Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars could of been better....
It's like the 1 that was on the playstation,game could of been improved if they had taken time.Not 2 bad 2 play,i've played the demo 4 the new rugby world cup game this game could have been just as good,just hope if they bring out a new 1 it's as good as it or better....
Published on 23 Aug. 2011 by jeff

› See more 5 star, 4 star reviews
versus
18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Missed the kick-off
Sadly a very poor effort here.

I'd been wanting a new rugby game for ages and usually I stick to the Union games. I thought I'd try something new with this and was not only dissapointed but a little bit shocked too.

The graphics are poor, nothing better than a Playstation 2 game. It definately looked like something from the last generation of...
Published on 15 Nov. 2010 by david morgan

› See more 3 star, 2 star, 1 star reviews

‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Missed the kick-off, 15 Nov. 2010
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Rugby League Live (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Sadly a very poor effort here.

I'd been wanting a new rugby game for ages and usually I stick to the Union games. I thought I'd try something new with this and was not only dissapointed but a little bit shocked too.

The graphics are poor, nothing better than a Playstation 2 game. It definately looked like something from the last generation of consoles. I could understand a sacrifice in looks had it meant more focus was put on gameplay. Unfortunately, thats not the case. This plays worse than any other rugby game I've ever played.

When running with the ball and attempting a a pass the receiver always stops to make the catch then starts running again. This is the fundamental flaw in the game. It doesn't run smoothly at all.

Its not just the running, catching which lets it down. Other basic actions such as passing can go flakey at times. Passing has a late response and often when you first intend to pass and hit the button it takes a few seconds to execute the move. By this time an opposing player has come in and taken an interception. This really tested my patience.

The difficulty settings and AI are just mesmerising. The 'Easy' setting is like playing aginst ivnvisible opponents who are sluggish and constantly make errors. In contrast the medium setting is so difficult and really all that happens is the game gives you errors which are not your fault, the opposition are quicker and the re-set of the tackle by the opposition is so quick it makes you wonder why as a human player you can't do the same...

One unforgiveable howler they've made is having no tutorial or training function. This game was a fantastic opportunity to gain a strong foothold in the rugby gaming race. With such little competition you'd think they'd grab the chance to get something half decent out there. It seems like Big Ant/Tru-Blu are actively trying to distance themselves from people who might want to get into Rugby League. the instruction manual is very basic while giving very little assistance.

I'm in no way lying when the gaming engine in Jonah Lomu Rugby on the ps1 is better than this. Not only did I dislike the game I found it astounding as to how it could have been released on this generation of consoles. The people who did the QA testing should be ashamed of themselves as should the two companies involved. They should really be worried about the negative effect this will have on the any future attempts.

There is a player/team editor but is very limited. There is no trade player function and created players can only join created teams. The competition editor can give it slightly more mileage if you can get through the frustration of the gameplay.

In looking for positives it does have online play. Human VS. Human might be slightly better but taking into consideration the already shuddering, jaunty gameplay added with bandwitdth/lag problems of online play it just seems like a recipe for disaster.

I will say, they have secured the trademark's, copywrights and all players and teams. If you're into stats this is the only positive point. I do fear that in securing the franchise rights the cost has been taken from developing gameplay which is just essential. Genrally, an all round failure of epic proportions.

This is a realy body blow to fans of rugby league, fans of gaming and Rugby League itself. A perfect opportunity to raise the profile of the game and maximise profits with HB Studios not realeasing a Rugby Union game until 2011.

I'm genuinely shocked this was released into the public domain. The companies behind this should really be ashamed of this dismal effort.

My advice would be to stay clear and keep on playing Rugby 08. Rugby 2012 will hit summer next year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars hmmmmmmm.....still not sure....., 26 Dec. 2010
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Rugby League Live (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
My fiancee bought me this game shortly after it came out but unkindly wouldn't let me have it until christmas. So i played it yesterday for the first time and today too. I agree with some of the things from other reviews but i will tell you what i think....

Firstly i was a bit gutted as the game seems americanised and i am guessing that it was developed there as for instance the drop goal is called a field goal. If they are going a Rugby League going then they should at least get the basics right..

I played on easy and drew the first couple of games 0-0, i found the tackling easy but just couldn't get past their defence either. After getting to grips with the controls i then started to score try's and get the kick's and getting points on the board and then started winning every game and found it easy, so then today i switched to medium and played with England against Scotland and lost 13-12, then played Ireland and lost 18-0. The computer is better at defending so much so that i only broke through 2 or 3 times but got tracked down and tackled even with my quickest player. Also The computer Attack is a lot better. I then played Australia and could not do anything against them, I could not make any sort of break into their defence and every time they got the ball they just sprinted away with me having NO CHANCE of catching them on most occasions which frustrated a little.

This game in my opinion in my short experience however is fun whilst playing 2 players, great infact. Whilst the one player is a little dissapointing but i will not give up and will keep trying on medium. it doesn't help that i keep pressing the wrong button to tackle but i will keep going.

in conclusion overall it is a good but not great game which i feel is better as a party game with not much experience but i will keep trying at 1 player medium until i succeed or get bored
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars awful, 9 Nov. 2010
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Rugby League Live (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
simply aweful
graphically appauling, gameplay is appauling,even the controls are awful.
i would avoid buying this game.
i think somebody should make a union game like rugby 08 as this would appeal to so many people.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good game with bad grahics, 17 Dec. 2010
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Rugby League Live (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
When i bought this game i expected to get a game with all the latests technology. Unfortunately i was wrong, although it is a good game it has seem to of had a back step towards more xbox and ps2 graphics. However i find the game quite enjoyable even though the graphics arn't that good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars It helps if youre a Rugby League fan, 14 Feb. 2011
By 
J. Lowndes "Jamie Lowndes" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Rugby League Live (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I've been a fan of Rugby League since I was a kid, so naturally any of the games would hold my attention. Rugby League 1 and 2 both had their flaws but they were fun enough. Going forward is simple enough on this, but its unbelievably annoying sometimes on defense. The lack of ability to edit squads is annoying as is a lack of a franchise mode, and in fact, the number of teams is frustrating as hell compared to what Wii players got with Rugby League 3. Overall, I feel like they owe us free DLC, but thats never going to happen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Embarrasing, 27 Dec. 2010
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Rugby League Live (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
As a rugby league fan through and through I've been waiting for such a game on the next gen consoles for what seems like forever,
how incredibly disappointed I am.
The gameplay is terrible, the graphics look like a 4 year old has created them and the AI is rediculous.

For your own good no matter how big a rugby fan you are stay well away!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Avoid this game., 31 May 2011
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Rugby League Live (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
As a true rugby fan I bought this game hoping, thinking I could maybe adopt it under my arm, place it for lots and lots or hours and enjoy it with all my friends.
The truth is the AI is too strong, interceptions are too frequent and it is impossible to put together some good phases of play. Save your money!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars RUGBY LEAGUE LIVE, 14 Jan. 2011
By 
Paul D. Charnock "P.CHARNOCK" (WIGAN, ENGLAND) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Rugby League Live (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
AS A LONG TIME RUGBY LEAGUE FAN I COULD'NT WAIT FOR THIS GAME, ITS OK!!! GRAPHICS ARE VERY LAST GEN, GAMEPLAYS DECENT AND THE IS NO FRANCHISE EITHER! I JUST CANT WAIT FOR A PROPER GAME COMPANY SUCH AS EA OR 2K TO MAKE A RUGBY GAME!!!

STILL I LIKE PLAYING THE ODD GAME WITH MY COUSIN!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars could of been better...., 23 Aug. 2011
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Rugby League Live (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
It's like the 1 that was on the playstation,game could of been improved if they had taken time.Not 2 bad 2 play,i've played the demo 4 the new rugby world cup game this game could have been just as good,just hope if they bring out a new 1 it's as good as it or better....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Room for improvement, 28 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rugby League Live (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
very poor graphics if you compare it to EA rugby 08 or Jonah Lomu rugby challenge. But very good and challenging game to play.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)
     Xbox opens new browser window
  www.elderscrollsonline.com/   -   The Best New MMO of 2014 is coming to Xbox One Soon. Preorder today.

This product

Rugby League Live (Xbox 360)
Rugby League Live (Xbox 360) by Alternative Software (Xbox 360)
Used & New from: £6.19
Add to wishlist See buying options
     
 
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
Jonah Lomu Rugby Challenge (Xbox 360)
Jonah Lomu Rugby Challenge (Xbox 360) by Alternative Software (Xbox 360)
3.8 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (76)   
Buy new£7.48
In stock

Rugby World Cup 2011 (Xbox 360)
Rugby World Cup 2011 (Xbox 360) by 505 Games (Xbox 360)
3.2 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (90)   
Buy new£35.10
In stock

Rugby 15 (Xbox 360)
Rugby 15 (Xbox 360) by Big Ben (Xbox 360)
1.5 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (36)   
Buy new£29.86
In stock