Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Kurt Wagner & Cortney Tidwell - Bringing Chart Records Back To Life
With this intriguing pairing of Kurt Wagner and Cortney Tidwell we have what is the equivalent of alt country royalty. Wagner has of course been at the centre of country soul wonders "Lampchop" for many years and those of you without "Nixon" should rapidly address the situation post haste. Tidwell on the other hand is not so well known but her family linage screams...
Published on 23 Oct. 2010 by Red on Black

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sounds interesting
I was just checking out a few names from a covermount CD given with THE WORD and glanced at this one for some info
Never having heard of either I was surprised to learn that Cortney Tidwell has family connections to the CHART label which my penfiend Ginny Wright recorded for ad had a hit single with In The Shadows Of The Night.
Seems that some of these songs...
Published on 31 Aug. 2012 by Richard


Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Kurt Wagner & Cortney Tidwell - Bringing Chart Records Back To Life, 23 Oct. 2010
By 
Red on Black - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Kort (Kurt Wagner & Cortney Tidwell) (Audio CD)
With this intriguing pairing of Kurt Wagner and Cortney Tidwell we have what is the equivalent of alt country royalty. Wagner has of course been at the centre of country soul wonders "Lampchop" for many years and those of you without "Nixon" should rapidly address the situation post haste. Tidwell on the other hand is not so well known but her family linage screams "Nashville" with her grandfather running Nashville's Chart Records, her mother was country singer Connie Eaton and her father was the producer Cliff Williamson. As for the some of the backing musicians, check out the names and offer a salute to them including William Tyler (Silver Jews), Ryan Norris (Forrest Bride, The Privates) and Paul Niehaus from the fab Tex Mex minstrels, Calexico.

The story behind the genesis of "Invariable Heartache" is warmly told in a gem of a mini documentary `Bringing Chart Records Back To Life' (the link can be found in the comment below) where our two protagonists cover songs from the old Chart records label and inject new life or completely revive them. Indeed what's fascinating is how good these songs are but how relatively obscure they have been in the canon of country music.

The flavour of them can be readily discerned from the titles such as "Incredibly lonely", (let me add its not the Team America version!) "Invariable Heartache" and the heartbreaking "Whose gonna love me now". These are surefire clues to the type of bar soaked, weather beaten lonesome country to be found here, yet it is a lovely album with Wagner and Tidwell doing a sterling job as a duet and making the songs their own. Unsurprisingly Wagner's is the more distinctive voice and on the albums fine highlight `She Came Around Last Night' the "boy plays a blinder". Of all the song choices "Pickin' Wild Mountain Berries" will sound most familiar to you because it was once performed by Conway Twitty. Both of these fine tunes could be downloaded for those who want a taster to the album.

So there you have it; an album which carves out its own little specialist niche and is none the worse for it. While the play on their names "Kort" is a bit naff, where "Invariable Heartache" succeeds so well stems from the fact that the two musicians clearly spark off one another and both genuinely love this music and manage to convince you to love it to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Enkort !, 11 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kort (Kurt Wagner & Cortney Tidwell) (Audio CD)
A monument. This guy is a pure classy (look at the sleeve) genuis. Great musician & amazing voice. American at its best
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sounds interesting, 31 Aug. 2012
This review is from: Kort (Kurt Wagner & Cortney Tidwell) (Audio CD)
I was just checking out a few names from a covermount CD given with THE WORD and glanced at this one for some info
Never having heard of either I was surprised to learn that Cortney Tidwell has family connections to the CHART label which my penfiend Ginny Wright recorded for ad had a hit single with In The Shadows Of The Night.
Seems that some of these songs were from that label including Pickin' Wild Mountain Berries which was a hit for LaWanda Lindsey who was at the time about 13 years old.
Chart also had a girl singer with the unbelievable name of Alice Creech
Though I don't know Lambchop I DO know of the Chart label and a few of its singles and LPs were issued here the Ginny Wright one mentioned above was issued in Ireland
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Should Be Better Known, 27 Aug. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kort (Kurt Wagner & Cortney Tidwell) (Audio CD)
I only stumbled across this because I was looking for an old Lambchop CD. An absolutely stunning album. It should be at least as big as Raising Sand - and certainly should be a lot better known that it is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars kort, 5 Sept. 2011
This review is from: Kort (Kurt Wagner & Cortney Tidwell) (Audio CD)
good old americana from kurt and cortney yee ha. more country ballards than my usual type of guitar based music,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Country Feedback, 30 May 2011
This review is from: Kort (Kurt Wagner & Cortney Tidwell) (Audio CD)
This is just one of those CDs that you can play at any time..in the car, sunday morning, saturday night..
The tunes are catchy, and I just love Wagners voice and phrasing. The last couple of Lambchop CDs were a little samey but this makes up for it.
I'm not familiar with the originals...do I need to be? I'm happy with these.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Kort (Kurt Wagner & Cortney Tidwell)
Kort (Kurt Wagner & Cortney Tidwell) by Kort (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews