Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Engaging, well-paced French thriller. A must see!
Enjoyed this film immensely. A superb thriller, immediately engaging and wonderfully paced. I thought both Lindon and Kruger performed wonderfully. I know some people really don't enjoy watching subtitled films, so if you fall into that category this may not be for you (French with English subtitles), otherwise I HIGHLY recommend Anything For Her.

I have...
Published on 28 Dec 2009 by Hand over the toffees

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Taut drama with a few thrills
The screenplay unfolds with a growing sense of urgency and I found that I could care for the characters who easily convinced me who they were. The basic premise sees a happily married couple torn apart when the wife (Diane Kruger) is wrongly convicted of murder. Legal appeals come to nothing and with time ticking by the husband entertains the idea of a breakout. I'm glad...
Published 12 months ago by Mr. S. Storey


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Engaging, well-paced French thriller. A must see!, 28 Dec 2009
Enjoyed this film immensely. A superb thriller, immediately engaging and wonderfully paced. I thought both Lindon and Kruger performed wonderfully. I know some people really don't enjoy watching subtitled films, so if you fall into that category this may not be for you (French with English subtitles), otherwise I HIGHLY recommend Anything For Her.

I have seen another review posted here which awarded two stars and complained about holes in the plot (where did he get the gun and why did he leave details of his escape plan on the wall for the police to find), but please note well the comments that have been posted in direct response to this review! These questions ARE answered in the film. :-)

The film is really focused on the husband's struggle for his family and is not a courtroom drama which lingers on the question of her innocence; I think this is worth noting in light of another review here.

I'm not one for long reviews I'm afraid, but hope that this balances/answers some questions raised by some of the less enthusiastic reviews for this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Escaping is Easy - The Hard Part is Staying Free!!!, 9 Jan 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Anything For Her [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
A bit unrealistic at times, yet if Mesrine can escape from French prisons on several occasions then I believe anyone can! The fact of the matter is that if you have ever been in love, then you will do anything to be back with the one you love and that is exactly what Julien, played with intense passion and energy by Vincent Lindon decides to do when his beautiful wife Lisa (Diane Kruger) is accused of a murder that she did not commit.

Diane Kruger gives a wonderful performance as the wife and mother accused of murdering her boss... the motive and evidence are stacked against her and therefore, she is sentenced to 20 years in prison. Julien then plots a clever scheme to set her free!! Does he succeed? Well, you will have to watch this edge of the seat thriller to find out.

Also, a special mention to little Oscar, who plays the part of the son in the film. If you are a parent, you will realise that he has to go through some really challenging scenes with Vincent Lindon throughout the film and comes through with flying colours.

Worth watching simply for the pulsating ending and to find out if they get away with it or not!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb! You must see this film!, 2 Jun 2011
By 
Tom Hobbs "tommohobbo" (Guernsey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Anything For Her [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
Quick. Clever. Fantastic Plot.

This film has you hooked within the first few minutes. The best thing thereafter is that it never once loses its audience. It engages you with a consistently fast pace and endearing characters with whom you immediately empathise. Rarely have I been so whole-heartedly rooting for the antagonists as I was in this film. Lindon and Kruger's chemistry is so good you forget the obvious age difference and the film title is apt in that you do believe that he would do anything to save his wife from harm.

The plot itself is just so good it could be set anywhere, which made it prime for a Hollywood revamp. Unfortunately the key element of this film, the main couple's love and faith in each other, was wildly missed in Russell Crowe's revamp. This is the real deal, however, giving a real belief in the characters and the situation they find themselves in. You will enjoy this from start to finish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Anything for Her, 14 Mar 2011
This review is from: Anything For Her [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
I loved this film and although it is depicted as a thriller and very clever it is too, it has to be one of the most romantic film's I have ever seen.
The French do love so well - not sure I would want to watch the English version.
But if you love French films and clever thrillers you will love this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A cracking thriller!, 3 Dec 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Anything For Her [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
I thoroughly enjoyed this film. An excellent thriller with a good plot combined with action and suspense to maintain one's interest. A satisfactory conclusion to the film as well, which is a bonus, as more often than not some thrillers leave the viewer totally confused as to the outcome.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not your typical French movie. So tense and thrilling., 13 Oct 2010
By 
Mary O. Flanagan "Mary Kate O Flanagan" (Dublin, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review tells you the premise - so don't read on if you want no idea of what it's about.
A tightly constructed prison break movie with a terrific twist; Julien is a schoolteacher who plans to break his wife Lisa out of prison from the outside. But with a four year old son to take care of and no knowledge of the criminal underworld, he is hard-pressed to figure out how to do this.
This is one of the best films I have seen for a couple of years; every one I know who saw it in the cinema was just riveted. I'm in awe of how well-paced it is. It works really well on DVD. It has real heart, too - there are several moments that show insight and depth beyond the normal thriller. Loved it.
I hear it's been remade with Russell Crowe - not surprising that Hollywood leapt on a story this good. I'd recommend seeing this version first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oustanding !!, 27 Mar 2010
By 
H S Marks (Manchester UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A brilliant thriller and superb love story. Loved every minute of it. You should also get WELCOME which is a masterpiece starring Vincent Lindon. Also check JCVD US DVD of that is best...a revelation !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars recommend ! but english version is better ! :), 17 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Anything For Her [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
For the price . Its a good lil film . I liked the story line . Very good . I actually have the english version too . Called . The next three days . It is basically the same story line . But a few dif things .the english version stars liam neeson, elizabeth banks, brian dennehy and olivia wilde . I actually think the english version is better . But .. I think that's becasue I didn't have to concentrate so much on reading subtitles . I had more time to look at . What was going on . :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Pacey Thriller, 29 Nov 2011
By 
Mr. S. Wigg "simonjw1" (Surrey, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Anything For Her [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
We thoroughly enjoyed this thriller - absolute bargain at the price. Well acted, exciting - won't mention the ending though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars FOR HER directed by Fred Cavaye, 11 Jun 2014
This review is from: Anything For Her [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
An ordinary school teacher plans to break his beloved wife out of prison after she is wrongly imprisoned.

This film is, despite having a thriller plot, ultimately a romance. It is about the lengths a man will go to for the woman he loves. In this case that involves taking on drug dealers and the cops, as well as fleeing the country.

With such a ludicrous plot - schoolteacher cum prison breaker - everything is carefully played as sensibly and intelligently as possible, with the protagonist out of his depth for most of the film.

Nonetheless, once the thrills kick in, they kick in hard. This has some of the best scenes of action and suspense in recent years. It helps that the acting, cinematography and direction are all of extremely high quality. It's a gem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Anything For Her [DVD] [2008]
Anything For Her [DVD] [2008] by Fred Cavaye (DVD - 2010)
5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews