Customer Reviews


52 Reviews
5 star:
 (41)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terry Pratchett - great in three dimensions...
This set of three videos, originally on Sky TV, is a valuable addition to the Pratchett canon for those of us who enjoy all his books.

Clever casting, great effects, and faithfulness to the story lines make this a long lasting memento of a good writer.

His introductions to the videos give a clear insight into him as a person, and, knowing that he...
Published on 25 Nov 2010 by Fran

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Subtitles.
I am delighted with this DVD set. It arrived quickly and was properly packed, and as I am a great lover of all of Terry Pratchetts works, couldn't wait to sit down with that glass of wine to enjoy them in peace. Watched the first two discs (Hogfather and Colour Of Magic) and enjoyed them immensely. Let's stop here, as I need to explain that I'm one of the millions of deaf...
Published 2 months ago by Mrs. B.


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terry Pratchett - great in three dimensions..., 25 Nov 2010
This review is from: The Terry Pratchett Collection (Hogfather, Colour of Magic, Going Postal) [DVD] (DVD)
This set of three videos, originally on Sky TV, is a valuable addition to the Pratchett canon for those of us who enjoy all his books.

Clever casting, great effects, and faithfulness to the story lines make this a long lasting memento of a good writer.

His introductions to the videos give a clear insight into him as a person, and, knowing that he will not be able to write so interestingly (Iris Murdoch, who had the same health problems, lost a lot of her vocabulary in later books) makes it a bitter-sweet memento.

I would certainly recommend this set of videos to all Pratchett fans, and to anyone interested in intelligent fantasy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terry pratchett dvd set, 9 Dec 2010
This review is from: The Terry Pratchett Collection (Hogfather, Colour of Magic, Going Postal) [DVD] (DVD)
Good product. It's in a nicely presentented box. The dvd's are excelent quality. The films themselves were very well done and accurate to the books. Would highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terry Pratchett-genious!, 29 Dec 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Terry Pratchett Collection (Hogfather, Colour of Magic, Going Postal) [DVD] (DVD)
An excellent box set for all Pratchett fans. Hours of quality entertainment that makes turning on the TV worth the effort as it is infinately superior in content than what is on the box normally. A must buy for those who love the Dicsworld series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 26 Jun 2011
By 
Mole "Mole" (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Terry Pratchett Collection (Hogfather, Colour of Magic, Going Postal) [DVD] (DVD)
I've been a fan of Terry Pratchett's books for the last couple of decades. When I heard that they were to be turned into films, I was in turn worried and delighted. Worried that the atmosphere of the books couldn't be recreated so we would see a meaningless series of scenes, but once I had seen the films, delighted that they had managed to achieve a superb visualisation of the stories.

The locations and sets are beautifully crafted and do an excellent job of creating the environments of the Discworld. The actors playing the various characters do a superb job of portrayal, and I found them all very believable. They have had to modify the stories slightly to make the films, but this has been done in a way that doesn't detract from the main plot; and I don't feel that anything is lost by it.

In all, a great collection of the current films; I do hope that they will consider doing more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Get the popcorn and beer out and enjoy, 25 Mar 2011
By 
C Crawley (Midlands, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Terry Pratchett Collection (Hogfather, Colour of Magic, Going Postal) [DVD] (DVD)
Not quite spectacular but very good; perfect for a dull winters evening or perhaps a sick day from work/school. Close the curtains, snuggle under the duvet and what all 3. Some excellent character actors in here and imaginative sets, with some good old fashioned goodies and baddies fun. Very easy watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Almost as good as the books!, 21 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Terry Pratchett Collection (Hogfather, Colour of Magic, Going Postal) [DVD] (DVD)
As a huge TP fan, I did get to see a couple of these when they were on tv (shh, a friend recorded them for me!) but to actually own them - Whoo hoo!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Fun!, 9 Feb 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Terry Pratchett Collection (Hogfather, Colour of Magic, Going Postal) [DVD] (DVD)
These may not exactly meet your personal vision of Discworld, but they do a pretty good job - I could forgive the occasional divergence from my own mental picture! Kept me well-entertained for hours, can't fault it (unless I really nit-pick, and it doesn't deserve that).

Terrific production values, so obviously directed by an enthusiast who really "gets" Discworld, such great value - don't faf about, just buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great, 28 Dec 2010
This review is from: The Terry Pratchett Collection (Hogfather, Colour of Magic, Going Postal) [DVD] (DVD)
This Dvd was great i know some have been repeated on TV but you can watch at your own lesiure. Well crafted, well written well worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terry Pratchett King of Discworld, 11 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Terry Pratchett Collection (Hogfather, Colour of Magic, Going Postal) [DVD] (DVD)
If you have never read Terry Pratchett's Dicworld series of books and prefer videos then you are in for a treat.
Funny, wyrd, magikal, strange, tongue in cheek and a great satirical authour using modern day idaes and philosophies and making them work in a world that is barely out of the middle ages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DVD, 10 Sep 2013
By 
Mrs. M. P. Green "cake baker" (ware, hertfordshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Terry Pratchett Collection (Hogfather, Colour of Magic, Going Postal) [DVD] (DVD)
Great DVDs - just as i imagined. Great fan of Terry Pratchet books - and these dvds do not dissappoint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews