Customer Reviews


55 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (25)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The character's the thing
To be honest I'm not that bothered about any weaknesses in Paul Magrs' story here; Tom Baker is back and as boomingly barmy and brilliant as ever. With a little more character interaction than the previous series, Doctor Who: Hornets' Nest: The Complete Series this is a superb double-act from the irrepressible Baker and his cantankerous housekeeper out-of-time the...
Published on 13 Oct 2010 by Captain Pugwash

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An improvement on Hornet's Nest, but still a bit too much of a tease for the followups
"I am an almost perpetual traveller. I wander through the vast starfields of the universe. I cross the bridges between dimensions. I traipse the towpaths of time. The galaxies are mine to range across for ever and a day..."

With these atmospheric opening lines, Tom Baker kicks off his second series of five linked audio adventures reprising his most famous role,...
Published on 22 Sep 2010 by Trevor Willsmer


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A quality start to another Tom Baker return, 29 May 2011
By 
R. Wood "ryecroftwood2" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
In an age where Russell T Davies, David Tennant, Steve Moffat and Matt Smith have radically reinvented Doctor Who and taken the world by storm, it's most pleasing indeed that the BBC hasn't forgotten the show's original roots. To the point where they keep its legacy alive in the form of brand new audiobooks featuring none other than the Fourth Doctor himself, Tom Baker.

Fresh off the success of the Hornets' Nest audio series, Tom reprises the role (along with his hat and scarf) once again for another five-part audio series called Demon Quest. In tow is Susan Jameson reprising her role as Mrs Wibbsey (the Doctor's Housekeeper!) as the Time Lord's companion from Hornets' Nest, and the whole arc is written by the same man, Paul Magrs.

Set one year after the conclusion of Hornets' Nest, the Doctor returns to Nest Cottage to see how Mrs Wibbsey is adapting to her new life. Unfortunately, whilst the Fourth Doctor is rebuilding the TARDIS, Mrs Wibbsey accidentally sells a key component at the jumble sale! But upon investigation, its revealed that the purchaser traded the TARDIS part for a bag containing four mysterious items, which leads the Doctor and his companion on a travel to Ancient Britain, shortly before Emperor Claudius' invasion, and find themselves caught in-between a war of opposing tribes.

The Relics of Time is an enjoyable audio play. Tom Baker, a natural voiceover, settles in comfortably to the role once again. He narrates the events with great charm and sophistication, bringing life to the character of HIS Doctor, which remains the stuff of legend. You can visualise this chapter of Demon Quest as though you were watching an original episode of the old series. It certainly captures the style and heart of old Who, thanks to Tom, Ron Grainer's vintage theme tune, the great sound-effects and background music, and Paul Magrs' script.

Magrs has been loyal to everything that made the original series so special, writing a tale that faithfully captures the essence of Doctor Who's early days. Story-wise, it has the typical silliness, drama, shocks and intrigue that any fan can expect. The Relics of Time, though, isn't all that special, and the events don't really leave you hungering for more. Rather, merely curious to discover how the loose-ends and unresolved sub-plots will be continued across the whole arc.

But The Relics of Time is certainly worth checking out, down to Tom Baker's terrific narrative, and Mrs Wibbsey, who proves to be an inspiring companion for the Fourth Doctor. Susan Jameson definitely relishes in performing such a strong character, and with Nigel Anthony providing merriment as the mysterious `Wizard' and Richard Franklin making a welcome cameo return as Captain Mike Yates, there's a lot of charm to be found here.

Kudos must also go to the BBC's graphics department for producing a delightful cover for the CD. Aside from having a great mosaic portrait of the Fourth Doctor, the inside sleeve is laid out with `cut-outs' of information, done in the style of the Radio Times from long ago, which is a nice touch, as is the excerpt from the history book that plays relevance in the story.

Doctor Who: Demon Quest looks set to being a worthwhile audio saga. While The Relics of Time is hardly a promising start (and is left far behind by the likes of The Forever Trap and Prisoner of the Daleks), it's nevertheless a fine audio book, and for Tom Baker fans - and fans of the old days of Doctor Who - it's a worthy addition to your collection, and you feel safe with the knowledge that this is early days, and the best is surely yet to follow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The character's the thing, 13 Oct 2010
To be honest I'm not that bothered about any weaknesses in Paul Magrs' story here; Tom Baker is back and as boomingly barmy and brilliant as ever. With a little more character interaction than the previous series, Doctor Who: Hornets' Nest: The Complete Series this is a superb double-act from the irrepressible Baker and his cantankerous housekeeper out-of-time the fantastically named Mrs Wibbsey, played by Susan Jameson. Just listening to the Fourth Doctor curling his tongue around the name 'Wibbsey' is enough for me, and my only grumble is that these audio books are so few and far-between.
With The Doctor and Wibbsey on the case of an Emperor Claudius impersonator, and about to arrive at the famed Moulin Rouge theatre, things are poised perfectly and I can't wait for part 2 to arrive..!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Come along, Mrs Wibbsey!, 22 July 2011
By 
Keen Reader "lhendry4" (Auckland, New Zealand) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Following the wonderful Hornet's Nest series of audio adventures read by Tom Baker, reprising his role as the Fourth Doctor, this is the first of a new series, Demon Quest. This single cd story, The Relics of Time, begins the story as the Doctor returns to Nest Cottage, with his cantankerous housekeeper Mrs Wibbsey in residence. It's nearly Christmas time again, and the Doctor is keen for a bit of time to work on aspects of the Tardis console over the holiday period. However, his maintenance, and Mrs Wibbsey's Church sale collecting causes a bit of strife when a vital piece of the Tardis appears to go missing. But is it? Who is the mysterious stranger who traded several odd objects in a bag for the console part? And why does it seem to lead the Doctor and Mrs Wibbsey on a trail hunt back to Roman Britain?

Captured by a British tribe, and forced into the role of slayer of the mysterious wizard in the next village, the Doctor and Mrs Wibbsey meet up with a lot more than than they bargained for. And are left with more questions than answers as they continue to follow the mysterious object trail.

Tom Baker is, as always, brilliant in his role as the Fourth Doctor. Funny, absent-minded, sometimes a bit grumpy, he is on top form again. As is Susan Jameson as Mrs Wibbsey - and it appears that Captain Mike Yates may be joining them for Christmas again as well - ah, but we need to wait for the next episode to find out what happens next.

Totally brilliant stuff! Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Listen and enjoy!, 1 Oct 2010
If you loved the Hornet's Nest saga,then the first part in this new adventure will leave you wishing the next part will come out quicker.Tom Baker proves yet again he is the number 1 doctor of all time,and Susan Jameson is so fantastic as the mysterious Mrs Wibbsey.So lay down turn the lights low and listen if you dare to part 1 Relics of Time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mosaic of mystery, 25 Sep 2010
By 
Paul Tapner (poole dorset england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Following on from last years series of audios Doctor Who: Hornets' Nest: The Complete Series which saw Tom Baker return to the role of Doctor Who, here's the first of five more audio adventures for the Fourth Doctor.

Whilst these return to the setting of Hornet's nest - a little cottage that the Doctor stays at from time to time, tended by housekeeper Mrs. Wibbsey who used to live in an earlier time - you don't need to have heard Hornet's nest to get into this as it does pretty much stand on it's own.

This opening story sees the Doctor having problems with the TARDIS, thanks to Mrs. Wibbsey, which leaves it only able to travel in time rather than space. Someone is in possession of the components the Doctor needs to fix things, but this mystery person has left behind some strange artefacts that lead the Doctor and Mrs. Wibbsey back to ancient britain.

In the face of warring tribes, an elephant, and a certain person who shouldn't actually be there, there's a mystery for the Doctor to solve.

This runs for fifty seven minutes and is one long episode, the only break on the cd being cd chapters. It's narrated by Tom Baker in character and he seems to be enjoying himself very much. There were times in hornet's nest when it felt more like it was him reading narration rather than playing the doctor, but that's never a problem here. And by having the bulk of it done as dialogue it also avoids the problem of earlier parts of hornets nest which had too much narration. The fourth doctor and slightly dotty old ladies have always been a good combination and the character and Mrs Wibbsey spark off each other quite nicely. In not a great manner. But a very good one.

Although this release doesn't entirely stand on it's own. There's a minimal historical adventure which is easily resolved but the central villainy and mystery remain to be looked into in greater detail in subsequent parts. Things do end on an intriguing note though that will make you want to know what will happen next.

And the final scene is quite fun with it. The story continues in Doctor Who: Demon Quest: Demon of Paris v. 2: The Demon of Paris. And I'm rather looking forward to it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An improvement on Hornet's Nest, but still a bit too much of a tease for the followups, 22 Sep 2010
By 
Trevor Willsmer (London, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
"I am an almost perpetual traveller. I wander through the vast starfields of the universe. I cross the bridges between dimensions. I traipse the towpaths of time. The galaxies are mine to range across for ever and a day..."

With these atmospheric opening lines, Tom Baker kicks off his second series of five linked audio adventures reprising his most famous role, and a rather more successful job it is than its predecessor Hornet's Nest. It's still not a fully dramatised story, though there are supporting players when called for, but gone is the awkward narrative device of the Doctor telling Mike Yates the story in favour of simply addressing the listener direct, which is much more effective and allows for some rather more convincing purple prose. The trigger for the series isn't altogether convincing, with the Doctor's housekeeper inadvertently including a vital component of the TARDIS to a church jumble sale, effectively exiling him to Earth but still able to travel in time, which comes in handy when he finds he's the subject of a mysterious and atypical Celtic mural dating back to the second Roman invasion of Britain - a period he'd never actually visited. Well, not with this face and body...

The story may not be as good as Baker's glory days, but it's certainly no worse than a couple of his latter ones and, even if there is an element of a nostalgia trip to it (it's telling the Doctor's companion is middle-aged as per those who were children when they saw the Baker stories), it mostly works rather well. Unlike Hornet's Nest opener Stuff of Nightmares, it doesn't feel quite so obviously like it's simply a setup for the next four stories, but it does have the problem of leaving you not so much with a cliffhanger as a sense of "Is that the best end they could come up with?" with no clear resolution and no real threat to its Meddling Monk-style story. Baker's voice may have aged a little, but he revels in the vocabulary and delivers it with relish as if he'd only popped out for a minute or two rather than left the TARDIS three decades ago, but while the writing's much improved this time round the story itself still isn't quite good enough to stand on its own or live up to its star turn.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Doctor Who Demon Quest Part 1: The Relics of Time - Baker's back for another entertaining tale, 5 Sep 2010
By 
Victor (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
We waited nearly 30 years for another adventure for the 4th Doctor featuring Tom Baker. Last year our patience was rewarded with the five part adventure `Hornet's Nest'. Even after the waves of nostalgia had subsided this turned out to be an entertaining adventure and worth the wait. I had hoped that it would not be a one off, and my prayers have been answered.

This is the first part of another 5 CD release. The Doctor has returned to Nest Cottage and his redoubtable housekeeper Mrs. Wibbsey for Christmas and a much needed overhaul of the TARDIS. Things soon go wrong, and some of the components of the TARDIS that he has removed for repair get lost and he is sent off on a trail through time as he tries to track them down.

Written again by Paul Magrs, this is an entertaining tale that recalls the 4th Doctor's TV era nicely. Baker's voice is a joy to listen to. He slips straight back into the role with no trouble. His is a voice well suited for audio work, he has an excellent range of expression, and wonderful rolling tones that wrap themselves around each syllable and draw you into the story. Louise Jameson as Mrs. Wibbsey makes a perfect companion for the 4th Doc, prickly, strong and able to stand up to Four's enthusiasms and flights of fancy. I think they make a good double act. Full of the whimsy, humour, sci-fi and horror that made the TV series such a success, this is a cracking story.

This follows a little from `Hornet's Nest', but it is not necessary to have heard that adventure to understand this. This is another excellent audio release, and hopefully the other 4 will be as good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "The galaxies are mine to range across, forever & a day. Sometimes, although not often, I like to get away from it all", 26 Sep 2010
By 
Sam Woodward (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Length:: 2:34 Mins

This CD is a treat for fans of the classic & new Doctor Who series, being newly recorded & enthusiastically read by Tom Baker himself!

It opens with the revelation that the Fourth Doctor has a cottage in rural Surrey which he likes to stay at when he, the "perpetual traveller", wants to sit still for a while. But one Christmas, his housekeeper exchanges a TARDIS component at a jumble sale for a bag of mysterious objects given to her by a stranger. These items are vital clues which will take The Doctor on a series of adventures through time as he tries to get the component back & discover the strangers' true identity. This hour-long CD covers the first adventure, which takes The Doctor to Celtic Britain. It's a full story in its own right, as well as part one of a 5-part series.

If you want to hear a sample from the opening chapter, then check out the soundtrack on my video. As you may expect, Tom Baker puts in a charismatic performance, which he partly narrates & partly consists of dramatised scenes with himself & other voice actors. I felt this was a highly effective approach - the variety kept me hooked more than audiobooks do when they are just read out as straight narratives & wasn't as confusing as ones that are entirely dramatised, such as the Eighth Doctor CD's.

The story is lightweight & very entertaining. It wasn't particularly original & was actually quite silly in places but was mostly setting the scene, so future volumes will probably be better & Baker's charismatic performance left me wanting more. If only I could travel forward to when volume 2 is released!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Hammy but fun..., 21 Dec 2012
By 
Mr Ghostface (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Now, it's rare to find a Who fan that isn't always happy when Tom Baker returns to the character, and no matter how much he chews the scenery (imaginary or otherwise) it's always a pleasure to hear him again. I am cautious about how the story will develop, having not heard further chapters, and I have to say it's pretty disappointing that they haven't secured the return of one of the Fourth Doctor's original companions alongside him, although there is a fun cameo from Richard Franklin. It's nice enough, if not up to the standard of a lot of the Big Finish output, this feeling somewhat more Radio 4, though Susan Jameson is enjoyable. I'd listen to the other parts but I can't say I was so pleased with it that I'd buy them. Fourth Doctor fans will enjoy it anyway, New Who fans are not going to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Short, and didn't seem to go anywhere, 7 Oct 2012
By 
S. Diment "sue_diment" (Wolverhampton, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This was the first audio story in a series of five by Paul Magrs. Sadly, it didn't inspire me to listen to the others. At only an hour long, it doesn't really have time to get anywhere. There were multiple actors reading the various characters (including Tom Baker as the Doctor), but this seemed a bit of a waste, as many of the parts are so minor. Perhaps the fact that I only ever saw a handful of the Tom Baker episodes of Doctor Who on television didn't help, but to me, the plot seemed unrealistic, and Mrs Wibbsey very strange.

The idea that Mrs Wibbsey exchanged a vital component of the Tardis for some old documents entirely by accident seemed to stretch the listeners credulity, and the story that followed didn't entirely make sense. There were a lot of loose ends, presumably answered in the remaining four episodes (perhaps if this audio CD had shipped with all five episodes sold as a package, it would have worked better). On it's own, this story felt more like chapter one than a completed story in its own right, and I didn't really get interested enough to be inspired to purchase the other parts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews