Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This will get you thinking
This review is for the Blu-Ray version - Amazon have a habit of bunching reviews together over different formats.

This is one film that I was happy to get on blu-ray over DVD. The picture quality is superb, a real show case for HD. Colours are vibrant and edges are sharp, with some grain where there are large patches of one colour, but not that you would really...
Published 16 months ago by SBno1

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Visual Dream but a Nightmare to Figure Out
Inception wasn't even on my radar until a couple of months ago when my roommate started talking about it. After seeing a preview, I quickly decided I must see it. I wound up watching it with my brother and sister-in-law while on vacation. They loved it, but I had a mixed reaction to it.

Frankly, this movie is hard to describe without giving too much away and...
Published 1 month ago by Mark Baker - Carstairs Considers


‹ Previous | 172 73 7492 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 3 times before I finally got EVERYTHING XD, 17 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fell in love with this when I watched this in the cinema (although it gave me one hell of a headache for the first half lol). However, towards the end, I dunno what scene exactly but everything just sort of clicked in my head and after watching it over and over I FINALLY understand EVERYTHING XD Fantastic film, great acting from all of them (particularly Tom Hardy *drools* <3), would definitely recommend :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Samey CGI blockbuster with a little extra thought, 4 Jun. 2012
By 
Paul T Horgan (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Inception [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
Mark Kermode has precisely identified a new cinematic business model: the Event Movie. This is a film that is replete with special effects and the consequent massive budget and the plots and characterisation are irrelevant. Money is thrown at the screen with light and magic. As well as this there is blanket publicity on all types of media. The target demographic, the 17-35-year-olds who have disposable cash and no strong binding commitments, like mortgages or small children requiring babysitters are drawn up due in part to peer pressure; everyone will be talking about it, plus also it's a night out with the mates. The arithmetic is simple: spent upwards of $200 million, get back double. This is what has made Michael Bay the most bankable director in Hollywood, despite him producing highly derivative or exploitative output.

Here we see Nolan's attempt on the genre. Okay, he's had big budgets with the 'Batman' films, but those are part of a franchise and refer to a storyline familiar to billions that it rapidly approaching its centenary. The critical difference here is that Nolan is not tied to mandatory plots and characters. In this film he does not have to have a Joker, no-one has to wear a camp costume, but the challenge is that there is no pre-sold audience willing to consume the latest in the character franchise.

The downside of the blockbuster movie is that it does rather rely on an awfully large number of bums on seats in the cinema, cascades of DVDs coming off the shelves in supermarkets and a veritable Nile Delta of streams from the video-on-demand sites. And therefore any such product (and it is a product as opposed to a work of art) is required to please all the people all the time, so there have to be intellectual sacrifices made so the Sun reader is accommodated as much as his more erudite counterparts.

Inception concerns the realm of dreams and the challenge to plant an idea in an unwilling victim instead of the normal information extraction from the victim's brain. Because this is the realm of dreams, reality can be warped as it is not subject to the laws of physics. And here is my first criticism. The dream-world of Inception bears a startling resemblance to our own. Dreams are regarded as a the recycling of our perceptions when awake, but cinematic license could have been taken. Instead reality is warped in subtle ways. A freight train battering its way through main street instead of sticking to the iron road is still a single detail in the dream world.

And what of the actual plot? Well, there is none, apart from the caper of planting the simple idea in the victim's head. You see, this is simply another Heist Movie, except the treasure is someone's mind. The analogy is made absolutely clear by the director when a critical scene involves opening arguably the biggest safe in human history. But instead of a linear plot from conception to execution we get a bit of a cheat. Inception essentially consists of a series of quite simple, but sophisticatedly shot encapsulated episodes that are exposed in the same manner as a set of Russian Dolls. In and of themselves, they are banal when viewed shorn of their special effects. The 747 episode contains the kidnapping and car chase, which contains the hotel 'kidnapping', which contains the deliberately (and therefore derivative) Bond-esque Alpine fortress assault. They have absolutely no connection with each other and therefore are a bit of a cheat. The lack of a linear plot means that any scenario could be substituted. So all we end up seeing is a series of set-pieces that are tenuously linked by the overall premise. This is film of bang-and-crash episodes. This is simply Nolan trying to make as much money (and therefore prestige in the business) as Bay and trying to add a little bit more intelligence and distinctiveness. But this is still a blockbuster and its desire to appeal to a broad spectrum and make money off them does mean that there is a loss in overall quality. The stars of the film are not actually Leonardo DiCaprio or is exceedingly able supporters (Joseph Gordon-Levitt deserves special mention and it is good to see is transition from child-actor solidifying) but is instead the production designer and his cohorts of effects makers. Like Bay this film is uneven. The characters are mere insects in comparison to the massive size of the effects deployed. This is another film that tries to demonstrate the irrelevance of the individual. We are seeing the central theme of the film 'Rollerball' imposed on us in real life.

The praise for this film does come across as a form of relief that Nolan has moved into Bay territory and produced something with a little extra thought. But that is it. Only a little extra thought amidst the special effects. Kermode says that the highest risk cinematic productions these days are middle-budget films with real plot, characterisation and drama as these have to attract a thinking audience when it is clearly more lucrative for cinemas to show these event movies so such films suffer limited runs and are invisible in the provinces. At present there is no viable counter-factual to this.

As such this film represents the distressing trend towards unsubtle visual spectacle. Entertaining at times, but it is rapidly sharing the totality of cinema with rom-coms and pretty soon that will be it.

In this context it is questionable whether it is worth watching the one time at all and not simply finding something else for your time and money instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dammed complex., 10 Jan. 2011
This is an excellent movie, great acting and amazing (but pointless) special effects. Be warned though, its takes a massive amount of concentration to get your head around whats going on - and I mean maths exam revision style.

Being so complex made it a bit boring to be honest, at times more of a chore than entertainment.

Good movie though but not one i'd watch more than once.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 57 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars GHASTLY. AND PLEASE STOP THE MUSIC.., 29 April 2011
I hated this film more than anything I saw in the cinema in the last 12 months. What a pile of overblown, over-hyped, condesending nonsense this was. Utter drivel. It has several fatal flaws, some of which I'll happily point out.

1: Most of the movie is a dream sequence, where if someone gets shot, they wake up, so what possible jeopardy is there?
2: The whole point of the story is so unbelievable and preposterous that there is no involvment in the outcome, no emotional connection, nothing.
3: At every stage we are TOLD BEFORE THE SCENE WHAT IS GOING TO HAPPEN AND WHY IT IS GOING TO HAPPEN. It's dumb, insultingly dumb, and means we're never asked to guess or second guess, so again, we've no reason to become engaged in the action.
4: THE MUSIC NEVER EVER NEVER EVER STOPS. This displays not only poor judgement, but also a lack of confidence in the ability of the plot or dialogue to keep you interested.

The little, clever clever insertion of coded references to chess players or whatever will never make up for the utter stupidity of the entire project - if anything it only serves to point it out even more clearly - and is one of the many irritating things about this white elephant of a film.

All the CGI of buildings that don't exist falling over, and the sheer ludicrousness of the whole project are boring beyond belief. This is basically a conventional thriller dressed up as an intelletual parlour game. It fails as both. It neither thrills nor challenges. It treats the audience with contempt, and thus deserves contempt itself.

If there was an original idea at the heart of this, then it's lost in the millions of dollars falling down from the sky into the computers that made the movie. If this had been made for 10 dollars by an indie, it would probably have been a really good film. Note to studios - money does not equal quality. And here's an idea to plant in someone's head - other people's dreams are really dull.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a brainy action movie!, 5 April 2011
By 
S. Grieve "SG" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is one of the best films I have seen in years. Great balance between the action, story and thought provoking twists and turns.

Buy it now, and if you happen to be one of the few who don't like it- you can easily sell it on to one of the thousands like me who will probably wears ours out from watching it again and again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 1 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Inception (Amazon Instant Video)
Love it. Gripping film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 51 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Mogadon marathon, 15 Feb. 2011
Dullsville! In no way justifies all the hype or the high gradings here. Wilfully confusing, and hopelessly labyrinthine, to the extent I ceased to care way before the end. It's well enough acted, and with good CGI, but am surprised Mark Kermode made it his film of the year.

The trouble with all the stuff about dangerously intrusive memories and different level dreams "reflecting back on themselves" is that you end up with a tortuous and interminable game; one played out without any real rules and explainable only by gobbledygook. Reminiscent, in fact, of a poor episode of Dr Who.

The end result is a tedious series of "shoot-'em-up" fight/pursuit scenes, in which most of the heroes survive despite being massively outgunned, and where the consequences of any given action are pretty well unfathomable. Are they gonna' die in reality - or aren't they? Dunno. At one point, I half expected a Ford Anglia to fly in and pick them out of the drink...

You want shoot-'em-up? Try "Heat" (the remake). You want car chases? Better off with "Ronin".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 51 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very boring indeed., 28 Dec. 2010
The premise of the film is wonderful. The actual film is very dull.

The main problem is...

Bang bang crash, OH NO we need to.... go to sleep.

Such a disappointing film from an excellent group of actors and a usually brilliant director. If I hadn't seen Nolan's work before I would have put him in the same round file as Uwe Boll or M. Night Shyamalan because of this film.

Simply looking at Batman Begins makes it clear that Nolan knows how to tell a story where the SFX are a tool. Inception falls into the trap of making the SFX be the story.

Mindnumbingly dull. I couldn't even even give mine away in case a recipiant thought I was insulting them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The return of one of the greatest warriors ever to walk the Realms!, 2 Dec. 2011
This review is from: Inception [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
This is a great book for all Salvatore fans, but particularly for those of us who loved the Legacy of the Drow series and The Silent Blade. This book finally sees Drizzt beginning to come to terms with his new life, his new companion and old enemies... Highly recommended. Who doesn't love Barrabus the Gray?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 30 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars All Hype - No Plot, 26 April 2011
I was encouraged to buy this DVD by effusive reviews, 'film of the year' hype etc. What a let-down. The so-called plot depends entirely on good CGI to rescue it from total oblivion, and the whole production comes over as a rather pretentious attempt to be 'very clever' and to create an 'intellectually stimulating' offering. Sadly, all that comes across is a rather silly series of dreamscape/reality shoot-em-up chases which set off promising something interesting but don't actually arrive anywhere... I kept expecting some sort of thought-provoking resolution, but it never happened, and it never really developed beyond the 'just plain daft' level for me. If you're still sufficiently intrigued to want to watch this total tosh anyway, check out your local charity shops for discarded copies. That's where mine is....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 172 73 7492 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Inception Limited Edition - Triple Play (Blu-ray + DVD + Digital Copy)
Used & New from: £22.55
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews