson, Rabbit Bartholomew, Mark Richards(MR), Ian Cairns, Peter Townend and Mark Warren, talking of the infamous waves along Oahu's legendary North Shore which they rode with a style, aggression, and raw courage unseen prior to their arrival. Collectively, these surfers changed the face of surfing and were the first to really apply themselves as serious professional surfers.

Packed with beautifully shot footage of these masters at work it tells the truly inspirational tale of how they moved over from Australia and South Africa to pioneer a sport that, at the time, was only seen as a past time for "beach bums".
However, this is no surfing fairytale! Enduring incredibly hard times, from confrontations with Da Hui (a group of "locals" in Hawaii dedicated to promoting respect and equality in the lineup) to having contracts put out on their lives, this is a testament to how far these young men were willing to go to make surfing what it is today!

10 out of 10! If you're a surf bum, you've gotta watch it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Next Riding Giants, 8 Feb 2011
This film continues what Riding Giants started - covering the 80s and concentrating on 3 surf heros - compelling viewing for surf enthusiasts - more ego and less integrity from the surfers - a sign of the times I guess. We watched RG and BDD back to back - great viewing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing story of the most interesting time of surfing, 3 Jan 2011
By 
S. Wilkinson (North Devon) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
At the age of 42, I'm not of the Free Ride generation but the film (and that era) has been my favourite surf film of all time.

This film is a great documentary of the most progressive era in surfing and if you don't buy it, you must be mad!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars very good film, 9 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bustin' Down The Door [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
It surprised me how good this surfing documentary is. Really good surf story. I would thoroughly recommend it to all
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars For surfing people only., 19 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bustin' Down The Door [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
This is enjoyable but needs to be seen in two or three parts as it tends to be boring at times, unless you are a very keen surfer. It is very good value though and certainly one to watch again in small doses.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great surf DVD.!, 22 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bustin' Down The Door [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
A very well documented story about the pivotal turning point in surfings history. Highly recommended, a great watch for a great price
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bustin' Down The Door [DVD] [2008]
Bustin' Down The Door [DVD] [2008] by Jeremy Gosch (DVD - 2010)
4.89
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews