Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars40
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£4.48+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 December 2009
Enjoyed this film immensely. A superb thriller, immediately engaging and wonderfully paced. I thought both Lindon and Kruger performed wonderfully. I know some people really don't enjoy watching subtitled films, so if you fall into that category this may not be for you (French with English subtitles), otherwise I HIGHLY recommend Anything For Her.

I have seen another review posted here which awarded two stars and complained about holes in the plot (where did he get the gun and why did he leave details of his escape plan on the wall for the police to find), but please note well the comments that have been posted in direct response to this review! These questions ARE answered in the film. :-)

The film is really focused on the husband's struggle for his family and is not a courtroom drama which lingers on the question of her innocence; I think this is worth noting in light of another review here.

I'm not one for long reviews I'm afraid, but hope that this balances/answers some questions raised by some of the less enthusiastic reviews for this film.
0Comment|18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 October 2010
This review tells you the premise - so don't read on if you want no idea of what it's about.
A tightly constructed prison break movie with a terrific twist; Julien is a schoolteacher who plans to break his wife Lisa out of prison from the outside. But with a four year old son to take care of and no knowledge of the criminal underworld, he is hard-pressed to figure out how to do this.
This is one of the best films I have seen for a couple of years; every one I know who saw it in the cinema was just riveted. I'm in awe of how well-paced it is. It works really well on DVD. It has real heart, too - there are several moments that show insight and depth beyond the normal thriller. Loved it.
I hear it's been remade with Russell Crowe - not surprising that Hollywood leapt on a story this good. I'd recommend seeing this version first.
22 comments|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2012
A bit unrealistic at times, yet if Mesrine can escape from French prisons on several occasions then I believe anyone can! The fact of the matter is that if you have ever been in love, then you will do anything to be back with the one you love and that is exactly what Julien, played with intense passion and energy by Vincent Lindon decides to do when his beautiful wife Lisa (Diane Kruger) is accused of a murder that she did not commit.

Diane Kruger gives a wonderful performance as the wife and mother accused of murdering her boss... the motive and evidence are stacked against her and therefore, she is sentenced to 20 years in prison. Julien then plots a clever scheme to set her free!! Does he succeed? Well, you will have to watch this edge of the seat thriller to find out.

Also, a special mention to little Oscar, who plays the part of the son in the film. If you are a parent, you will realise that he has to go through some really challenging scenes with Vincent Lindon throughout the film and comes through with flying colours.

Worth watching simply for the pulsating ending and to find out if they get away with it or not!!
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2015
This original French movie "Pour Elle" ("Anything For Her") was subsequently remade in the US as "The Next Three Days". The two movies are almost identical, both in terms of story arc and plot details, differing significantly only in terms of casts and location. The original movie is set in Meaux, France, whereas the remake is set in Pittsburgh, USA. Whilst the remake has a greater sense of place, the original movie offers rather more Kafkaesque disorientation which is entirely fitting.

The story is simple: a woman is wrongly tried, convicted and imprisoned for a murder she did not commit. Legal injustices like this can and do happen, and the movie invites us to empathise both with the woman and with her husband. Every legal avenue is explored and exhausted, and in despair the woman becomes suicidal. Her husband (an everyman) plots in secret to rescue her from jail.Most of the movie involves the meticulous planning for the jail break, and its exciting execution. The couple have a young son. In the original French movie the son is left on his own (maybe even abandoned) in an hotel room, which would undoubtedly raise a few eyebrows in any audience. In the remake, on the other hand, the son is left with a sympathetic and responsible adult.

Having now watched both the original movie, and the remake, I am in no doubt about how the story ends, and so the issue is whether the tension is still built and retained throughout the movie: it is. In the French original, the actress (Diane Kruger) who plays the female lead appears both innocent (and therefore the sense of personal injustice is greater), and more attractive as a person (and therefore it is more understandable that her husband would do anything to break free her from jail), whereas the actress (Elizabeth Banks) who plays the female lead in the remake, appears less innocent, and one could believe that she really had committed the murder, thus making her husband's desire to break her out of jail almost into a personal character flaw. The temptation of an alternative love-interest is also explored a little more in the remake. Overall, the remake is a little more polished than the original French movie, with a slightly more complete ending, the flip-side of which is that the original is visually darker, with careful attention to palette and feels a little more raw and edgy.

Some movies work much better in the language in which they were written (for example, Studio Ghibli animés), and I was keen to see whether the French language original worked better than the US English remake - it didn't. It did not fare any worse, either. I am happy to have both movies on DVD. However, people who merely want the thrill of the plot will do best to choose the movie that is in their preferred language. Both DVDs have English sub-titles.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2011
Quick. Clever. Fantastic Plot.

This film has you hooked within the first few minutes. The best thing thereafter is that it never once loses its audience. It engages you with a consistently fast pace and endearing characters with whom you immediately empathise. Rarely have I been so whole-heartedly rooting for the antagonists as I was in this film. Lindon and Kruger's chemistry is so good you forget the obvious age difference and the film title is apt in that you do believe that he would do anything to save his wife from harm.

The plot itself is just so good it could be set anywhere, which made it prime for a Hollywood revamp. Unfortunately the key element of this film, the main couple's love and faith in each other, was wildly missed in Russell Crowe's revamp. This is the real deal, however, giving a real belief in the characters and the situation they find themselves in. You will enjoy this from start to finish.
0Comment|29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2011
I loved this film and although it is depicted as a thriller and very clever it is too, it has to be one of the most romantic film's I have ever seen.
The French do love so well - not sure I would want to watch the English version.
But if you love French films and clever thrillers you will love this!
0Comment|32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 December 2010
This really is the best thriller I can recall seeing in a good while.

If you are making up your mind, then beware some other reviews here tell rather too much of the plot! That might be less problematic for most films but for a thriller such as this one, where plot twists and tension are so much a part of the experience, I think reviewers should tell us more about "artistic impression" and far less about the story, please.

Apart from the excellent acting and filming, one thing which really struck me was the feeling of claustrophobia created by focusing very narrowly on the leads' experiences, just as they saw it. No police analysis, no tv news commentaries, no courtroom drama, very little discussion. I found that realistic in the circumstances. And very effective as a thriller device.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2010
A brilliant thriller and superb love story. Loved every minute of it. You should also get WELCOME which is a masterpiece starring Vincent Lindon. Also check JCVD US DVD of that is best...a revelation !!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2011
I thoroughly enjoyed this film. An excellent thriller with a good plot combined with action and suspense to maintain one's interest. A satisfactory conclusion to the film as well, which is a bonus, as more often than not some thrillers leave the viewer totally confused as to the outcome.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 May 2010
I was surprised by this French film.
It really does manage to grip you very early on, and doesn't let go.

Having watched many French films, I must admit, I was expecting a bad or completely unbelievable ending, and was preparing for the worst (!) but it was actually very well written, brilliantly acted, and gets even better as the twists add up towards the end.

Yes, it does have subtitles (unless you speak French!) but don't let this put you off.

One of my fave French films of recent years.
Highly recommended!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)