Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars274
4.5 out of 5 stars
Platform: Card|Edition: 2100 Microsoft Points|Change
Price:£12.98 - £39.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 December 2010
This one is for all of you who are buying XBox points for the first time - I have no idea why anyone else would be reading a review of this! :)

-- Microsoft Points (MSP) --
These points are the same as the Microsoft Points (MSP) that you would buy on the XBox from Microsoft directly (tho worth noting for the complete novice, different to the Achievement points that you get towards your Gamerscore for playing games on the XBox).

-- Cost Comparison --
Points cards usually work out cheaper (depending on postage costs!) compared to buying these directly from Microsoft. Direct, the equivalent cost - at time of writing - is £17.85 for 2100 points (£8.50 per 1000MSP). I have been comparing prices for points on and off for a few years now, and generally stock up when I find them under £15 as they rarely go much below this (you do not need to spend them straight away).

-- Packaging --
As 'Roronoa Zoro' points out, the packaging has now changed (from a DVD sized case with inlay and a seperate card with the code on it) to a thinner card cover with a card encased in egg-box-like packaging. :)

-- Generic Points vs Game-Branded Points --
It is also worth noting that these points can also purchase anything that Lips/Halo/Call of Duty branded points can buy, and vica versa - for example, Halo points are just points, and can buy other games / add-ons for the XBox. The advantages of (for example) a Halo-branded points cards is that it shows a bit more thought if you are giving it as a gift - it just depends on whether the branding is worth the (usual) slight price difference for your gift. Having said this, in some cases the branded points come with added download content, for example, I believe the Halo card comes with a download code for an avatar item.
44 comments|137 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 18 May 2013
Two of these 2100 points cards cost less than one 4200 card. Go figure. I dislike the whole points economy model but what can we do about it. It's crazy that buying instant online points without all the postage, packing and middlemen is more expensive than stocking and shipping concealed crypto codes on bits of plastic in boxes round the globe.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2011
What can I say - be smart buy these points in advance as the prices on xbox live are excessive. Really quick delivery, recieved after a day when amazon specified 5 working days. Service is excellent as usual.
0Comment|19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2011
What can I say Microsoft point cheaper than offered on Xbox Live. It amazes me that I can get this product delivered at a cost less than getting just the points from Xbox Live.
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 October 2013
see above. no need to give these a rating. also pointless now due to them being replaced with real money value cards. it turns out that these were better value than the new cards though. dont believe me, youtube it and see for yourself
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 25 June 2013
There's not a lot I can say about these that hasn't been said a million times before. They're points from Microsoft and they're used to buy content for your xbox 360. That's about it really...

But, by taking advantage of the reduced prices here I saved myself a bit of money. The price here fluctuates a bit but any time I've ever bought these the cost has always been lower than if I'd bought them at the game shop in town. Around Christmas time these are always on 'The List' so I like to stock up throughout the year when I see them on offer.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2011
Although this is a great deal, they should adopt Play-Asia's way of sending the code through email after purchase, I would buy from xbox live but they overprice their stuff.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2014
Previously, 2100 worth of points would amount to around £19 in most other places. There is no reasonable excuse for why this amount of points costs almost double their actual monetary value. If you buy it at this price, you are essentially getting half of what you've paid.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 November 2011
at under 15quid, you'd be stupid not to buy these points!! i bought two of these totalling 4200 for £29.98, to buy Call of duty Elite which was 4000mp and still had points left over, whereas if i was to buy call of duty Elite off a normal retailer or even Microsoft it would have cost me £34-5.
11 comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2010
The trick with XBox points is the fact that after you purchase, you go online, download something for, say, 800 points and never really know what you have paid, so the best thing to do is know how to work it out.

Very basic: Take the cost of the card and divide by the number of points.

So a £14.99 card will mean each point is 0.007138 each (a fraction of a pence - it's important not to round up as most cards up to and over £20 for 2100 points will show each point costing 1p, unless you use as many decimal places as possible, and the key here is to get the BEST deal).

You can set up an Excel sheet very easily.

Once you know the value of each point when you buy something you just need to multiply it by the amount of points you will be spending.

So at that rate a Lips track at 160 points is gonna cost you about £1.14.

400 Point download: £2.86
800 Point download: £5.71
1200 Point download: £8.57

The cheaper the card the better and even on XBox Live 2100 will set you back £17.99 so a Lips track will be 23p dearer and you'll lose £1.71 on a 1200 pointer.

Get 'em whilst they are cheap!!!!
44 comments|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See one answered question


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)