Customer Reviews


1,049 Reviews
5 star:
 (427)
4 star:
 (329)
3 star:
 (82)
2 star:
 (62)
1 star:
 (149)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


110 of 116 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Check later reviews
UPDATE Jan 2013: Not sure if the new units have changed much since I bought mine (2011), but the prices do seem to have increased quite a bit. I broke the screen on my one quite some time ago. In fairness, this was my fault, not the products, although flush design certainly wouldn't have helped.

Have only been using this unit for 1 week so cannot comment on...
Published on 28 May 2011 by Flaco

versus
53 of 58 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Reasonable.
It's a good player for the price.
Some key points.
Sound Quality is excellent, compared to some other players for the same price, and most mobile phones.+2
Interface is weird to get used to, but still gets the job done. +1
Software sometimes bugs/glitches with converted files. So if your downloading songs from Youtube sometimes you might notice...
Published on 23 Aug 2011 by Tomas


‹ Previous | 1 2105 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

110 of 116 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Check later reviews, 28 May 2011
By 
Flaco "flacolito" (Maidstone, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kubik Evo 8GB MP3 Player with Radio and Expandable MicroSD/SDHC Slot - Black (Electronics)
UPDATE Jan 2013: Not sure if the new units have changed much since I bought mine (2011), but the prices do seem to have increased quite a bit. I broke the screen on my one quite some time ago. In fairness, this was my fault, not the products, although flush design certainly wouldn't have helped.

Have only been using this unit for 1 week so cannot comment on long term reliability (will revisit review if it misbehaves). I do not spend big money on items like these which are losable, pinchable or breakable.

At current standings, cannot find any other player out there that offers this kind of :GB ratio, and it even comes with an FM radio tuner. Amazing. Have had many MP3 players in the past, so not worried about sticking with a particular brand. Only wanted this unit for music storage: cannot conceive of viewing photos and videos or reading books on this size of screen (not with my eyesight at any rate!). Have not tried recording facility in a lecture room, but this is an additional bonus. This amount of storage is great, but the option of expansion via micro SD card is welcome, although I have yet to work out how to access the extra space.

In terms of aesthetics, software, functionality and user interface, yes it does have shortcomings - but I'm after a usable and competitive item, not an iPod challenger at 2-3 times the price. That said, I have had branded alternatives that were considerably bigger, more expensive and had less logic behind their button selections for accessing data; it really doesn't take long to learn the most frequently used keystrokes (or some more advanced ones, for that matter).

Has been an absolute breeze to transfer/delete music files either directly through Windows Explorer or Windows Media Player (just remember to select the 'Update Library' function next time you switch it on), and you can search by song, artist, album and genre as long as that structure is already in place in the location you are transferring from. It has maintained all my ID3 tag data. When you plug it in via USB, it will go into supercharge (Zap charge) mode for the first 15mins, which will offer about 1hr of playback after 1min of charging if that's all the time you've got. Useful feature, but I haven't tested out the claim.

Having the radio tuner is great, although the sound is not amazing. Supplied ear buds are usable but pants IMO. I've had worse, but even an alternative cheap pair I have sound better. Very subjective issue. Generally the sound is perfectly good and the preset equaliser settings are sufficient to actually register a difference. I'm pleased that EU firmware requirements haven't completely wrecked the maximum volume setting on this unit, but you'll need good ear buds to make the most of what's available.

Very good value, and if it's still working this time next year, I would re-qualify it as exceptional.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


172 of 187 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lots of space for the price, 15 Dec 2010
By 
Amanda Voss (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Kubik Evo 8GB MP3 Player with Radio and Expandable MicroSD/SDHC Slot - Black (Electronics)
The kubik evo is a rather nifty little number, which like the other kubik edge models is cheap and cheerful. For 8GB of space 35 is rather reasonable. The battery life is also quite impressive, and the earphones are a little better than the usually tut supplied with players. There are also a couple of nice functions which you don't get on the most basic of players, like shuffle, (they call it random setting or something), a photo viewer and a radio. The whole thing is pretty small- ipod nano sort of size, (there are some good pictures of it next to a credit card above).

Of course there are a few points to be improved; when files are put onto the player they are automatically sorted into file name order, (why?- they never did this on any of their other products). And despite a lot of trying, I couldn't get my videos to work on the player, using the software suggested, or otherwise. The weird thing is, the sample videos work perfectly. Perhaps it is only meant for short videos? Still, I only wanted the player for music, and if you're serious about video playback capability, you'll want something with a bigger screen.

However, I found that to get around the auto file sorting, you need to access the way windows media player, (or any other software) puts the music on the device. In the sync options of WMP, it is possible to change the settings for the player. If 'create folder hierarchy' is unchecked, then the music will be put on the player in the order you choose.

So overall its a nice little player, at a reasonable price- of course its not as flashy as an ipod, but if you just want to play music, it's perfect. Just don't rely on the bells and whistles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


53 of 58 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Reasonable., 23 Aug 2011
This review is from: Kubik Evo 8GB MP3 Player with Radio and Expandable MicroSD/SDHC Slot - Black (Electronics)
It's a good player for the price.
Some key points.
Sound Quality is excellent, compared to some other players for the same price, and most mobile phones.+2
Interface is weird to get used to, but still gets the job done. +1
Software sometimes bugs/glitches with converted files. So if your downloading songs from Youtube sometimes you might notice something like delayed songs. -2
Has a game for when your bored and rocking out to songs, that doesn't interfere with your music. +1
Battery is LONG Lasting. I actually left it on in my locker at work for 4 hours and it only burnt half of its battery.+1

Hope this review gonna make you buy this one since its really good considering the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars waste of money, 27 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kubik Evo 8GB MP3 Player with Radio and Expandable MicroSD/SDHC Slot - Black (Electronics)
Had this product for a few months, had trouble at first getting it to work, now it has totally broken, product feels and looks very cheap, I am very unhappy and would advise people against buying this, terrible!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy to use, long lasting, and value for money., 15 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kubik Evo 8GB MP3 Player with Radio and Expandable MicroSD/SDHC Slot - Black (Electronics)
We've now bought three of these, we like them so much.
Opening the box, you find that It comes as a full package: printed manual, USB power lead and very comfortable headphones.
The build quality is immediately obvious - not Apple level, but solid and dependable. It doesn't feel "plasticky", or that it'll only last 5 minutes. Buttons are easy to use and give a satisfying and solid "click" when used.
The build quality feel is backed up by my daughter's one surviving nearly two years of abuse at the hands of an 8 year old, and still working perfectly.
The menus are easy to navigate, and generally intuitive. Both my 6 year old and my technophobe wife have no problem with them.
It comes with "extras", including video player, games, and a photo viewer. The screen really too small for these to be that useful, but my kids do love the games, basic as they are.
The battery life is, and remains, good
At the current price, it's very good value for money, and much better than the many others I've tried at a similar price.
Any gripes? Well, maybe one. It comes well packaged, but the box is bigger than it needs to be - not very green!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


58 of 64 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great liitle player, 31 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kubik Evo 8GB MP3 Player with Radio and Expandable MicroSD/SDHC Slot - Black (Electronics)
Bought this little player as a back up for my Sony Walkman MP3 player, however I now find myself picking up the Kubik when I go out rather than the Sony! The sound quality is good and its easy to work. Put in an 8gb micro sd card which gives me a whopping 16gb of storage for my music. really pleased and would highly reccomend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars KUBIK EVO, 31 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kubik Evo 8GB MP3 Player with Radio and Expandable MicroSD/SDHC Slot - Black (Electronics)
THIS ITEM IS TOTALY RUBISH,I WAS HAPPY AT THE BEGINNING WAS WORKING OKAY,AFTER A WHILE I COME TO USE IT DOES NOT WANT TO WORK,EVEN AFTER CHARGHING ALL NIGHT,THE MICRO CARD DOESEN'T READ AT ALL,WHEN I PUT THE UNIT INTO THE CHARGER IT GOES ON WHEN I SWITCH OF THE UNIT DOES NOT COME ON.
I HAD THE UNIT IN FEBRUARY,AS I DONT WANT ANY PROBLEM I WILL THROUGH THE UNIT AWAY,BUT THIS IS TOTALY RUBISH AS I GOT A CARD READER MP3 WHICH IT COST ME 7.59 I HAVE NO PROBLEM
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Avoid at all costs - unreliable, 12 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kubik Evo 8GB MP3 Player with Radio and Expandable MicroSD/SDHC Slot - Black (Electronics)
Avoid. There’s an old saying that if something looks too good to be true, it probably isn’t true. On paper, for the price this looks excellent - an 8GB player that can be treated as a mountable drive (would be great for use with Linux) and a slot for a micro SDHC card that should offer significant expansion capability.

In practice, it’s dreadful.

The player randomly loses everything on its internal storage - not just files, but even the underlying filesystem. This first happened after the second time I copied music to the player: started the player up and found nothing there: just a 'no files’ message. The player wouldn’t mount either. On contacting the vendor I was advised to format the drive.

After formatting the drive to FAT32 under Windows it was possible to mount the drive again. (Note for Linux users - it wasn’t possible to create a FAT32 partition on the internal storage using a standard tool like gparted - the partition disappeared as soon as the player was switched on again: it only remained persistent if Windows had been used to do the formatting. So, NOT very Linux-friendly).

Since then, the internal memory has wiped itself a few times when starting the player up. Extremely unreliable.

What about the external micro SDHC slot?
Well, there’s an undocumented ‘gotcha’ there too. The player won’t cope well with more than 2048 music files on the external card. If you copy (say) 3500 files across, start playing the 3000th file and try to skip to file 3001, you’ll skip to the first file instead. Skip back from there and you’ll play file number 2048, not file 3000.

So in practice you probably can’t make effective use of a card bigger than 8GB because of this 2048 file limit. It’s a complete waste if you buy a 32GB card hoping to put a big music collection on there: it just won’t cope with it. Also note that tags on files on the external card are not recognised, so you can’t use that as an alternative means of navigation - you’re stuck with the crippled skip forward/back through the directory structure.

Use your money wisely and buy something else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars There are better mp3 players out there!, 30 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kubik Evo 8GB MP3 Player with Radio and Expandable MicroSD/SDHC Slot - Black (Electronics)
Pros:
+ Advertised charging times and battery duration seem high, I didn't test this so far.
+ It looks kind nice and sporty and feels solid enough.
+ Sound quality is very good (but not great).

Cons:
- Actual playing time is much less than advertised (when left on standby mode, battery runs down after a few days, even with no use at all).
- The software is VERY slow and common tasks take ages to do, for example skiping to the next song is painfully slow (1-2 seconds), other players do this instantly.
- Copying the mp3's on the player is also slow, almost 2 hours for 8GB (around 2mb/s).
- The player is not ergonomic at all, I'm very techie and always throw away manuals, but in this case, I HAD to read the manual just to turn the damn thing on! Even after it's on, it's a nightmare to operate it, although I'm getting used to it now BUT in comparison with other players, it's user interface and controls are simply ridiculous.
- Also, other players just resume from where you stopped last time, here you need to do a bunch of operations to make the thing remember where you stopped and then another bunch to make it resume.
- It also can't remember some settings (e.g. when you want to change what you see in playback mode, you have to change it every time).

All in all, I bought it as it was cheaper than other mp3 players and had good reviews, but it turns out I should have gone with Sansa clip / clip+ again for a few extra quid which are way better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Fine when it works, 28 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kubik Evo 8GB MP3 Player with Radio and Expandable MicroSD/SDHC Slot - Black (Electronics)
When it works, this isn't a bad mp3 player. The earphones are rubbish and will want replacing pretty quickly, but that was true of my son's earlier Kubik too, and fobbing buyers off with shoddy earphones isn't unique to Kubik, of course! (Did anyone mention Apple?...) It's a typical Kubik product; the manual doesn't give the full story of how to turn it on, as if those who wrote it were writing an outline of what they intended to be the case rather than for the actual thing. (This was also true of our son's first Kubik, which was meant to handle video; the technical support people for the Kubik hadn't the first clue, beyond the inadequate information in the manual, what parameters were needed to get video working on the machine. But in this case it's just mp3, so the technical ineptitude of technical support shouldn't matter.)

The machine has frozen completely twice. On those occasions it's recovered by being connected to a computer, but been useless when out and about. Now, after less than 4 months, the screen has died -- it's basically turned to a white background with a black leaf shape in the middle -- and this is non-recoverable. I'll add an update about whether customer services are any more competent than technical support for these devices, but for the moment I'd advise anyone in the market for a decent solid and reasonably cheap mp3 player to look at the Philips GoGear Raga range. We have two of these, they've proved excellent, have reasonable earphones from the outset, and (though this may not appeal to everyone) have a rather more natural sound balance, so will suit a wider range of listening, classical and voice as well as pop/rock. The Kubik's pretty cheap and not absolutely nasty, but our general experience with these is that they're unreliable and poorly supported.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2105 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews