Customer Reviews


47 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most hillarious of all the creatures found under bridges.
The box set of Bill Bailey is the best and most economical way to experience this mindblowing barrage of humour, wether it be whimsical, satirical, political, tecnical or my personal favorate, just daft!
Bill produces something rare in that he can put on a show in Wembley, yet give it a feeling of intamacy, as if he was just playing up to a few friends in a pub. His...
Published on 2 Mar 2009 by outanet

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Brilliantly funny, but a few repeats.
I love Bill Bailey, but this DVD just felt so awkward. I saw Part Troll before I saw this one, and they both had a lot of the same material - a real shame. Still, it was very funny, and Bill Bailey is one of those annoying people who possess many different talents, and music and humour are two of his.
I recommend this DVD, but be prepared for half of the DVD being...
Published 4 months ago by A Blackbird's Epiphany


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most hillarious of all the creatures found under bridges., 2 Mar 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The box set of Bill Bailey is the best and most economical way to experience this mindblowing barrage of humour, wether it be whimsical, satirical, political, tecnical or my personal favorate, just daft!
Bill produces something rare in that he can put on a show in Wembley, yet give it a feeling of intamacy, as if he was just playing up to a few friends in a pub. His technical prowes with both music and visuals is impressive and often educational at the same time - time which passes all too quickly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The bearded king of stand up comedy! Hysterical!, 2 Aug 2004
Hidden behind many other stand up DVD's such as Peter Kay and Ricky Gervais, Bewilderment is severely, criminally underated as you rarely see it where it should be, on a shelf. This is ridiculous, because Bill Bailey is the best comedian out there, so whatever you do don't miss this superb serfusion of comedy and music, because it is the BEST stand up DVD you'll ever see. I brought this disc because I had seen Bailey in the brilliant sitcom Black Books, and I thought that his stand up may raise a few grins. Did it? My family and I were laughing so much, with such regularity: Bill Bailey was born to make you split with laughter. His observations on The Magic Roundabout, Sirens, Countdown/Eastenders and Wales are incredibly funny and spot on. His musical talent works excellently also because it gives the show a more different, glossy look abd proves that it has something extra than you ordinary stand up DVD. For, yes, this stand up show is certainly different in comparison to many others on the market, a) it's better and funnier b) It's cleverer, more dark and surreal c) the especially written songs are inspiring. I can't wait for his new one that comes out in November. Buy it, laugh and then buy another one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A truly great modern comedian, 20 Aug 2002
By 
How to sum up Bill Bailey? It's difficult. He's bizzare, observational, musical, but most of all, hilarious! An accomplished keyboard and guitar player, not to mention the medly of 80's hits he can bash out of his kazoo, he will have you in stitchs with his rambling jokes and spot on spoofs of well known singers. Once you've heard him sing I've got a brand new combine harvester in the style of Chris De Burgh, you'll never be the same again! His pub gag in the style of Geoffrey Chauser proves what a sharp mind he has, and shows how brilliant he is as turning ordinary things into complete and utter nonsence! A lot of people will be familier with him through his apperance in the equally brilliant Black Books; if your a fan of that then I recommend this, you'll love it! The DVD itself has a number of special features such as an interactive shed game, and a daft interview. You can also go directly to your favourite gag or song with the selection menu. It would have been nice to see some of his earlier material here, like his cockney intros worked into classical music, but fair play to him, this is new material and it's brilliant! Buy this and it'll make your life worthwhile, and remember, we're all slaves to an insect nation!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for anyone, 10 Feb 2004
I have shown this dvd to just about everyone, and yes..noone could keep in the laughter!not even my gran! This is a brilliant live show and the best bit about Bill Bailey is that there are no links through his show, he is completely random. So you could make a cup of tea halfway through it (although I doubt it, you'd be hooked to that dvd),come back and not have felt like you've missed a few jokes that may re-accurr through the second half. He is fantastic and completely under-rated. He has a wonderful talent with musical instruments, so why not include them with comedy! His hilarious mixes and 'mickey-takes' of theme tunes and sirens in differnt countries should be seen or just heard by anyone. After seeing this live show you'll deffinately be wanting more of Bill Bailey.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hail the bearded one, 20 Dec 2002
Bill Bailey returns to stand up on top form sharing his bizarre world view on sirens, national dishes, belgian jazz and medieval porn flicks. Much of the material is taken from his BBC2 show 'Is it Bailey?' which is a good thing as this show has neither had a well deserved DVD release or re-run as far as I am aware. A particular high point of his show is the Chaucer parody about a drunken night out.
If you loved Bill in Spaced, Black Books, and Never Mind the Buzzcocks, this DVD will not disappoint. The extras, including an interactive shed game. and documentaries are also above par for most stand up releases.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, fantastic, what else can I say, whup whey, 4 Jun 2003
This is absolutely one of the most funny things I have ever seen, I have showed it to as many people as I have had opportunity to and they have ALL loved it. He approaches comedy from a number of different angles, implementing music also. There is something for almost everyone, satire, irony, slapstick and mockery all roled into one wonderful concoction with a beard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Duckarse - Brilliant to the very end, 28 Feb 2002
By A Customer
Bill Bailey is a master of comedy....he is a cross between the humurous style of Eddie Izzard and the outragiousness of Harry Hill.
His songs are insanley funny and his jokes are fantastic.
Plus anyone who can get an audience in stiches whilst joking about their country is a genius.
P.S. I appologise for the bad spelling
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The guy is a genius!, 23 Dec 2001
I went to see him in London and laughed so much I could hardly speak the next day - Bill Bailey is a genius! OK, so it's far better to see him live but the DVD is more than enough to wear off the worst of any mid-winter blues - laugh, laugh and laugh again - it's true therapy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ultimate Bill Bailey collection, 11 Feb 2009
By 
I. Urquhart (Northampton, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
What can I say the man is a Genius!

Bill is excellent at stand up (though you do see the same jokes popping up in the later shows) but where he excels is in his ability to mould and apply music to his act using all sorts of crazy instruments.

The original shows are better, bit more raw (as with most things) but the later shows are still very good.

I bought this as a gift to my brother as I have owned "Bewilderness" and "Cosmic Jam" for years now and it's never lost its edge.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome., 19 April 2009
There's not much to say other than there was much thigh-slapping and tea-rolling-down-quaking-chins in my house when we watched these. Bill Bailey is, quite simply, a genius. Definitely recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bill Bailey - Rule of Three [DVD]
£12.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews