Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A truly great disc, 2 Jun 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Definitive (Audio CD)
I do not know how I can have lived without these discs for so long. Discs one and two are really out of this world and then the Porgy and Bess sets new heights. I am just thrilled every time I listen to these two sing, and the standard of the arrangements and the playing is just faultless. It is just one of the best sets I can think you can buy and at a bargain price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars That Certain Something, 20 Feb 2011
This review is from: The Definitive (Amazon Edition) (MP3 Download)
This is a perfect summation of three great albums by two of the greatest jazz artists of all time. If you've never heard any of Ella Fitgerald and Louis Armstrong's work together then you've been missing a real treat. If nothing else these tracks are absolute master classes in jazz singing, and playing. The band lead by the brilliantly restrained Oscar Peterson act as a wonderfully subtle foil for the two stars, and Louis Armstrong plays some of his most beautifully subdued and nuanced trumpet solos. Every track shows a level of sophistication that seems to be almost entirely missing from todays Pop music, and they were Pop music when the albums were first released. Apart from anything else there's something incredibly romantic about these songs and any music collection that doesn't include them will just lack that certain something.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Definitely Definitive..., 14 Dec 2009
By 
C. FULLER (Brixham, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Definitive (Audio CD)
This 3 part slim-pack set is a real treat for the fans of both Ella & Louis bringing together their most famous recordings in a single purchase. Presenting "Ella & Louis"; "Ella & Louis again"; "Porgy & Bess" plus bonus tracks this all adds up to approx 217 minutes of magic. The recordings here date from 1946 to 1957 and truly deserve the definition "definitive" as surely these recordings are milestones in both jazz popular music. The packaging looks great and the sound quality lives up to the initial impression of the presentation. There really are too many classic performances within these 50 tracks but if I were pressed then I'd have to pick "Moonlight in Vermont" from CD1; "They All Laughed" from CD2 & "I Got Plenty of Nuttin'" from CD3. It has been said before but it still is true that the public domain law has made available legally recordings such as these and for that we are most grateful! Look out for more CDs from this independent label.

CD 1: Ella & Louis plus The Frim Fram Sauce/ You Won't Be Satisfied/ Dream A Little Dream Of Me/ Can Anyone Explain?/ Necessary Evil/ Oops!
CD2: Ella And Louis Again plus Makin' Whoopee / Comes Love/ Would You Like To Take A Walk?/ I Get A Kick Out Of You
CD3: Porgy and Bess plus These Foolish Things & Who Walks In When I Walk Out?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Three classic albums at a bargain price, 21 Oct 2013
By 
mariopops "Andy Rogers" (SOLIHULL, WEST MIDLANDS United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Definitive (Audio CD)
I bought this primarily for CD3 - "Porgy and Bess" which I'd wanted for some time but was equally chuffed with the first two discs - Louis and Ella both in fine form , over three hours of music on three beautifully re-mastered CD's and all for a bargain price. As a blast of classic jazz it takes some beating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars class music, 18 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Definitive (Audio CD)
great songs,great artists.Classy album all round.nice to sit in the armchair in the fading light and melt away into the pasr.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars sublime, 24 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Definitive (Amazon Edition) (MP3 Download)
Music is a matter of personal taste I know but this album is beautiful and i would defy anyone to say didnt like it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great ella and louis, 12 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Definitive (Amazon Edition) (MP3 Download)
Great songs wonderful performance by these fabulous people. No hesitation in recommending this. Just the background for reading my books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars WOW ! ABSOLUTE MAGIC, 10 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Definitive (Audio CD)
TWO SUPREME ARTISTS AT THE TOP OF THEIR POWERS WITH THE OSCAR PETERSON TRIO AND BUDDY RICH ON DRUMS WITH SOME OF THE WORLDS BEST SONGS .AN ABSOLUTE BARGAIN
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Definately the definitive collection, 21 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Definitive (Audio CD)
This is the best collection of hits I have ever purchased; it really includes all the best songs the pair has ever performed. On top of that, it is also excellent value for money. It's a "must have" for all Ella and Louis fans!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Definitive (Amazon Edition)
The Definitive (Amazon Edition) by Ella Fitzgerald & Louis Armstrong
Buy MP3 Album£5.79
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews