Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good collection for the price
I probably wouldn't have bought the collection if the price wasn't so decent. I have most of the mono albums (but no record player to play the old LPs) and didn't want to buy the new set of CDs (though I was tempted) so this was a good choice to listen to some of the superb mono recordings of Bob Dylan. Some of the track selections were odd and there were a few tracks I...
Published on 25 Oct 2010 by Andrew Buckle

versus
35 of 37 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars That One Dylan Track That You Gotta Have?
In days long past Columbia used to release Bob Dylan compilations as 'Greatest Hits', 'More Greatest Hits' and 'The Essential Bob Dylan'. If you were a collector, fan of the man, you bought them because they, invariably, contained one track that you couldn't otherwise get. Well, here we are again covering similar ground. Looking forward to the release of Bob Dylan's 'Mono...
Published on 16 Sep 2010 by Kim Hatton


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

35 of 37 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars That One Dylan Track That You Gotta Have?, 16 Sep 2010
By 
Kim Hatton "Kim Hatton" (Nottingham) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Best Of The Mono Box (Audio CD)
In days long past Columbia used to release Bob Dylan compilations as 'Greatest Hits', 'More Greatest Hits' and 'The Essential Bob Dylan'. If you were a collector, fan of the man, you bought them because they, invariably, contained one track that you couldn't otherwise get. Well, here we are again covering similar ground. Looking forward to the release of Bob Dylan's 'Mono Collection of his first eight albums? Got it on pre-order? Don't think you need this?

Think again. This set contains one track unavailable in Mono on CD, namely 'Positively 4th Street'. I used to be a Dylan completist, as much as funds would allow but not so much in these austere times. But if you haven't got a Mono copy via the original single or EP or from 'Greatest Hits Mono LP [Pity they missed that out, it contained 'Positively 4th Street' just as 'More Greatest Hits' contained a great version of 'Watching The River Flow and 'You ain't Going Nowhere']from the sixties are you sure you can let this go? Of course what we really need now is 'Bob Dylan - The Singles' including the EP's. It would make a nice addition to the CD catalogue, lavishly packed, each CD in an historically accurate sleeve with the Old Columbia Label on the CD and containing all the B Sides with a booklet containing liner notes from Greil Marcus or Clinton Heylin.

UPDATE: If you buy 8 Album 'Mono Series' you will receive the bonus of a download of all eight albums together with 'Positively 4th Street' so, finally, this disc is an affordable taster for those who wish to sample Dylan's Mono recordings before, possibly, spending 63 on the whole collection or those who simply cannot afford 'The Mono Series'. Incidentally, if this is a series it suggests it may be the first of a new collection of Mono recordings. We've got the chance to get the albums now. Will future releases in the series contain EPs and Singles in Deluxe packaging - ie carefully produced facsimiles of art work etc?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good collection for the price, 25 Oct 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of The Mono Box (Audio CD)
I probably wouldn't have bought the collection if the price wasn't so decent. I have most of the mono albums (but no record player to play the old LPs) and didn't want to buy the new set of CDs (though I was tempted) so this was a good choice to listen to some of the superb mono recordings of Bob Dylan. Some of the track selections were odd and there were a few tracks I would have loved to see added (some have been mentioned already on the review pages such as Mixed Up Confusion) but this is a decent 'best of'. The track introduction / notes are ok but on the short side. A good taster for the complete set, as well as including the excellent 'Positively 4th Street'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As Near Perfect As It Gets..., 4 May 2011
By 
Og Oggilby "Og Oggilby" (North London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Best Of The Mono Box (Audio CD)
Fans of the major Rock and Roll artists are continuously being asked to fork out their hard-earned for stuff that they've already got. That's capitalism for you, and well, much like the ones you love, you'll go that extra mile (or spend that extra Euro) for them. I have never stopped to count how many times I have duplicated many of the tracks here, in acquiring the Dylan catalogue first on vinyl, then CD. However, it doesn't matter. The music is still as inalienably brilliant every time. The Dylan mono box presents the albums in the favoured listening format of the day, and they sound uniformly excellent to these ears. Won't stop me from digging out the SACD versions, however, or even the original CD versions. This collection tells you most, if not all, of what makes Dylan still one of the most talented and innovative artists of the Rock era. The presence of an otherwise-unavailable mono 'Positively Fourth Street' is neither here not there, really, other than as a way of flogging this set to completists. Like me. But I don't fell short-changed, when there's not a duff track on here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I own the complete SACD collection, should I go for Mono?, 4 April 2011
By 
David Calcano (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Best Of The Mono Box (Audio CD)
Well... it is a tough spot to compare a mono recording and stereo SACDs, does the mono really sound better? Well it sounds OVERLY GREAT, and to my ears it was BETTER to hear the mono recordings (not great after spending a lot of money on the SACDs) but that doesn't mean the SACDs are rubbish though, they are just different, and ultimately sound brilliantly crisp, plus some of the SACD 5.1 mixes are great; but these recordings of the 'best of mono' CD track... OH MAN! they sound like vinyl, they feel warm, truthful, direct and rounded in every note, with not a single spike that would tell you they're digital. It's just a perfect listening experience.

After listening to this mono 'taster' I had to buy the entire box, just couldn't resist it... and personally, don't regret a minute of it.

Let the music play!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars To exprience, 25 Oct 2010
By 
This review is from: The Best Of The Mono Box (Audio CD)
The Sound is excellent, I am really surprised, I did not expect this, and I own the remasters of a few years back!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A blast from the past, 18 Oct 2010
By 
J. H. Bretts "jerard1" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Best Of The Mono Box (Audio CD)
This reasonably priced selection of Dylan songs is a very good way of having the mono experience without shelling out a ridiculous amount of money for 8 albums you already own. And it is worth hearing these songs as originally released in mono because the experience is a powerful one: Dylan's wonderful voice is more to the fore and there is an intensity of sound that is missing from stereo separation. The packaging is also very good, with an excellent essay by Greil Marcus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Mono Dylan, 18 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of The Mono Box (Audio CD)
Not sure why I bought this. I like all things Dylan. I like good hifi sound. I suppose that's why, but I all ready have these tracks in stereo. I suppose there could be a marginal benefit to these being in mono.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What Is There Left To Say!, 18 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The title says it all! This just provides an opportunity to refresh a collection and relive (again!!) a youth. Also excellent value for money!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars BUY IT!, 14 Sep 2012
By 
Mrs. S. Peeling (Malvern, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of The Mono Box (Audio CD)
I had heard the (expensive) Mono boxset of Dylan's first 8 albums was worth buying. It is however a lot of money. So I tried this (cheap) sampler. It has hardly been off my CD player since I bought it. The sound quality is truly amazing. It reminds me why Dylan was such an important part of my youth. Classic track plus some others. WOW! Buy it, it is so cheap.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Give the world a new Dylan fan, 9 Dec 2011
By 
Terje Myller (Norway) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Best Of The Mono Box (Audio CD)
Should you buy this one-CD-intro to the Mono box? Maybe. It would be a great present to a friend who for some reason is not already a Dylan fan. He / she will then have a nice, not quite ordinary, mix of songs from the 60's, with the best sound ever given to these recordings, at least on CD.

For yourself, buy the box. I know you can afford it. It's such a rewarding experience to almost feel this great artists' presence straight in front of you, playing all that superb music, just for you. Yes, such is the sound quality: Crisp, detailed, clear, unveiled.

Songs shift character with differing sounds. The wide, majestic, velvety sound which the 2003 Reissue Series for instance gave "Like a Rolling Stone" is all gone here. Here you get pure, hardcore, marvelous, mono sound.

As for this intro to the Mono box, it' s not for fans, so probably the best thing you could do is to give it to someone, a kid maybe, and see if the world gets a new Dylan fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0x9ce0478c)

This product

The Best Of The Mono Box
The Best Of The Mono Box by Bob Dylan (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews