Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding Helmet Camera
The Contour GPS is near the top of the tree when it comes to helmet cameras. Capable of 1080p HD recording, with a high frame rate (up to 60fps) and GPS to record where you went and how fast you got there, there's not much it doesn't do. With the removable Lithium battery providing around 2.5hrs of charge (depending on how you set the camera up) and a micro SDHC slot that...
Published on 14 Oct. 2011 by LMD

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good whilst it worked.
I had no problems with this camera when I first got it, but after I updated the firmware it stopped working properly.

It will work fine until you have to change the battery, and then it won't work until you reformat the memory card, this means that you either have to wait until you get home to download any video, or carry a spare memory card to swap it over...
Published 14 months ago by 4ChordsNoNet


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding Helmet Camera, 14 Oct. 2011
By 
LMD (Essex, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Contour GPS Full HD Helmet Camera (Sports)
The Contour GPS is near the top of the tree when it comes to helmet cameras. Capable of 1080p HD recording, with a high frame rate (up to 60fps) and GPS to record where you went and how fast you got there, there's not much it doesn't do. With the removable Lithium battery providing around 2.5hrs of charge (depending on how you set the camera up) and a micro SDHC slot that supports up to 32Gb (at least that's as much as I've been able to test) you're not going to struggle for recording time on most of your adventures.

Aside from the raw performance figures, Contour have made huge improvements to the ergonomics of a helmet-mounted camera. It's the little things like simple, chunky buttons that can be operated by gloved hands and audible confirmation of switching it on or starting it recording mean that there's a lot less fuss and bother - much less wasted footage while you get set up to record, so more time spent enjoying whatever you're doing and easier editing when you get back home.

Other neat additions include a rotating lens/CCD assembly, with a clearly marked arrow on the rim of the lens housing so you know which way is "up" - this means a lot less wonky (or up-side-down) footage. The rotation mechanism is stiff enough that it won't be nudged off-angle while you're going about your business either. To further help with aligning the camera, particularly in low-light, there are two red "laser sights" at 9 0'clock and 3 o'clock to the CCD that shine for a few seconds at the push of a button to help you check where the camera is aiming.

The black anodised aluminium casing is robust and the lens cover is replaceable, so it should be rugged enough to survive most situations or have critical damage repaired easily enough.

The T-Rail mounting system is very solid and supports all manner of attachment options - unfortunately, none of the popular ones are supplied as standard so if you want a helmet mount, handlebar mount, goggle-strap mount, waterproof suction mount etc, you're going to have to fork out extra.

Another useful extra (which would have been nice if they'd built it in) is the bluetooth adapter which will allow you to use a smartphone as a remote viewing screen to help position the camera and make any last minute adjustments to settings.

Speaking of setup, using the Contour Storyteller software (downloadable from the COntour website) you can manage all of the camera settings, from resolution to frame-rate, exposure, GPS recording intervals even orientation of image for when you want to record "portrait" format. Different settings impact the battery life and Storyteller does a reasonable job of letting you know how big an impact things like resolution, GPS and frame rate will have on your total battery life. A two-position switch hidden inder the camera tailcap allows you to easily toggle between two pre-set configurations when you're out in the field - I've got mine set up for HD with and without GPS just to get a bit more battery life out of the thing on long rides. Storyteller can also be used to view and edit the videos on your PC as well as upload them to the COntour community website to shree with others. Footage is also easily enough editied in standard video editing software and can be sent to all the usual destinations like YouTube and Facebook without any problems.

Overall then, the Contour GPS is superbly designed to cope with the rigours of filming outdoor activities and is simple to use. There are more expensive options that give a wider angle of view and there are cheaper optiosn that don't have the GPS. If I'm honest, having used it a few times, the GPS is more of a novelty than an essential, after all it's the video footage that makes the impact and I've got a GPS bike computer anyway. If I had my choice again, I might go for the cheaper Contour HD (without the GPS) and my recommendation to you would be to question whether you really do need the GPS feature... This doesn't stop me awarding it 5 stars though because it really is an exceptional piece of kit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great little camera, 8 Mar. 2012
This review is from: Contour GPS Full HD Helmet Camera (Sports)
This is a great little bit of kit, i purchased with the bluetooth card so setting up when out and about is easy using the free iphone app, found it a little heavier than i was expecting than others i've used in the past but not a big deal once fitted to my helmet, the supplied mount seems to be good enough and the 3M sticky pad seems to hold well, there are reviews of people glueing them on but i wasn't keen to put glue on my £400 helmet,
One top tip is if needing extra batteries then dont buy the contour ones on here go onto ebay and search for nokia battery BL-5C these are exactly the same batteries and can be had on ebay for about £3
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Crystal Clear Video, 12 Sept. 2011
This review is from: Contour GPS Full HD Helmet Camera (Sports)
I bought this for a snorkeling holiday and for future skiing holidays. I was amazed at the clarity and colour brilliance. At 30fps and 1080p replay is smooth and detailed.
What was not immediately clear was that the Contour does not come with bluetooth capabilities as a standard and requires a Contour Connect Card - http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B004QDY076/ref=oss_product to allow preview and camera settings via iPhone or android app. Looking forward to the slopes to see how it performs there..
Overall the Contour GPS exceeded expectations. A little practice is needed to ensure you are capturing everything in frame without a viewfinder, but this soon becomes 2nd nature. A great camera, very light and robust with superb quality for the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great quality but some niggling issues, 23 Sept. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Contour GPS Full HD Helmet Camera (Sports)
This is a great quality camera. It's in a lovely metal shell with a large rubber slider on top so it's easy to turn on with gloves. The GPS seems to pick up satellites very quickly and can be configured to record data once or twice a second. The software that comes with it allows you to fine tune the camera such as mic sensitivity, metering and exposure.

There are some niggling points. It's a bit fussy about memory cards and when you find one it likes then it must be formatted by the camera (not mentioned in the manual but instructions available on the web). Mine was freezing before I did this. The card also needs to be quite fast (I suppose you pay for what you get).

It's meant to be water resistant, but there isn't sign of any rubber seals anywhere. I haven't used it in the rain yet and I'm worried, perhaps unnecessarily??? I googled it and it is "storm proof" so sounds ok.

All of the extras are a bit expensive. I ordered the vented helmet mount for cycling. Considering it's a small square of plastic and two straps, the price was outrageous.

Overall, a great bit of kit. Team it up with Dashware (software that uses the GPS data to overlay gauges such as speed, altitude and a map) to make some great videos.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Helmet camera, 29 May 2011
This review is from: Contour GPS Full HD Helmet Camera (Sports)
Best helmet cam I have ever owned, every time I look at footage I can't believe the quality ! This has to be seen to be believed, no use looking at you tube videos they cannot conceive the quality from this camera. The latest camera from contour has gps built in and Bluetooth, this item is straight out of Star Trek ! Rock on contour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great camera, 4 Jan. 2011
This review is from: Contour GPS Full HD Helmet Camera (Sports)
pleased with every aspect of this great little camera. bough and extra battery, 32GB card, lens kit, waterproof case. Can't wait to hit the slopes!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good whilst it worked., 30 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Contour GPS Full HD Helmet Camera (Sports)
I had no problems with this camera when I first got it, but after I updated the firmware it stopped working properly.

It will work fine until you have to change the battery, and then it won't work until you reformat the memory card, this means that you either have to wait until you get home to download any video, or carry a spare memory card to swap it over. Contour refused to exchange it and now they have gone bust, so I am left with a fairly unusable camera.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Buy the simpler version, the ROAM see below, 4 Sept. 2012
By 
Arthur Wyatt (London England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Contour GPS Full HD Helmet Camera (Sports)
The contour roam is dead simple to use. With the gps version one can make mistakes on wether it is switched on or not. The gps and blutooth may appear nice but in the heat of the moment are an obtrusive fiddle. The only plus points over the roam is the ability to switch from stills to video away from a computer and to not be caught out with a flat battery.
Picture q uality is excellent. Wide angle shots eliminate vibration effects. !one hardly misses zoom as the results are close to what you see.
For very fast and simple video choose the Roam version. For flexibility choose this one
THE ROAM HAS A CAMERA MOUNT THREAD THIS VERSION HAS NOT. So if you want to use certain handlebar mounts the choice is limited. I use a simple camera mount on my handlebars so the Roam version, not this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Unreliable with a potentially dangerous battery overheat, 3 Sept. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Contour GPS Full HD Helmet Camera (Sports)
I bought a Contour HD camera and it simply didn't work from new. I changed it for a Contoiur GPS. It worked once and produced great results. The second time it failed just like my first camera only this time the battery became very hot even when the camera was off and stored away. I think that had it been left it could have caused a fire so hot had it become. All in all very very disappointing and potentuially dangerous.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great Camera, 22 Aug. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Contour GPS Full HD Helmet Camera (Sports)
Its been a while since I bought this and so this review reflects a few weeks use.

The packaging includes a sturdy plastic 2 compartment 'case' - which although not meant to be an accessory would never the less make a good storage case (eg when packing the camera away for a trip). Unfortunately my box looked like it have been scuffed around the floor a few times and the box the camera was in was very tatty and the clip on the plastic box was broken. This must have been in the warehouse as the cardboard shipping box was fine.

The camera itself was ok though. As other have said it takes a few hours to charge (about 4 from flat) and lasts 2-3 hours when on.

The on-off switch is a bit strange - a small rubber button that presses on an internal switch and there is no re-assuring tactile feedback. Lots of people report problems with this. I found you have to press very firmly and hold for a second for it to start up. You have to hold for 3 seconds to swicth off. It helps to remember to switch the thing off when you stop for your lunch/snacks when out and about or you are likely to miss that perfect shot in the last bit of your trip due to flat battery.

The Nokia BL-5J battery is compatible and cheaper than the contour one. Luckily we had an old nokia phone which we also use a charger. (charge one while use one).

Video quality is very very good under all sorts of lighting conditions including mountain biking through trees on a sunny day and dealing with the rapid changes in lighting.

GPS location is good and needs the usual approx minute to locate satellites (otherwise your course can be well off for the first bit of your film). Data includes :
time latitude longitude altitude (m) speed (km/h) course sat hdop

As usual with GPS the altitude can be way off and you are better using a tool like GPSvisuliser to correct the altitude from lat and long.

I did also get the Bluetooth card which gives you a view of what the camera is looking at. You cant film and view at the same time note !. Although the camera field of view is quite wide and I think you only really need this if you are fine tuning your shots as the lasers work quite well for lining up the shots. Essential for changing the camera setting when out and about though.

The software Storyteller is a bit basic. Note it is not an editor by any means - not even to trim or top and a movie !
I also dont use it to import movies any more (the camera comes up as a drive and so I just copy and paste or move). I have had the odd funny when unsing to import a movie (hanging up when importing multiple files or not showing the thumbnail)
You do need storyteller to extract the GPS data from the files though.

Overall very pleased - good video and compact unit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Contour GPS Full HD Helmet Camera
Out of stock
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews