Customer Reviews


88 Reviews
5 star:
 (72)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terry Pratchett - great in three dimensions...
This set of three videos, originally on Sky TV, is a valuable addition to the Pratchett canon for those of us who enjoy all his books.

Clever casting, great effects, and faithfulness to the story lines make this a long lasting memento of a good writer.

His introductions to the videos give a clear insight into him as a person, and, knowing that he...
Published on 25 Nov. 2010 by Fran

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars dont listen to 'box set' reviews
Dont know why people are saying it comes in a nicely presented box ect thats why I bought it as I was expecting a real box set thanks to the reveiws whereas its just one dvd case with 3 dvds in very dissatisfied with that for the price dont listen to other reviews its not a box set like you think.. Not present quality and with no time for returns at Christmas it will have...
Published 4 months ago by charlotte taylor-dugdale


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terry Pratchett - great in three dimensions..., 25 Nov. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Terry Pratchett Collection (Hogfather, Colour of Magic, Going Postal) [DVD] (DVD)
This set of three videos, originally on Sky TV, is a valuable addition to the Pratchett canon for those of us who enjoy all his books.

Clever casting, great effects, and faithfulness to the story lines make this a long lasting memento of a good writer.

His introductions to the videos give a clear insight into him as a person, and, knowing that he will not be able to write so interestingly (Iris Murdoch, who had the same health problems, lost a lot of her vocabulary in later books) makes it a bitter-sweet memento.

I would certainly recommend this set of videos to all Pratchett fans, and to anyone interested in intelligent fantasy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terry pratchett dvd set, 9 Dec. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Terry Pratchett Collection (Hogfather, Colour of Magic, Going Postal) [DVD] (DVD)
Good product. It's in a nicely presentented box. The dvd's are excelent quality. The films themselves were very well done and accurate to the books. Would highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terry Pratchett-genious!, 29 Dec. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Terry Pratchett Collection (Hogfather, Colour of Magic, Going Postal) [DVD] (DVD)
An excellent box set for all Pratchett fans. Hours of quality entertainment that makes turning on the TV worth the effort as it is infinately superior in content than what is on the box normally. A must buy for those who love the Dicsworld series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 26 Jun. 2011
By 
Mole "Mole" (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Terry Pratchett Collection (Hogfather, Colour of Magic, Going Postal) [DVD] (DVD)
I've been a fan of Terry Pratchett's books for the last couple of decades. When I heard that they were to be turned into films, I was in turn worried and delighted. Worried that the atmosphere of the books couldn't be recreated so we would see a meaningless series of scenes, but once I had seen the films, delighted that they had managed to achieve a superb visualisation of the stories.

The locations and sets are beautifully crafted and do an excellent job of creating the environments of the Discworld. The actors playing the various characters do a superb job of portrayal, and I found them all very believable. They have had to modify the stories slightly to make the films, but this has been done in a way that doesn't detract from the main plot; and I don't feel that anything is lost by it.

In all, a great collection of the current films; I do hope that they will consider doing more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Fun!, 9 Feb. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Terry Pratchett Collection (Hogfather, Colour of Magic, Going Postal) [DVD] (DVD)
These may not exactly meet your personal vision of Discworld, but they do a pretty good job - I could forgive the occasional divergence from my own mental picture! Kept me well-entertained for hours, can't fault it (unless I really nit-pick, and it doesn't deserve that).

Terrific production values, so obviously directed by an enthusiast who really "gets" Discworld, such great value - don't faf about, just buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Get the popcorn and beer out and enjoy, 25 Mar. 2011
By 
CC (Midlands, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Terry Pratchett Collection (Hogfather, Colour of Magic, Going Postal) [DVD] (DVD)
Not quite spectacular but very good; perfect for a dull winters evening or perhaps a sick day from work/school. Close the curtains, snuggle under the duvet and what all 3. Some excellent character actors in here and imaginative sets, with some good old fashioned goodies and baddies fun. Very easy watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great, 28 Dec. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Terry Pratchett Collection (Hogfather, Colour of Magic, Going Postal) [DVD] (DVD)
This Dvd was great i know some have been repeated on TV but you can watch at your own lesiure. Well crafted, well written well worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Almost as good as the books!, 21 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Terry Pratchett Collection (Hogfather, Colour of Magic, Going Postal) [DVD] (DVD)
As a huge TP fan, I did get to see a couple of these when they were on tv (shh, a friend recorded them for me!) but to actually own them - Whoo hoo!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome - better than I expected, 2 Nov. 2011
By 
JAS (Dorset, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Terry Pratchett Collection (Hogfather, Colour of Magic, Going Postal) [DVD] (DVD)
As an avid fan of the discworld series of books, I've always been a bit concerned about how it would translate over to film. I watched Going Postal first and I was amazed. I know that it's never going to be 100% exactly as the book, but it was fantastic and lived up to my imagination far better than I expected. Charles Dance is brilliant in it and IS Vetinari. I loved seeing Ankh Morpork as it was just so "right". I think because it was created as a mini series, it's not restricted by keeping it down a film length so you don't feel cheated that loads have been missed out. Haven't watched Hog Father yet. Colour of Magic has been good, but that wasn't one of my favourite books so am not as besotted with it. I hope they cover all the books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terry Pratchett King of Discworld, 11 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Terry Pratchett Collection (Hogfather, Colour of Magic, Going Postal) [DVD] (DVD)
If you have never read Terry Pratchett's Dicworld series of books and prefer videos then you are in for a treat.
Funny, wyrd, magikal, strange, tongue in cheek and a great satirical authour using modern day idaes and philosophies and making them work in a world that is barely out of the middle ages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews