Customer Reviews


74 Reviews
5 star:
 (54)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Israel K - Somewhere Over the Rainbow Album
This is a very pure and gentle album that is real chill out stuff. It is nice to hear the wonderful quality and tone in Israel K's voice and to hear him sing about his homeland is uplifting. Naturally, most buy the cd for the cover of Somewhere Over the Rainbow which is amazing, but do please take the time to listen to the rest of the album as it is different, yes, but...
Published on 15 Jan 2011 by Sassy56

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars his favourite track in recent times
Sadly, CD was bought to play the title track for my brother's funeral, his favourite track in recent times. I prefer the haunting choral version sung by my Edinburgh, senior secondary, school choir in the 60s, but it never made it to the recording studio for obvious reasons. Still, the haunting calm of his voice is not a bad alternative, and the ukele doesn't overpower.
Published 1 month ago by ngd


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Israel K - Somewhere Over the Rainbow Album, 15 Jan 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a very pure and gentle album that is real chill out stuff. It is nice to hear the wonderful quality and tone in Israel K's voice and to hear him sing about his homeland is uplifting. Naturally, most buy the cd for the cover of Somewhere Over the Rainbow which is amazing, but do please take the time to listen to the rest of the album as it is different, yes, but well worth a listen. It is fine for people to download single tracks if that is what they want to do but to do that would mean not hearing this wonderful (sadly no longer with us) mans beautiful voice. We all have our own opinions and views but I love to buy CD's and hope to be able to do so for many years to come. This is a must album in any collection. Buy it, play it, love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars His music is so good, I returned it to Amazon!, 4 Feb 2011
By 
L. Sadler (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have given this 5 stars because I have been absolutely bowled over by Iz's music - I had never heard of him before. After playing the cd halfway I took it out the player and sent it back to Amazon. Instead, I ordered ALL of Iz's full cd's, plus three of the cd's he made with his former band. There is so much beautiful music on all of his cd's, the "Greatest Hits" one simply does not do him justice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brings Sunshine Every Day, 12 Dec 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a real chill out CD. The vocals and tracks make you feel you are forever in the sun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ABSOLUTELY FABULOUS, 4 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What a wonderful surprise this album was, so spiritual, relaxing, beautiful voice, meaningful, for summers in the garden for winters by the fire, so adaptable and very very beautiful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars spot on, 28 Feb 2011
By 
Mr. Re Symonds (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This was a gift to the wife, she played it once and never stopped playing it.She is over the moon with it, Says the songs and music are great and his voice is so soothing and smooth.We would another cd later on from the same singer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful..., 4 Feb 2011
Heard the song Somewhere over the Rainbow and just loved it so bought the CD, some of the songs are quite different and not as good but his voice and the ukelele come across so beautifully definitely recommend buying this - its a pity he is not with us anymore to make more of this beautiful music
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Entertaning, 15 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent disc.packaging adequate,intack on arrival
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 July 2014
a ok ta
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars his favourite track in recent times, 4 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Sadly, CD was bought to play the title track for my brother's funeral, his favourite track in recent times. I prefer the haunting choral version sung by my Edinburgh, senior secondary, school choir in the 60s, but it never made it to the recording studio for obvious reasons. Still, the haunting calm of his voice is not a bad alternative, and the ukele doesn't overpower.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars cd, 27 Jun 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
this is a good cd to listen to in the car as i drive along and stuck in traffic jams
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Somewhere Over The Rainbow
Somewhere Over The Rainbow by Israel Kamakawiwo'ole
Buy MP3 Album7.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews