Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Now this is more like it!
Whoever compiled this really knew what they were doing!
It's a 6 CD compilation that focusses on the songs - in pop, rock and dance categories - that really matter to people, that really made a difference. Songs that weren't even necessarily hits - the emphasis is on quality. Well, having said that, there's a sprinkling of "cheese" there too - but very little, just...
Published on 13 Nov 2010 by coca-ebola

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars classic electric
album, wasnt as good as expected but thats not the sellers fault, was my choice, excellent copy and cover was in first class condition. will use again
Published 15 months ago by jim dunne


Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Now this is more like it!, 13 Nov 2010
By 
coca-ebola (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: 100 Hits: The Electric Eighties (Audio CD)
Whoever compiled this really knew what they were doing!
It's a 6 CD compilation that focusses on the songs - in pop, rock and dance categories - that really matter to people, that really made a difference. Songs that weren't even necessarily hits - the emphasis is on quality. Well, having said that, there's a sprinkling of "cheese" there too - but very little, just enough to add "flavour".

All the discs are nearly or actually full to the brim, and there are a few extended/alternate mixes thrown in (e.g when "Two Tribes" appears it's not the standard-issue version, but one with no middle-eight and some dub-type fadeout/echo business at various points).

Great to see so many songs that seldom if ever get compiled, but are nevertheless engraved on the memories of a lot of people - Carmel's "Bad Day", Primal Scream's "Imperial", Then Jerico's "The Motive", both of Voice Of The Beehive's big hits, both of the Radio Heart & Gary Numan chart entries.

Personal faves include Echo & The Bunnymen's seldom-compiled "The Game", two B-Movie tracks (!), three Jesus & Mary Chain items, two Yes items (!), the Cars' oft-overlooked "Since You're Gone", the Dream Academy's version of "Please Please Please...", two from John Foxx...
And there are some oft-neglected gems at the cheesier end of the spectrum too: "I Can't Wait", "Self-Control", "Heartache Avenue"...two of the three Red Box hits (pity they couldn't make it a hat trick), and a Strawberry Switchblade track which isn't "Since Yestarday" (hurrah! It's "Jolene" - would've been even better if they'd thrown in "Sunday Morning" as well, or the original version of "Tress...", maybe next time)

In fact the only criticisms I have are the token megahits - e.g: do we need another copy of "Blue Monday" or "True Faith", how about a less overexposed NO number? And why include the repetitive extended version of "Walk Out To Winter" (Aztec Camera) instead of the extended with-extra-verses version of "This Corrosion" (Sisters of Mercy)? And these are minor blemishes on a terrific compilation, one which actually serves a purpose.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not the same old same old, 31 Dec 2010
By 
This review is from: 100 Hits: The Electric Eighties (Audio CD)
This compilation doesn't contain too may of the usual tracks that appear on 80s compilations. Lots of these tunes I had forgotten about and literally hadn't heard in 25 years, they are not all the most cutting edge of the 80's but I enjoyed that few seconds at the start of some tracks when I was unsure of the song. It's a refreshing change from the stock 80s/alternative/electronic tracks that have become boring now because they are overplayed and over compiled(no matter how brilliant they were at the time).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars THERE ISN'T A BAD TUNE ON IT!, 27 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 100 Hits: The Electric Eighties (Audio CD)
This is an excellent album, full of good music. Not all Spandau ballet , Duran Duran and Wham. It is the music of the time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good Old 80s, 15 Oct 2013
By 
Mr. Barry Ferguson (Scotland UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 100 Hits: The Electric Eighties (Audio CD)
As I love the 80s , I had to buy this compilation, allot of good favourites on there plus there is a few on there that I forgot about, so if your a 80s lover you got to have it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars classic electric, 15 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 100 Hits: The Electric Eighties (Audio CD)
album, wasnt as good as expected but thats not the sellers fault, was my choice, excellent copy and cover was in first class condition. will use again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent value for money, 15 July 2011
This review is from: 100 Hits: The Electric Eighties (Audio CD)
100 'Electric and Alternative' from the 80's for [] quid can't be bad can it?

Some of the acts hardly fit the 'Electric and Alternative' tag (Bananarama, Modern Romance, Chaka Khan, to name but three) but there are some class tunes in here from likes of The Bunnymen, Blancmange & The Adventures. The aforementioned acts appear at least twice and I quite like that although you would have thought it possible to select 100 separate artists to represent the whole decade.

Ideal for an 80's night and I'm certainly going to check out the others in the 100 Hits series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Poor box set, 30 Dec 2010
By 
Nd Massey "Hellboy" (Kinver UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 100 Hits: The Electric Eighties (Audio CD)
This box set had everything from great songs to unkown acts and i was excited when i recieved it. when i played it was very dispointing with many songs unkown to me or just plain bloody awful. Overall i only knew about 20 songs out of 100 worth listening to and many of them was duplicated on other box sets.
I would look to other box sets from the Demon range particularly the 80's pop which has got the majority of the hits from this set and has a better overall song quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

100 Hits: The Electric Eighties
100 Hits: The Electric Eighties by Various Artists (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews