Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars My living room, my rules!
This is a strange sort of game. On the one hand, you can rattle through it in practically no time at all using, for the most part, just a little common sense. And, since there are only ever two possible verdicts in each case, you've got a fifty per cent chance of getting it right, even if you're employing the services of a coin to help you come up with your answer each...
Published 1 day ago by Hal Marshall

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Just a simple set of cards
The cases come from all round the world, and many are from the 19th century. I was hoping it would be useful as a teaching aid about law in the UK, but it's not very suitable for that. However, passes a few dull moments, and didn't cost much.
Published on 27 April 2012 by Richard B


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Just a simple set of cards, 27 April 2012
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paul Lamond You Be The Judge (Toy)
The cases come from all round the world, and many are from the 19th century. I was hoping it would be useful as a teaching aid about law in the UK, but it's not very suitable for that. However, passes a few dull moments, and didn't cost much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars My living room, my rules!, 19 Oct 2014
By 
Hal Marshall "Battling For My Ex-Wife's Heart..." (From a Suitably Safe Distance!) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
= Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paul Lamond You Be The Judge (Toy)
This is a strange sort of game. On the one hand, you can rattle through it in practically no time at all using, for the most part, just a little common sense. And, since there are only ever two possible verdicts in each case, you've got a fifty per cent chance of getting it right, even if you're employing the services of a coin to help you come up with your answer each time.

But, lurking beneath the surface, you'll find a very interesting collection of legal conundrums, the real-life solutions of which can really make you think. Each case and verdict have to fit on opposite sides of an 8.5cm x 5.5cm piece of card, so details are a little thin on the ground, but each verdict is explained pretty well. The cases seem to come from all over the place (especially the USA) although, sometimes, it's not even made clear in which country a case was heard. It makes little difference I suppose within the context of a board game but, nevertheless, it is a minor irritation.

As for the competitive element to the thing though, I'm afraid I find the Rules of Play that they've come up with to be a complete waste of time. The game and its players deserve better: MUCH better.

It is designed for two players / teams, aged 12 and over. Where they got that minimum age from, I have no idea, but the inference would seem to be that people younger than that would be bored out of their minds. I'm not too sure about that although, having tried the game out so far only on a collection of half-drunk (and, somewhat argumentative) adults, I've got nothing to actually back up that statement.

You're split into two Teams (A and B) and you share a weird-looking scorecard and a die which only goes up to three. You remember that coin you were going to use to help you decide the outcome of all these cases? Well, before you do anything else, you're going to need that coin to help you decide which team goes first, whereupon a member of that team will take one of these cards and read the 'Case' out loud to everyone.

The major problem I have with the rules is this: both that player AND the rest of their team are now supposed to read the verdict silently to themselves, while the opposition talk about the case between them and/or start their individual coin-tossing. The question is... WHY??? Why can't both teams ponder the case for themselves right from the off? Wouldn't it make for a far more interesting game if BOTH teams were considering their verdict? Would it not, in fact, make it a far more competitive game?

Even more mysteriously, for a game that's called 'You Be The Judge!', the opposition team in this case is supposed to then say 'We the jury are FOR or AGAINST'. Is the judge on a tea-break then? What on earth's going on!?

Well anyway, a correct verdict allows the winning team to roll the die and to then put 'X's in the corresponding number of boxes on that weird scorecard. Then the other team gets its turn and the roles are reversed. The first team to fill all the boxes, wins. But, there are only eleven boxes on that weird scorecard - the game, according to the official rules, is designed to be over and done with in a matter of minutes.

Hardly in keeping with the spirit of the legal profession is it, getting things sorted out at that sort of speed?

We dumped the official rules (and that numerically challenged die) by the wayside pretty quickly and, with some small alterations, managed to reinvent this as a truly interactive (if also somewhat argumentative) game that lasted for almost two hours. Both teams were invited to ponder the facts of each case AND give their verdicts, with the teams taking it in turns to have first crack at the one, single, solitary 'X'. The reading out of the verdict then, invariably, provoked an interesting little debate.

Yes, one or two of us did get a little too carried away (quite possibly to the extent that, had the judge in fact been anywhere around, he would've locked the whole lot of us up for contempt), but it was still a heck of a lot more lively than the tediously dull fare served up by those official Rules of Play.

It was so successful, in fact, that I can see it becoming quite a regular little event!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not what I thought it was going to be, 1 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paul Lamond You Be The Judge (Toy)
Brought this as a present for the family. Good game that is not too time consuming. The cases are really interesting and there are some surprising outcomes. Good game for traveling could be played in the car if you don't use the die to determine how many points you get for guessing a correct verdict. In our family everyone is over the age of 20. The game says 12 plus on it and I think Children older than 12 would understand how to play the game but I don't think they would enjoy it/appreciate it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars game, 16 April 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paul Lamond You Be The Judge (Toy)
I bought this for a Xmas present not sure how often it will be used
Concept for the game is good though
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Game, 1 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paul Lamond You Be The Judge (Toy)
Great game, bought it for xmas and it was very enjoyable gave our families a lot of discussion and freindsly banter
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Ice breaker, 23 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paul Lamond You Be The Judge (Toy)
Great conversation/debate provoker. Not a fantastic game to be competitive. More of an ice breaker to get a gathering going.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars You be the Judge, 13 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paul Lamond You Be The Judge (Toy)
Enjoyed playing the game with family and friends. It is a fun way to encourage young readers and inspire reasoning and creative thinking. The product arrived promptly and in good condition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good boredom breaker, 14 Feb 2012
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paul Lamond You Be The Judge (Toy)
Ideal for a quick game whilst having a brew. Enough cards included to keep this game fresh for years on end. Play this with my girlfriend a lot and even though both involved in law some of the answer stumble us and make us laugh out loud.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well thought out and a good balance between tough and guessable for the non lawyers amonst us, 18 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paul Lamond You Be The Judge (Toy)
The game is suitable for the lay-man, not just the lawyer. It takes as long as you want, since there is no defined end to the game. Generally, the brain has had enough after an hour. It`s very much a travel item, packed as it is in its tin box.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars You be the judge, 12 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paul Lamond You Be The Judge (Toy)
Its a present for someone so will not know exactly how good until it is unwrapped on Christmas Day itself..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Paul Lamond  You Be The Judge
Paul Lamond You Be The Judge by Paul Lamond Games
£9.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews