Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Welcome Re-appearance
I was surprised when this became another box set that vanished, especially as I had not bought, only borrowed it. Thank goodness that somebody at Sony has wised up to what is sitting on their shelves in the vaults.
Published on 3 Dec 2010 by Chris H

versus
4 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Prefer the older long box set
As i have the previous box set of this release with the cd's in there own case and the enclosed booklet it was a pleasure to read the notes and not have the cd's getting scratched.....this set has the cd's laying on top of each other and can get scratched trying to remove them. If you want to play disc 1 you have to take out disc 3 then disc 2 and where do you place these...
Published on 3 Jan 2011 by Ken Ashby


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Welcome Re-appearance, 3 Dec 2010
By 
Chris H (Hove, Sussex) - See all my reviews
This review is from: From Nashville To Memphis - Essential 60s Masters (Audio CD)
I was surprised when this became another box set that vanished, especially as I had not bought, only borrowed it. Thank goodness that somebody at Sony has wised up to what is sitting on their shelves in the vaults.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 60s Elvis studio package, 20 Feb 2002
By A Customer
After "The King of Rock'n'Roll" box, compiling the 60s box must have been a headache for RCA. They've left off the film soundtracks, gospel and live recordings to present Elvis' studio tracks in crystal clear sound and chronological order, complete with out-takes. Lacking the "must-have" appeal of the preceding and following boxes, this remains a superb and intelligent compilation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars as good as it gets, 3 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: From Nashville To Memphis - Essential 60s Masters (Audio CD)
As this is a re-issue of the 1993 LP-sized boxset at a fraction of the original cost, one can hardly complain about the lay-out of the box itself !
It contains the cream of Mr. Presleys 60's output - without the film hits (and the ghastly movie fillers) and the spiritual songs. In my book he reached his artistic pinnacle during this period. Add to this songs, sidemen and producers of the highest order. This is good music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Elvis was a force to be reckoned with in the '60's, 9 Feb 2011
This review is from: From Nashville To Memphis - Essential 60s Masters (Audio CD)
If you need evidence that Elvis didn't 'die' when he went in the army, as John Lennon once famously said, this set is it. The studio sides spanning five discs from 1960-69 are of the highest order and show that Elvis was a creative force throughout the decade.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great re-release, 19 Nov 2010
This review is from: From Nashville To Memphis - Essential 60s Masters (Audio CD)
The year is 1993 and after the release of the essential 50's, it is time for the 60's now!
Again a wonderful box set was presented by BMG, with all the masters on it from this time period, except from the soundtracks and gospels.

Design
The box set looks really great, well taken care of with all the information in a very complete booklet. The pictures of the covers are wonderful and in excellent quality of course. BMG really did a fine job here.

Sound: They also did a great job remastering the sound. The quality is outstanding and makes it possible to enjoy this release over and over again.

Content
No where else you will find such complete image of the roaring 60's, which in Elvis' case are really a bit undervalued. Here is the ultimate proof Elvis did a lot more then making movies after he returned from the army. 130 high quality songs will reach your ears, listening to these great CD's.

Are there plans to reissue the 50s/70s box sets aswell ?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars From Nashville to Memphis, 1 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: From Nashville To Memphis - Essential 60s Masters (Audio CD)
I had this set years ago and lost it during house moving. Great to have it back. A lot of people might knock his Sixties stuff because of the film output but there was also a lot of good stuff in there. Great memories !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars About as good as it gets, 21 Oct 2011
This review is from: From Nashville To Memphis - Essential 60s Masters (Audio CD)
A Trip through the sixties with Elvis Maturing Voice as the years went by from the fast Make me know it to the more Romantic There's Always Me, Classic's like Fame and Fortune to Suspicion to country I'll Remember You, the variety
In Elvis's Voice is amazing, I would recommend this box set for young and old alike
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Elvis From Nashville To Memphis, 25 Mar 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: From Nashville To Memphis - Essential 60s Masters (Audio CD)
i think that this is a very tidy boxset and it is easily stored considering i have the rare vinyl press edition of this boxset. The reason i bought this again is because i dont want to use the vinyl as the lp's have never been played so i can listen to this collection for the very first time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Terrbile case, 8 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: From Nashville To Memphis - Essential 60s Masters (Audio CD)
The case for this collection must be the worst I have. One day either the case or discs are going to be damaged trying to get the discs back into the case. Its a real shame as the product is so well presented. I expect better things from Sony
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The King, 9 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: From Nashville To Memphis - Essential 60s Masters (Audio CD)
What can you say about Elvis. He really was the king of Rock and roll and most other music. FABULOUS
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

From Nashville To Memphis - Essential 60s Masters
From Nashville To Memphis - Essential 60s Masters by Elvis Presley (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews