Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Divertente, 20 Aug 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Italian Easy Reader: Omicidio alla moda (Italian Edition) (Kindle Edition)
Once we have passed the basics of Italian, it's good to find a book that is easy to read, plausible in its plot and thoroughly enjoyable. Because it is designed as an easy reader, it's no good expecting great depth to the characters but each one is sufficiently outlined to give an added reality. The story is set in the Haute Couture district of Milan where a murder takes place in one of the leading fashion houses.
There are not too many demands from the language at this level and the use of the Present Tense is more frequent than might be expected at this level. It's also worth having an Italian-English dictionary on your Kindle for the occasional unusual word or phrase. However, quite unusual words are translated in superscript next to the Italian. And, as you can imagine, there is a lot of dialogue in the book which uses colloquial expressions which are easily understood and well-worth remembering for the future in studying current Italian.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eccelente!, 30 July 2011
By 
Steve Truman (London, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Italian Easy Reader: Omicidio alla moda (Italian Edition) (Kindle Edition)
It's a standard type detective story, reasonable characters and written in Italian that I could easily understand. Uses a limited vocabulary, but sufficient to tell the story, and makes occcasional use of conditional, ipotesi and congiuntivo.

I would recommend it to all intermediate Italian speakers who, like me, need more practice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Omocidio alla moda, 25 Sep 2011
By 
David Smith (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Italian Easy Reader: Omicidio alla moda (Italian Edition) (Kindle Edition)
A useful text for those who want to practice their Italian at about PLIDA B1 level, that is to say after say three to four years of night classes. The story 'un giallo' concerns a murder in a major Milan fashion house and manages to maintain one's interest even though the language is straight forward. The authoress, Cinzia Medaglia seems to have the knack of writing simply but effectively. As with her other books there are pockets of information about Milan and its culture, and some of the more difficult phrases are translated into English.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well worth buying., 17 Mar 2013
By 
Linda Oliver (Southampton, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Italian Easy Reader: Omicidio alla moda (Italian Edition) (Kindle Edition)
I am really enjoying reading my first book in Italian. It is very easy reading, but I find it a little frustrating that many of the verbs are in the present tense. However, I would recommend this to anyone wishing to practise or improve their Italian.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Good Read, 4 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Italian Easy Reader: Omicidio alla moda (Italian Edition) (Kindle Edition)
It's amazingly simple writing for a beginner in Italian like me, and interesting enough to encourage me to return to it daily
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, 13 Mar 2013
This review is from: Omicidio alla Moda (Paperback)
Arrived fast and exactly as expected.

Some parts looks good, others I think I need the dictionary for. Looks like a good story though and not too advance to be off putting!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fashion, models, coffee and parties, 25 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Italian Easy Reader: Omicidio alla moda (Italian Edition) (Kindle Edition)
This one in the series is a good story with some excellent characters, lots of coffee drinking and fashionistas. The plot is good and the end nice and dramatic. It helped with my transition to level B1 as well as giving a good read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars great book !!!, 2 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Italian Easy Reader: Omicidio alla moda (Italian Edition) (Kindle Edition)
good story line, easy Italian for intermediate !!! good book for learning Italian with an interesting fast pace novel, recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining, 18 Jun 2012
This review is from: Italian Easy Reader: Omicidio alla moda (Italian Edition) (Kindle Edition)
An excellent and entertaining crime story. The language is mostly straightforward and after a few pages you forget that you're reading in another language.
For more reading practice I can also recommend Racconti dell'Apuano and Le Figlie dei Faraoni.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This was a new baby gift., 2 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Italian Easy Reader: Omicidio alla moda (Italian Edition) (Kindle Edition)
While this was a gift to a new baby I know the content very well because both of my children and granchildren have it on their shelves and it is much loved by them.. I have already heard from the new mother and grandfather that they are enjoying very much. A book every child should know and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews