Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Excellent, Complex Quality Gin
When I first tasted Williams Chase Single Estate Gin, it was described to me as 'possibly the most complex gin in the world', and it certainly lives up to that description. It's easily the best gin I've ever had, although it's worth noting that it is somewhat stronger than many mainstream gins, with a 48% Vol. Sometimes a high alcohol content can be a drawback, and work...
Published on 29 Jan 2012 by A. Foxley

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Not for everyone
One thing I love about gin is how everyone has different tastes.

For me, I'm afraid the Williams Elegant just isn't at all pleasant. Rather than gin, it tastes more to me like an apple Vodka (Which I appreciate it is distilled from).

If you like your Gins to have a more classic Juniper hit, or even a Citrus edge, this is very different the apple is...
Published 4 months ago by Mr. D. J. Cox


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Excellent, Complex Quality Gin, 29 Jan 2012
By 
A. Foxley (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Williams Elegant Gin 70 cl (Grocery)
When I first tasted Williams Chase Single Estate Gin, it was described to me as 'possibly the most complex gin in the world', and it certainly lives up to that description. It's easily the best gin I've ever had, although it's worth noting that it is somewhat stronger than many mainstream gins, with a 48% Vol. Sometimes a high alcohol content can be a drawback, and work against the overall taste, but it's not a problem here at all. Coupled with a quality tonic (I'd recommend Fever Tree) and mixed properly, it makes for an excellent drink. The price is considerably higher than you'd pay for more mainstream gins, but the premium price is very much reflected in the quality.

It's worth mentioning that Williams Chase Gin isn't easy to come by in the shops, unless you happen to live near a very extensive specialist drinks retailer, or a top-end retailer such as Fortnum & Mason or Selfridges, buying it online is probably the easiest way of getting hold of a bottle for a reasonable price. I bought through Just Miniatures, and the bottle arrived quickly and extremely well packed to ensure it remained pristine throughout transit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great flavour., 20 Aug 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Williams Elegant Gin 70 cl (Grocery)
This gin has a brilliant flavour and comes in a superb bottle that will be great with dried grasses etc.

It has a slightly different flavour from other gins (my second favourite is Bombay Saphire) so is quite distinctive. I have it with a slice of apple rather lemon which works well. Quite pricey but worth the money as a special treat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous gin, 25 Nov 2013
This review is from: Williams Elegant Gin 70 cl (Grocery)
Seemed recklessly expensive when we first bought this but now no other gin seems worth drinking. It is in a league of its own - really fabulous. Complex, wonderful flavour that makes all the main brands taste chemical and brash. Totally recommended, despite the considerable cost.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars British produced gin, 17 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Williams Elegant Gin 70 cl (Grocery)
If there's no Chase Seville Orange Gin to drink the Chase Elegant has to be 2nd choice - - -
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Not for everyone, 3 Mar 2014
By 
This review is from: Williams Elegant Gin 70 cl (Grocery)
One thing I love about gin is how everyone has different tastes.

For me, I'm afraid the Williams Elegant just isn't at all pleasant. Rather than gin, it tastes more to me like an apple Vodka (Which I appreciate it is distilled from).

If you like your Gins to have a more classic Juniper hit, or even a Citrus edge, this is very different the apple is forward and the alcohol is quite strong. I tend to find it has a strange aftertaste as well. Disappointed, but pleased other people like it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best gin on the market, 28 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Williams Elegant Gin 70 cl (Grocery)
This is the best gin there is, subtle spices. Good on it's own on the rocks. Not bad price too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Williams Elegant Gin 70 cl
Williams Elegant Gin 70 cl by Williams Elegant Gin 70cl
38.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews