Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT CARD GAME FROM THE VICTORIAN ERA
This popular Victorian card game is great for children and adults alike. The illustrations are beautiful and the cards are made of good quality paper and seem quite durable and not at all flimsy. The game is so much fun to play and evokes an elegant era, when card games were a favorite form of entertainment and a way to bring people together and spend quality time with...
Published 18 months ago by Eleni

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
Fine
Published 6 months ago by Antony Pinsent


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT CARD GAME FROM THE VICTORIAN ERA, 2 Aug. 2013
By 
Eleni - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Cheatwell Games Bygone Days Old Maid Card Games (Toy)
This popular Victorian card game is great for children and adults alike. The illustrations are beautiful and the cards are made of good quality paper and seem quite durable and not at all flimsy. The game is so much fun to play and evokes an elegant era, when card games were a favorite form of entertainment and a way to bring people together and spend quality time with each other. Also, this game is quite educational, as the children can learn all the trades and characteristics that are associated with each figure depicted on the cards.

This game is suitable for children aged six and older, and it requires at least three players.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best fiver ever spent, 23 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cheatwell Games Bygone Days Old Maid Card Games (Toy)
I used to play this on family holidays with my parents, so thought I'd buy a pack for my boyfriend's boys as we were heading off to Italy for our annual trip. In the days of Play Stations etc I was sceptical they'd be interested, how wrong I was! The boys were nearly hysterical every time we played because they were desperate not to end up the Old Maid! In the end the game had to come everywhere with us, so we played it at home and in restaurants, everywhere! The boys (aged 10 and 12) created back stories for some of the characters, and quickly identified their favourites. It's such a simple game but gave us so much fun, possibly the best fiver ever spent!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic card game, 28 Jan. 2014
By 
D. Scholfield - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cheatwell Games Bygone Days Old Maid Card Games (Toy)
My kids love this game. The artwork and names on the cards is really good. Still not sure what is meant by 'riding the old maid around the room' though. Seems pretty harsh on the loser!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cheatwell Bygone Days Games -Old Maid Card Games, 20 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cheatwell Games Bygone Days Old Maid Card Games (Toy)
The young grandchildren love to play this when they visit me so its a great success. As they have rather outgrown the toys I have for them in the box, it is good to start playing games altogether, so this is a very good start.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Traditional yet enjoyable, 10 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cheatwell Games Bygone Days Old Maid Card Games (Toy)
Bought this as a gift. It is a great game that can be played by all ages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hours of fun!, 9 Jun. 2012
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cheatwell Games Bygone Days Old Maid Card Games (Toy)
I play cards with my kids (both over 10) but this has helped provide a variation to our options. It also encourages them to read the names and understand the play on words re. occupations. Only improvement would be to have little symbols on the top of the cards, so you can see who you have in your hand when you fan them. We loved them and the oldie worldie style is a nice change.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 16 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cheatwell Games Bygone Days Old Maid Card Games (Toy)
good fun game
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 27 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cheatwell Games Bygone Days Old Maid Card Games (Toy)
Fine
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Old Maid card game, 3 Dec. 2010
By 
C. N. Willis "Carole Willis" (Chester Cheshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cheatwell Games Bygone Days Old Maid Card Games (Toy)
Bought for friend's children. Have bought cards before and they loved them, so I am sure they will like these
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cheatwell Games Bygone Days Old Maid Card Games
£4.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews