Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Joan the Maid
Which is the best film Joan of Arc is one of those questions that film buffs reserve for a good long discussion. I found this one pretty good but not I think the best (for my sins I like the Messenger, so I'll apologise now). However, this manages to give us a pretty believable Middle Ages (everyone is covered in as much clothing as possible) although the American accents...
Published on 15 Mar. 2010 by Charles Vasey

versus
10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Another Joan d'Arc
This is not a bad film and can be recommended to anybody who does not know much about this story and would like to get a visual picture of it.

It is well filmed, and the director and the actors clearly respected their subject and tried to do their best.

However, the real story of Joan d'Arc is so astonishingly unique and so full of religious,...
Published on 3 Dec. 2006 by Olga A. Baird


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Joan the Maid, 15 Mar. 2010
By 
Charles Vasey (London, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Joan Of Arc [DVD] (DVD)
Which is the best film Joan of Arc is one of those questions that film buffs reserve for a good long discussion. I found this one pretty good but not I think the best (for my sins I like the Messenger, so I'll apologise now). However, this manages to give us a pretty believable Middle Ages (everyone is covered in as much clothing as possible) although the American accents will seem out of place to British ears. The female lead manages to be both weak and powerful (as befits the Maid) and held her own in what is a most remarkable (and very sad) story against even Peter O'Toole in full flow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Another Joan d'Arc, 3 Dec. 2006
By 
Olga A. Baird (Birmingham, West Midlands United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Joan Of Arc [DVD] (DVD)
This is not a bad film and can be recommended to anybody who does not know much about this story and would like to get a visual picture of it.

It is well filmed, and the director and the actors clearly respected their subject and tried to do their best.

However, the real story of Joan d'Arc is so astonishingly unique and so full of religious, spiritual, historic, local, personal, etc. messages, that it hardly can be explained without great diffulties.

The work of Peter O'Toole (bishop Cochon)is very impressive. Because of the story itself, and because of Peter O'Toole, the fill well can be recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ‘I don’t know… I’m just taking this as it comes.’ says Joan, 21 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Joan Of Arc [DVD] (DVD)
Careful how you load this disc as it is double sided and you might start viewing in the middle of the film. The disc itself offers no facilities other than play, chapters and trailer. This is actually a 1999 TV series, filmed originally as three one hour episodes, here they are run together into a 135 minute feature and I suspect some of the continuity errors are down to scene deletions. [lose a*]. Unlike most TV productions this doesn’t come across as a cheap production and was allegedly made on a $20 million budget.
The film opens to a scene of Joan being burned at the stake –so not for the squeamish [although it is rated 12]. It then goes into flashback to retell the classic story of Joan, from birth to death. The film soon shows Joans first experience of hearing the ’voices’ as she attends church. The good thing about this film is that even if you don’t know the details, it’s all explained [even if it is all heavily romanticised].
The problem with this film is that the subject of Joan is so rooted in religion, theology, mythology and legend [the original Maid of Lorraine prophesies] and occurred in an age that we have little real understanding of, that its difficult to separate fact from fiction. In this version, Neil Patrick Harris plays a convincing portrayal as the double dealing Dauphin, later King Charles VII of France. Leelee Sobieski plays an equally duplicitous Joan D'Arc who tells an unconvinced Dauphin she will pretend to be the ‘Maid of Lorraine’ in order to fulfil a prophecy and lead the Dauphanes army and yet tells everyone else she is the ‘Maid’.
Although the plot generally follows the broad historical path reasonably well, it does take many liberties with minor details and the general storyline. Some of the scene changes can be a bit abrupt and the disc flip-over could have been planned much better, while the set scenes can look a bit staged and too clean at times [lose a *]. Although some of the single combat and small skirmish fights look a bit too rehearsed the larger battle scenes and the special effects are decent enough although lacking the gritty dirt and squalor of more modern productions. Costumes are generally good and probably depicts the era quite well and overall I’d like to rate the film higher, but I can’t. It’s a good *** and provides a good evenings entertainment for those wanting to know the bare bones of the story but will leave students bewildered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The best version of Joan of Arc....., 5 May 2005
By 
Iceni Peasant (Norfolk, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Joan Of Arc [DVD] (DVD)
I first saw this original 2-part production of Joan Of Arc on the Hallmark channel. Around the same time I also saw the big budget movie "Joan Of Arc: The Messenger", and there is no dispute for me, THIS 2-part version is by far the better one!
Leelee Sobieski plays Joan very well indeed, and the supporting cast are also excellent. The fact an actor as distinguished as Peter O'Toole is involved certainly adds favour to this version. He's fabulous as the Bishop Cauchon.
This is a very enjoyable movie, and everything is developed in a way that allows you to get to know the characters, even if they sometimes appear a bit "fairytale" at times. The other movie in comparison, appeared to go for the gruesome violence factor instead and totally lost any humanity.
The DVD is a little disappointing as it has been edited and cut down in length from that of the televised version. There are no extras to speak of either. But in terms of viewing and enjoyment this is the best Joan Of Arc produced so far!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Beautiful Portrayal of History, 13 April 2009
This review is from: Joan Of Arc [DVD] (DVD)
This film is artistically beautiful, contains superb acting, and represents the life of Joan of Arc in an appropriately compelling and much more historically accurate manner than does the more or less contemporaneous Joan of Arc film entitled "The Messenger", (which is replete with misrepresentation). While this film does take some artistic license with a few historical facts, this is done respectfully, effectively, and in keeping with the spirit of truth represented. A truly wonderful and powerful film. I have watched it repeatedly and been moved by it each time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great movie with a history lesson., 14 Jun. 2002
This review is from: Joan Of Arc [DVD] (DVD)
This is a great movie, opposite to the other versions that have twisted a little too much on the original stories.
I was feeling the chill down my back while watching, and had a tear in my eyes for about the whole movie.
Leelee Sobieski must be doing some of the best acting I have seen in a long time. Could almost been taken for an historical documentation from 1400. Would not missed it for the world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good tv-film, 25 Oct. 2013
By 
A. Nilsen "Anki" (Kristiansand, Norway) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Joan Of Arc [DVD] (DVD)
Liked it better than the one With Milla Jovowich. Leelee Sobieski has got a lot of presence and charisma. A few very disturbing and horrible scenes, but they go with the story. The film fitted well for educational purpose.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An cracking film, 2 Mar. 2013
By 
FIELD "peterfield" (Cheshire, England.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Joan Of Arc [DVD] (DVD)
An cracking film, Leelee Sobleski and Peter O'Toole are superb, the film still stand up well today and is for the most part historicly accurate, it was the French that tried and excecuted Joan.
I don't know if there were two versions of this DVD the one I purchased has a cover like the one above but it was released in 1999/2000 by ODYSSEY it's a double sided DVD and the feature film runs for 180 minutes, I presume the subsiquent versions have been edited for some reason.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent version of the events, 11 May 2010
By 
Ken Raus "Ken Raus" (Lugdunum) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Joan Of Arc [DVD] (DVD)
I do not say I have read any books on the subject of the patriotic martyrdom of Jehanne D'Arc so that well read specialists may well quibble with details but I have to say the actress Sobieski is absolutely excellent,offering a well nuanced performance and all the support players are very good,too...This is a film not a live video and so of course it is only more or less true but it is also biography as entertainment and entertain it does...O'Toole is super here in a plum role,adding some pompous gravitas and pathos to the tragedy and all of the military scenes are quite skillfully done,also,although no early handgunners are shown,only a bombard,so,a technical omission there but thematically irrelevant,of course...There have been rumours or slanders of a perverse witchcrafty or Satanic aspect to the causes of her trial perhaps in relation to Gilles De Retz but on balance she seems to have undergone the betrayal worthy believers often do who advance by their enthusiastic merits yet whose success make them jealous enemies amongst their lofty sponsors-Inheritance has little taste for revolution except as directed,so Joan went the victims way to the stake...I imagine she would have been strangled first before she underwent this wickedly cruel death after a tough rabbinical trial,given she was only nineteen years old...Long but well worth the watch but for me,I thought a French dub choice would have been rather more authentic,No? So I went and bought the French version from amazon.fr which has some trifling and negligible extras,although the French dub lacks English subtitles,however-A great film and if it's your area of historic interesse or you like biographical drama,get it and it's not even dear and doesn't really need extras as such.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Joan of Arc DVD, 17 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Joan Of Arc [DVD] (DVD)
Great film. Good quality DVD's. The film is slightly untrue in places but most Historical films are ? Fell in love with Joan :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Joan of Arc [DVD]
Joan of Arc [DVD] by Christian Duguay (DVD - 2010)
£8.86
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews