Customer Reviews


103 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (29)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (24)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


41 of 44 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars At that price? Excellent!
I see the terrible reviews and just have to have a laugh.

1. Go to youtube and do a search. There's some guy that did a ton of work reviewing this little device and it covers almost everything.

2. Stop griping about the date setting. Solution also online, otherwise crop it.

3. No memory card included? You have to be kidding! There are the...
Published on 6 Dec 2011 by Amazon Customer

versus
50 of 54 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Instructions & more..
Customer Video Review     Length:: 1:26 Mins
The specifications given for this need an explanation, the sensor is 640x480 and it records video in AVI format at that, for still images up-scaling is used to achieve 1280 x 960.

The instructions with these camera are rubbish, so here's my translation:

You need to charge the camera 1st, plug into a USB port for that, but...
Published 16 months ago by Charles


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

41 of 44 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars At that price? Excellent!, 6 Dec 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 808 Car Key Fob Ring Spy Camera Camcorder Hidden Camera Hidden Cam Spy
I see the terrible reviews and just have to have a laugh.

1. Go to youtube and do a search. There's some guy that did a ton of work reviewing this little device and it covers almost everything.

2. Stop griping about the date setting. Solution also online, otherwise crop it.

3. No memory card included? You have to be kidding! There are the same models being advertised at 5 to 6 times the cost of this thing. Stop being stupid. A 4GB will get you by surely. You didn't buy this to make a pro recording of a wedding.

4. The whole thing costs less than a pizza. I mean, come on. What were you expecting? Spielberg's finest?

5. It generally does what they say it will. Send it back if it doesn't and they will replace. They really are that good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


50 of 54 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Instructions & more.., 7 Dec 2012
By 
Charles (Europe) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: 808 Car Key Fob Ring Spy Camera Camcorder Hidden Camera Hidden Cam Spy
Length:: 1:26 Mins

The specifications given for this need an explanation, the sensor is 640x480 and it records video in AVI format at that, for still images up-scaling is used to achieve 1280 x 960.

The instructions with these camera are rubbish, so here's my translation:

You need to charge the camera 1st, plug into a USB port for that, but not for more the 75mins, or you will damage the battery.
The camera records onto a Micro SD Card which you must purchase separately, get a class 4 card, class 6 or better fail with many.
Insert the Micro SD card (contacts facing up) into the spring loaded slot being careful it doesn't go in at an angle, or the card will disappear into the camera body!.
The easiest way to mount the camera where needed is with 3M Dual Lock Tape.

Operation:
Only the top 2 buttons actually function, the lower of those is the power button, hold to turn camera on.
The indicator lamp will come on (may flash once or twice) then stay lit, the camera is now in standby mode.
The top button is the trigger, hold to start a recording, indicator flashes & goes out. Press again BRIEFLY to stop recording.
Press trigger BRIEFLY in standby mode to take a still image, indicator will flash once & return to steady on state.
Hold the power button to turn camera back off.

If when you press the trigger button the indicator just flashes repeatedly, there is a problem with your Micro SD card, full or missing perhaps.

To set the time, create a text file called TAG.txt with the content in the format:
[date]
2012/11/14
16:08:38

Save that to the root of your SD card, the camera will read, set the clock, then delete it when switched on, time will be remembered till battery goes flat.

Crashes: If the camera refuses to turn on (battery is charged) press the reset (thin piece of wire needed) you may need to press the power button at the same time.

Notes:
This is a 808 #9 which is a modified 808 #3, it can be used as a webcamera but as long term use will damage the battery, best don't. The 808 #11 & above have a improved charging circuit which avoid this problem, they are also HD with 1280x720 resolution.
These can be used as a card reader too, but performance is poor, so best use a separate card reader.
The camera draws power from the battery all the time, so will eventually flatten it even when left unused.
Battery life is dramatically reduced in cold conditions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 43 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Think carefully before you buy one of these., 7 Nov 2011
By 
Shaun Dobbie "Shaun" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 808 Car Key Fob Ring Spy Camera Camcorder Hidden Camera Hidden Cam Spy
These key chain cameras are pretty hit and miss. There are many versions that all look the same but are internally different and have different qualities. Search "chucklohr" and you will find out lots of useful information about these cameras. I got a version 9 camera which records in widescreen by cropping off the bottom of the video. The images are not cropped and use the full image sensor area. These cameras are great because they are cheap but you have no idea what you will end up with. There are at least 10 types of this camera that all look identical but are very different in terms of their internal construction and quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Mighty Midget of a Mini Camera!, 23 May 2011
By 
Mr. N. D. Withyman "nwithyman" (Chelmsford, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 808 Car Key Fob Ring Spy Camera Camcorder Hidden Camera Hidden Cam Spy
I had been idly looking at various mini cameras for some time when I came across this key fob item which was being marketed at an extraordinarily reasonable price. Since not much money was involved, I decided to 'give it a go' without too much in the way of expectations by way of the product itself or the speed of delivery as I went for the 'no cost' option.
Well before the expected date, a small package dropped through my letter box which to my great surprise contained this tiny camera well protected and in good condition. A quick check confirmed that all was in order but was both amused and mystified by the most curious of Chinese to English translations I have ever encountered in an instruction manual - it was nigh on incomprehensible! Thankfully, a supplementary version no doubt produced by 'discountedtoyou' was also included which made much more sense. (NB - further help can be found via a Google search).
Operation of the camera is in fact pretty straightforward. It's charged via a mini USB connection to the pc with a cable supplied; turning on is a simple matter of holding the on/of button down for a few seconds then, to take 'stills' a quick prod on the other (adjacent) button or a longer prod to start taking a video recording.
The quality is obviously not brilliant but is far better than one might expect from a lens so small - the only drawback is the relatively narrow field of view and the guesswork required when aiming at your subject without the aid of a viewfinder, but the inclusion of one would obviously defeat the entire object of a camera the size of a small car key fob!
The method of changing the imprinted date has yet to be mastered but overall, you just cannot go wrong with this piece of kit - all much less than the price for a pack of fags!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing for the price, 18 Aug 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 808 Car Key Fob Ring Spy Camera Camcorder Hidden Camera Hidden Cam Spy
As has been said there are many versions of this camera, some of which are apparently next to useless. I am however glad I punted the price of a couple of pints on mine. The model I have is a great, fun little gadget which provides remarkably clear images for so small a cost and size. Okay it doesn't perform so well in low light but neither do some video-cameras that are twenty times the price so I am far from disappointed. If you still have any credit on your card buy this little camera - you can borrow the mini SD card from your 'phone to test it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 0009 KEY FOB SPY CAMERA, 17 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 808 Car Key Fob Ring Spy Camera Camcorder Hidden Camera Hidden Cam Spy
NICE LITTLE CAMERA FOR QUICK PICTURES FOR USE ON THE MOVE, GOOD PRICE BUT REMEMBER TO ORDER MICRO CARD WHEN ORDERING AS IT NEEDS CARD TO WORK, GOOD VALUE FOR MONEY.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Waste of money, 10 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 808 Car Key Fob Ring Spy Camera Camcorder Hidden Camera Hidden Cam Spy
The first one I got did not function correctly, the company got in touch when I gave negative review and was very keen to remedy the situation (a positive). A replacement was sent and this one does not function either. It does absolutly nothing sadly except show an amber light when plugged in to charge.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Never worked, 15 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 808 Car Key Fob Ring Spy Camera Camcorder Hidden Camera Hidden Cam Spy
Does not work, charging, the card had to be bought and when it was after all the charging and studying and trying. It never worked, waste of money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good product - I bought a couple actually, 21 April 2012
This review is from: 808 Car Key Fob Ring Spy Camera Camcorder Hidden Camera Hidden Cam Spy
I wrote this review because I noticed people seemed to be writing reviews that didn't reflect the product's quality.

I bought a couple of these because they were so good.

You can see what they look like from the image above, and this youtube video shows the cam too: (not my video, but thought it might be useful)

[...]

The cam did not come with a memory card, but since they are so cheap to buy it didn't really make a big difference.

The first cam I bought has lasted me well over a year so far (and still working). I bought a second cam just because I liked the first product so much and wanted a spare.

I wanted to add that I bought from Discountedforyou too. The reason I have mentioned this, and have done so in another cam review, is because I think it makes a big difference who you buy these products from. Discountedforyou answered my questions, and also did extra things like adding their own instructions - because the original instruction are not well translated.

To sum up:

A good, stable product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars well pleased, 3 Dec 2011
By 
Dm Marshall - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 808 Car Key Fob Ring Spy Camera Camcorder Hidden Camera Hidden Cam Spy
bought this spy cam as a joke . and at first I could'nt get the micro card to fit.
but the people at THT were really great they sent me another unit and it's
really great, I keep on my car key fob and it really does take good photos,
hav'nt tried the video yet ,but well pleased
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa6675f54)

This product

Only search this product's reviews