Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Venetica RPG
Lets be fair this is not the greatest RPG in the world. Neither is it the worst. Some of the background voices do grate after a while, it does have issues. I found it colorful and charming. Combat is not difficult, although the boss battles seem a little over the top, but then boss battles in general seem over the top to me regardless of game. I put nearly 50 hours into...
Published on 4 Mar 2011 by Wareyme

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable
Ok so it's not the best RPG in the world but it's not as bad as people make out. Voice acting is better than a lot of games out there and the story line is good. Combat sytem is easy to understand as is the attributes system. The camera can let one down on occasion but that happens in the best of games and I rarely found it bothersome. This game is cheap now and in my...
Published on 29 Jan 2011 by Mstadrong


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Venetica RPG, 4 Mar 2011
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Venetica (PS3) (Video Game)
Lets be fair this is not the greatest RPG in the world. Neither is it the worst. Some of the background voices do grate after a while, it does have issues. I found it colorful and charming. Combat is not difficult, although the boss battles seem a little over the top, but then boss battles in general seem over the top to me regardless of game. I put nearly 50 hours into Venetica without really meaning to. Hell, I enjoyed it. It's got a nifty fast shortcut but you have to pick and choose your spells or fighting abilities as not everything is available all the time. I've rated this 5 stars for enjoyment because I really did enjoy playing it, lone voice maybe, and 4 stars overall. It's not Dragon Age or dungeon siege but I will keep it and maybe play it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable, 29 Jan 2011
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Venetica (PS3) (Video Game)
Ok so it's not the best RPG in the world but it's not as bad as people make out. Voice acting is better than a lot of games out there and the story line is good. Combat sytem is easy to understand as is the attributes system. The camera can let one down on occasion but that happens in the best of games and I rarely found it bothersome. This game is cheap now and in my opinion a neglected bargain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's not terrible., 18 Feb 2011
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Venetica (PS3) (Video Game)
It's not the worst game to come out recently. Yes it's buggy, it freezes on occasion and every now and again you might find you can't interact with anything, but this is nothing that a restart won't fix. As long as you remember to save frequently.
I've rated it for the gameplay, ignoring the bugs. The storyline is a bit on the daft side, but there are plenty of side-quests, a nice amount of things to kill and some interesting powers available through the twilight world. There's plenty to do, some nice loot to find, and enough to keep any Action/RPG fan occupied for a while if they can learn to live with the faults.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quite Fun, 13 July 2011
By 
Ms. N. J. Weightman "werewolf" (northumberland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Venetica (PS3) (Video Game)
Considering this was a low budget game I think they did very well on it. I'm a massive fan of RPGs and so I bought this game (mainly to keep me busy until skyrim) and I have to say I've really enjoyed the game so far. I know a lot of people complain about the graphics but I actually like them as it makes the game feel light hearted and not all serious, because of this it is one of those games that you can just pick up and play despite your mood.

So far I haven't had any major problems with glitches, but then again glitches never bother me. Even the best of games have glitches and so you really can't condemn a game just because it has a few. Heck the Elder Scrolls series is known to be one of the greatest RPGs and they always have a large number of glitches, but that never stops anyone from enjoying those games and so it shouldn't bother you with this one.

Though the story is a little 'silly', at least it is more original than most of the story lines in RPG. I never found the voice acting to be all that bad and I actually find a lot of the characters very entertaining and funny, much like characters from Dragon Age.

I think most people are unfair when talking about this game. At this price it is really worth getting as it is enjoyable, despite a few little problems here and there. If you're a fan of RPGs I would recommend it, especially if you can get a cheap price. Just always remember that it is a low budget game and therefore you've really got to give the game developers credit for what they managed to achieve.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Although it has charm, this gem has some flaws, 11 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Venetica (PS3) (Video Game)
Venetica was one of those overlooked titles that did not reach the whole European region, only the UK, and I have always wanted to play it. But at that time did not own a PS3, but this game has always been on the back of my head - and I now can say with an honest opinion, that this game is very worth your time and money if you are a RPG fan.
If you can look away from some of the bugs like; missing audio dialogue, texture popping and the occasionally game breaking bugs. [game breaking bug: can be resolved by quitting the game to the PS3 menu screen] The game will take you on a entertaining journey, high and low trough the contrasting streets of Venice.
The game has a easy learning curve, big skill tree with many spells and skills to learn, the choice of joining one of 3 guilds in Venice and dialogue that effects the outcome of the ending.
I did all the quest and accumulated 40+ hours of gameplay, and I got the good ending. But I still want to go back and just be the unsympathetic evil hero to get the bad ending.
On a side-note to all that cares about gaining trophies - one word, easy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Average if you like RPG's., 17 Jan 2011
This review is from: Venetica (PS3) (Video Game)
Venetica suffers from a number of problems, mainly the poor graphics and an awkward camera. It looks like a PS2 game and the camera can drive you mad sometimes as it wildly swings around. To add to it's problems the textures are poor and the animation leaves a lot to be desired. Also there are frame rate issues as the picture stutters sometimes. The real time combat is O.K. and there are plenty of quests to keep you busy. The story? Well it's O.K. Your getting the idea - it's an "O.K." kind of game if you like RPG's, shame it has been let down by poor production values and an awkward camera as there is a good game in there somewhere struggling to get out.

If you need an RPG fix then all the essentials are in place as you talk to NPC's, level up your stats., go on numerous quests etc. If you can find it in a bargain bin then Venetica is probably worth playing if you get it at a bargain price, just don't expect a next generation title with high production values.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hola ciudadano, 18 Aug 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Venetica (PS3) (Video Game)
Venetica no ha salido en España para Playstation 3 aunque esta traducido y doblado al castellano, quizas por que es una conversion directa del juego de Xbox 360. Una aventura larga y variada con soporte para trofeos y que aunque tiene algunos bugs algo molestos lo compensa con una profundidad y una personalidad muy marcadas. Lo he superado varias veces para ver sus 2 finales y es una compra que recomiendo, siempre y cuando lo veais por menos de 15 libras.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Complete and utter bobbins, 22 Feb 2011
By 
John Clayton III (Greystoke) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Venetica (PS3) (Video Game)
There's not really a whole lot to say about this one beyond that to be honest.

It's a buggy, low budget RPG that sets it's sights far too high and falls unbelievably short of what it seems to have been trying to accomplish. It takes a number of cues from the Fable games, but is far rougher in execution, not to mention being repetitive in the extreme and showing truly awful visuals, voice acting, plot, game structure, longevity... pretty every area that game can possibly suck in, it does... like you wouldn't believe.

It may seem simple to play at the start, with it's button bashing combat and Bioware-esque branching dialogue/action set up, but this game has nothing else to it beyond that. The combat never gets any deeper, the dialogue branching is largely pointless and the entire game feels like one long string of fetch quests.

This is a lazily designed, outright broken in places game that is impossible to recommend. If you're utterly desperate for an RPG and don't care if it's a mess or not, then get Alpha Protocol.

Trust me, this one ain't no good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 18 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars lame, 22 Dec 2010
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Venetica (PS3) (Video Game)
Movement in this game is horrible, camera is mainly the problem. Questing made me so frustrated i wanted to destroy my controller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Venetica (PS3)
Venetica (PS3) by Mastertronic Ltd (PlayStation 3)
£18.89
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews