Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars10
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£8.34+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 June 2011

Disc 1
Mingus Three (1957)
1. Yesterdays
2. Back Home Blues
3. I Can't Get Started
4. Hamp's New Blues
5. Summertime
6. Dizzy Moods
7. Laura

Charles Mingus Quartet And Max Roach (1955)
8. A Foggy Day
9. Drums
10. Haitian Fight Song
11. Lady Bird
12. I'll Remember April
13. Love Chant

disc 2

The Clown (1957)
1. Haitian Fight Song
2. Blue Cee
3. Reincarnation Of A Lovebird
4. The Clown

East Coasting (1957)
5. Memories Of You (take 7) 4.26
6. East Coasting (take 4) 5.10
7. West Coast Ghost (take 6) 10.24
8. Celia (take 5) 7.51
9. Conversation (take 16) 5.26
10. Fifty-first Street Blues (take 4) 5.46

disc 3

Mingus At The Bohemia (1955)
1. Jump Monk
2. Serenade In Blue
3. Percussion Discussion
4. Work Song
5. Septemberly
6. All The Things You C-sharp Minor

Pithecanthropus Erectus (1956)
7. Pithecanthropus Erectus
8. A Foggy Day
9. Profile Of Jackie
10. Love Chant

disc 4

Jazzical Moods - Volume 1 (1954)
1. What Is This Thing Called Love
2. Stormy Weather
3. Minor Intrusion
4. Abstractions

Mingus In Wonderland (1959)
8. Nostalgia In Times Square
9. I Can't Get Started
10. No Private Income Blues
11. Alice's Wonderland
22 comments|55 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
In this value package from Real Gone Jazz, you get eight classic albums from classical-turned-jazz composer-musician and double-bass player Charles Mingus on four disks, a true bargain for any fan.

Here's what you get on your four disks:

Disk 1
1. Mingus Three (1957)
2. Charles Mingus Quartet and Max Roach (1955)

Disk 2
1. The Clown (1957)
2. East Coasting (1957)

Disk 3
1. Mingus at the Bohemia (1955)
2. Pithecanthropus Erectus (1956)

Disk 4
1. Jazzical Moods Volume One (1954)
2. Mingus in Wonderland (1959)

Fans of Mingus may know of his multiracial origins (part Chinese, part Swedish, part black African) and the severe stigma he suffered as a young struggling cellist trying to make it in classical music, until his change to double bass and move into jazz. He was a very adventurous composer and prolific writer, often employing a band of as many as 10 different musicians each of whom had an individual score written by Mingus for them to play. On this interesting collection both `Pithecanthropus Erectus' and `The Clown' are considered Mingus classics and amongst some of the most adventurous music ever to emerge from the jazz idiom. He was also famous for his large and intimidating physique and occasionally ferocious uncontrollable temper.

Charlie Mingus died in January 1979 at the relatively young age of 56, having suffered for several years from muscle-wastage due to Gehrig's Disease. Some consider he has a place among the greatest 20th century composers, and would even put him in the top five.

The sound quality of the Real Gone re-issues has been occasionally criticised by keen-eared audiophiles, and there is some small merit in this criticism. If you are very fussy about faultless sound quality, you can buy all these albums separately: however if you're relatively new to Charlie Mingus and happy to experience a broad selection of his output including a few of his truly great works, then you can't go wrong with this 4-disk package. I'm no obsessive audiophile but to me the sound quality on this set is in every way acceptable. OK it doesn't include `Ah Um' or `Let my Children Hear Music' but nevertheless the package would be worth the asking price just for `The Clown' and `Pithecanthropus Erectus' by themselves; the other works are a bonus.
0Comment|30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 September 2011
I plan to buy all the sets in this jazz series by real gone jazz, you get great music from the 50's, greatly remastered by the best exponent of genre.
This one is great, as is the set by Thelonious Monk and Sonny Rollins

The problems are technical, I don't expect extensive liner notes and it is fine that the label just gives us the name of all the players (which is not always the case) , but the problems are the following

1) the jewel cases are very unfriendly, they arrive mostly broken and the cd's fall. It is very hard to pull out the cd's from the inner part of the case and they fall on the outside part of the case (this is a one dbl case that holds 4 cd's)

2) The name of the 2 LP's on each cd should be written on the cd.

3) the slim booklet includes the musicians, but the insert on the back cover lists the name of the LP's without the musicians, it would make more sense to have all this info together in the back cover. And it would even be cheaper.

All this said I have all these releases on my wish list, I have already bought 5 sets and ordered 3 more. Each cd includes 2 ORIGINAL LP's without bonus tracks mostly it's 70-80 minutes per cd.

So, dont hesitate, at the price just buy it, you wont regret it even if this is the first jazz cd you hear
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I have reviewed most of these and therefore can only endorse the other reviewers' comments. Difficult to review classic albums in a short space. If you have time, read mine and others. Mingus remains a major player and influence on jazz and musical history. Another bargain re-issue. The packaging and information leave a lot to be desired, but looking around the information is there. What can you expect for a giveaway. 'Pithocanthropus Erect','The Clown', and 'Mingus In Wonderland' are worth the price alone. The rest is a bonus. Marvellous Mingus. A treat.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2016
great albums great price
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2016
Back to basics, had to listen to what the greats have passed on and have been truly educated.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2016
Very good, highly recommended!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 February 2015
Mingus is simply great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2014
Great music by a Great Composer, though I'd say that the case is pretty boring if your into the aesthetics. I was put of by the fact that the 8 Classics were shoved onto four discs.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2016
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)