Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


40 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kind Of Wonderful
This is a magnificent box set. The production values in the booklet, the cover reproductions and the box are superb. The music is without exception wonderful. Davis with Evans were at an absolute peak on most of this music, even the much maligned Quiet Nights is more than listenable.
The only problem is one common to all box sets of this type, successive takes of...
Published on 13 Jan 2004 by B. W. Thew

versus
24 of 28 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sony packaging problems, again!!
The content of the music and the booklet are excellent. The 3 stars reflect the poor packaging. The cd'd are forced into a plastic case on top of eachother. There are 3 cd's each side, which mean to play the lower cd you must remove the others. Is it too much to ask for individual sleeves? My cd's were warped by forcing them in a packaging which is clearly unsuitable...
Published on 13 Nov 2010 by A. S. Noble


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Timeless!, 5 Nov 2014
By 
David Lusher (London England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
One of the greatest jazz collaborations is captured in this excellent 6-disc set. Great sound reproduction and wonderful, timeless music. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Too Much Of A (Very) Good Thing?, 22 Feb 2012
This review is from: The Complete Columbia Studio Recordings (Audio CD)
This is a superb collection at a rediculously low price. My only reservation is that surely even a completist will find all the alternative versions of tracks rather wearing. Even so there is some of the loveliest jazz ever recorded in this collection. So buy it (and then consider buying "Together" by Paul Desmond and Chet Baker as well - a sublime combination).

Oh, and the book's fairly impressive too. Buy with confidence and enjoy for a lifetime!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb package, 21 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Columbia Studio Recordings (Audio CD)
Excellent. Beautiful music, beautifully packaged.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WONDERFUL MUSIC, 23 Dec 2010
By 
Antonios Bimplakis "THE DRUGSTORE" (THESSALONIKI, GREECE) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Complete Columbia Studio Recordings (Audio CD)
EXCELLENT MUSIC,THE WONDERFUL PRODUCT OF THE MEETING OF TWO EXCELLENT MUSICIANS

AS FAR AS THE PACKAGE,GOD HELP US!!!!
RICHARD DEAN ANDERSON HAD LESS WORK TO DO IN MACGYVER SERIES

ANYWAY AN IMPORTANT PURCHASE IN AN UNBEATABLE PRICE.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I Envy Purchasers, 3 Dec 2010
By 
Chris H (Hove, Sussex) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Complete Columbia Studio Recordings (Audio CD)
I envy anybody buying this at the price. I splashed out first time around, but cannot regret that as it provides so much: not only the original recordings but alternate takes, and one great unissued piece. Essential stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 20 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Hubby loves it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Completists only, 23 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Columbia Studio Recordings (Audio CD)
Miles Davis & Gil Evans' collaborations are among the most highly-regarded Big-Band Jazz albums of their era - well, three of them are at least; Quiet Nights is widely regarded to be a rubbish and Miles didn't want it released - and they should be in any Jazz collection (although, personally, I think Sketches of Spain is over-rated).

Why then the relatively low rating? Well, two main reasons. Firstly, the shoddy packaging that has been noted by many other reviewers. Earlier editions of this set (and all the other Miles "Complete" boxed sets) came in CD-sized boxes with robust sleeves that were easy to get the CDs out of without damaging them, but later editions in the DVD-sized box that resembles a book - while rather smart and good-looking on one's shelf - are very tricky to use without damaging the discs.

The other reason is simply that the three albums that make up this set (four, if you really want Quiet Nights) are very easily available on their own for rather less than the cost of this box (and without the packaging issues). More than 50% of this set consists of alternate takes. Nothing inherently wrong with that - it does say "complete" after all - and while a large number of those alternates are also on single-disc reissues of the albums lots of them are only available here. It's just that casual listeners will probably not be interested in, for example, the *12* (Yes, TWELVE) different takes, rehearsal versions, false starts and fragments of "I don't want to be kissed by anyone other than you". Not since Charlie Parker has music been issued in such detail. I couldn't disagree more with the reviewer who suggests this set as a "good place to start" with Miles' music! The collaborations with Gil, while an essential part of the Miles canon, aren't particularly representative of his music as a whole, and people "starting out" with Miles or Jazz in general are almost certainly going to be put off by all those alternates.

The huge quantity of unreleased material is great if you're a collector, or you want to get an idea of how this music was made (there was some overdubbing involved, particularly with Miles Ahead, and this set features the original tracks and the solos on their own), or are a student who wants to analyse this music in detail. But I think most casual listeners will want to just listen to the albums as they were originally issued - which you can do with this set, as the original masters are all programmed first; but if this is all you want to do, why spend the extra money on all these extra bonus tracks? I'm a rather obsessive collector of Miles' music but I can't honestly say I'm likely to listen to all of these bonus tracks a great many times.

Alternate takes aside, there are a couple of things here which, as far as I know, are not available on CD anywhere else, such as the track "Blue Xmas" (as bad as it sounds to be honest) and the unissued 1968 suite "Falling Water". But these alone will not be enough reason for most people to want to splash out for this (generally, I find, with Miles, if something was unissued, then there was a good reason) - unless you're a completist, collector, or student, stick to the original albums instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Music, 9 Dec 2011
This review is from: The Complete Columbia Studio Recordings (Audio CD)
Just what I was looking for, the perfect Christmas present. Delivery was very quick and the whole process was very efficient.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Complete Columbia Studio Recordings
The Complete Columbia Studio Recordings by Miles Davis (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews