Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great collection of western movie classics
This 2 CD set has 62 tracks of music from the classic westerns of yester year. Theme tunes from films such as The Big Country, Jesse James, Rawhide. Songs such as She Wore A Yellow Ribbon, Man Without A Star, High Noon. Perfromances from Sons of the Pioneers, Tex Ritter, Frankie Laine, Marlene Dietrich, Kirk Douglas, Dean Martin, Robert Mitchum etc. I am sure many of...
Published on 29 Dec. 2010 by Musicfan

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not what expected.
Lots of tunes but quality appears to be a poor copy of the original sound track Probably would not have bought this I had known what it was.
Published 16 months ago by Amazon Customer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great collection of western movie classics, 29 Dec. 2010
By 
Musicfan (Somerset, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Westerns: Music And Songs from Classic Westerns (Audio CD)
This 2 CD set has 62 tracks of music from the classic westerns of yester year. Theme tunes from films such as The Big Country, Jesse James, Rawhide. Songs such as She Wore A Yellow Ribbon, Man Without A Star, High Noon. Perfromances from Sons of the Pioneers, Tex Ritter, Frankie Laine, Marlene Dietrich, Kirk Douglas, Dean Martin, Robert Mitchum etc. I am sure many of these tracks are very hard to obtain on CD and there are some true classics, some dramatic, some funny, some moving and they all bring back memories of many hours spent watching these westerns most all of which were made well before I was born. They appear to be original recordings, some of which are probably very rare. Personally, I could have done with less of some and I would probably have chosen some others but that is true of all compilations. This is a superb compilation. The sound qulaity is very good considering the age of the recordings. Those that love the old westerns would enjoy this. Highly recommended for those who love the westerns and the music from such films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Actual soundtracks, 22 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Westerns: Music And Songs from Classic Westerns (Audio CD)
The crucial point about this two-CD set of western themes is that they are all taken directly from the film soundtracks. This means that at last we get the lyrics and arrangements exactly as heard in the original movies, some of which are markedly different from the commercially-released recordings. There are 62 tracks from 35 films covering the years from 1936 (THE TEXAS RANGERS) to 1959 (THE HORSE SOLDIERS), although the booklet dates RED RIVER five years too early and HIGH NOON seven years too late. Of course, the sound quality is variable and some editing has been necessary in order to produce complete or coherent versions, but for lovers of western movie themes this is a dream come true.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WESTERN MAGIC, 6 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Westerns: Music And Songs from Classic Westerns (Audio CD)
Saddle up everybody, we are about to wander through the canyons of our memories and recall some of the magic that was created on the big silver screens, where our heroes and heroines wore white hats (usually) and beat the bad guys out of sight. Why don`t they make films like that anymore? The good guy gets the girl and they all live happily ever after.

A fantastic collection of movie-music from 35 horse-operas with an array of musical talent from stars such as, The Sons Of The Pioneers ("I`ll Take You Home Again, Kathleen"), Frankie Laine ("3.10 To Yuma"), Tex Ritter ("High Noon"), Julie London, Marlene Dietrich, Robert Mitchum, Kirk Douglas, Jane Russell, Hoagy Carmichael, Tennessee Ernie Ford, Marilyn Monroe (both sing "The River Of No Return"), Dean Martin, Ricky Nelson (a duet on "My Rifle, My Pony And Me"), Walter Brennan, Burt Lancaster and Burl Ives. Even those artists who appeared in the films listed, but not on the recording credits should be remembered. Artists like Alan Ladd, John Wayne, Sterling Haydon, Rhonda Fleming, Gary Cooper, Ward Bond, Victor McGlaglen and James Stewart.

A mixture of orchestral and vocal music which lasts around two and a half hours. If you do not like saddle sores, singing round the camp-fire, sleeping in a sleeping bag, with your saddle as a pillow, being burnt to a cinder with the hot dry sun, freezing at night or getting soaked to the skin with no shelter in sight, and if you do not like gravel in your sandwiches, read no further...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Westerns-music and songs fromclassic westerns, 19 May 2011
This review is from: The Westerns: Music And Songs from Classic Westerns (Audio CD)
140 minutes of sheer joy - sit back in the saddle and listen to the spectacular music to those classic western movies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not what expected., 13 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Westerns: Music And Songs from Classic Westerns (Audio CD)
Lots of tunes but quality appears to be a poor copy of the original sound track Probably would not have bought this I had known what it was.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars loved this cd takes me back to a time when ..., 18 Aug. 2014
By 
P. J. Rhodes "Phil Rhodes" (Sheffield England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Westerns: Music And Songs from Classic Westerns (Audio CD)
loved this cd takes me back to a time when my bike was a horse and didn't have a care in the world
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not so bad but.............., 7 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Westerns: Music And Songs from Classic Westerns (Audio CD)
I bought this CD about a month ago and its OK, is it me am i missing the obvious,you see i made my purchase on the basis of other reviews that helped me to make the purchase,i am looking for the tv western music from the sixties unfortunatly i had no way of knowing exactly what titles were included because you dont get a view of the tracks until you get your cd in the post,sure you can see some of the titles from the front cover but could amazon also show us all the tracks that are on any given cd,i am looking for the title tracks to Paliden,(half gun will travel) Champion the wonder horse,rawhide,the lone ranger,Bat Masterson,etc,etc,etc, do you remember those tv shows and do you know where i can buy them on CD.This cd has some great western music many i am happy with,pity it dont have it all.I also orderd Greatest Western Movies Themes from Zoverstocks it was very cheap just £2 but it never arrived and i was refunded,I have bought from Zoverstocks before without any problem.hope this helps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 2 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Westerns: Music And Songs from Classic Westerns (Audio CD)
Does the job and fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Westerns: Music And Songs from Classic Westerns
The Westerns: Music And Songs from Classic Westerns by Various Artists (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews