Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Budd Hopkins' pioneering work brought to life in DVD to good result
Having studied the abduction phenomenon in some depth and being acquainted with all the published work of Budd Hopkins, Ray Fowler, John Mack and David Jacobs over 30 years, I had low expectations of a dramatized movie doing justice to this enormous and detailed subject.

But wow, what a surprise. The movie really is good. It could be watched by a viewer very...
Published on 2 April 2010 by The Guardian

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting
Hmmmm Interesting, not that I believe it though. As entertainment OK. If it's a lot cheaper than what I paid (£7) it may be worth buying
Published 4 months ago by anon


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Budd Hopkins' pioneering work brought to life in DVD to good result, 2 April 2010
By 
The Guardian (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Intruders [DVD] (DVD)
Having studied the abduction phenomenon in some depth and being acquainted with all the published work of Budd Hopkins, Ray Fowler, John Mack and David Jacobs over 30 years, I had low expectations of a dramatized movie doing justice to this enormous and detailed subject.

But wow, what a surprise. The movie really is good. It could be watched by a viewer very familiar with the subject, or one to whom the subject matter might be new and unknown, and both would find it absorbing and compulsive viewing. The screenplay is very strong, the plot line thoughtful in its development and the direction and editing really first class. The actors are all excellent, and the slow conversion of the psychiatrist character to acceptance of the phenomenon as real in the face of the mounting evidence is convincing and well developed.

Although based loosely on the Copley Woods case, from which the title "Intruders" is derived, the movie is not not a dramatization of Hopkins' account of that case. The characters and settings are changed, but the essential chronology of events retained. The role played by Richard Crenna shares some of the characteristics of both John Mack (Professor of Psychiatry, initially skeptical, comes round to taking the phenomenon seriously when he examines the evidence) and Budd Hopkins, and Hopkins' real-life persona is in turn split between the Crenna and Steven Berkoff characters.

The essential aspects of the abduction phenomenon are revealed and explained in the drama: the common biopsy scoop-marks usually on the lower leg which many abductees suffer as children and which become lifelong visible scars, the nasal implants and resulting nose bleeds, the 'missing' pregnancies, the circular landing traces left by the intruders' craft (on which often nothing grows for many seasons) and the purposeful, repeated and intergenerational nature of the phenomenon.

The most chilling part for me (apart from the introduction of the 4-year old hybrid child to its natural mother...) was the private and revealing conversation between the Air Force General and the psychiatrist (the Richard Crenna character) near the conclusion of the film. This of course linked back to the first scene in the military bunker, and the scene with the crashed spacecraft in the NM desert, in explaining the policy of denial and why it is continued. This was a really interesting scene to include, not part of the original 'Copley Woods' case but nevertheless thoughtfully places the phenomenon in its global political perspective where it is taken very seriously (Above Top Secret and all that...) whilst public indifference and ridicule of abductees and witnesses remains the order of the day in the MSM, who collude in the deception.

Disclosure about this issue will have to come one day. But when?

See the movie. You'll like it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good thought-provoking story., 22 May 2014
By 
Miss A. Crocker "Reviewer" (Hampshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Intruders (1994) (DVD)
I enjoy reading and watching anything about UFO's and alleged abductions. I'm a believer in such things although I've both feet on the ground and think that 98% of sightings can be explained. What interests me is the 2% that can't.

This is a long DVD, nearly three hours, but it's good quality with convincing acting and dialogue. It tells the story of abductees and their families in USA and the emotional rollercoaster that they go through whilst being 'taken' and 'returned'.

The involvement of the US Army in the beginning is thought-provoking and acts as a good 'lead-in' introduction. It's not jumpy or scary so fit for all the family apart from really young children. There's also no swearing in it which is a bonus.

I enjoyed this immensely and certainly watched the skies at night afterwards.......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 24 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Intruders (1994) (DVD)
I really enjoyed this film it's one of the very rare alien abduction films that I can get into.
I'm undecided on the whole alien debate but I found this film to be enjoyable, scary in parts and absorbing.
After so many disappointments trying to find a good alien abduction film this was a nice surprise and one I'll watch over and over. xx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, 30 Jun 2014
This review is from: Intruders (1994) (DVD)
Hmmmm Interesting, not that I believe it though. As entertainment OK. If it's a lot cheaper than what I paid (£7) it may be worth buying
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Watch out the Aliens are here., 25 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Intruders (1994) (DVD)
Old movie but good to watch if your into alien abduction films, quite a long film so good value. Good acting and well told storyline.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars maybe some truth in it, 9 Jan 2014
By 
Ms. F. Thepot "missFT" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Intruders (1992) (DVD)
if you like alien story this one is in 2 parts and see women abducted and the grey agenda maybe there is some thuth in this story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Intruders "mini series", 22 Nov 2012
By 
M. L. Shannon (bristol england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Intruders [DVD] (DVD)
This series was ahead of its time,[originally aired in the 90s] and if you want to understand what goes on between the hours of 1-5am to a growing percentage of the population then this is for you. If i were to explain the phenomenon to someone then i would show them this film as it covers quite alot and it is loosely based on people who have experienced alien abductions and those who work tirelessly to investigate through hypnosis etc...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Don't panic the truth is out there, and may come to visit, 11 Oct 2014
This review is from: Intruders (1994) (DVD)
Another real life example, cause to contemplate what the universe really has in store for us mere mortals.
Reasonable questions, not many answers, but something to go on, work with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a nice reminder, 29 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Intruders [DVD] (DVD)
I came across this tv programme many years ago but sadly lost my vhs of it. I came across the title whilst scrolling through the list of dvds available from amazon and ordered it not knowing if it would be the same. IT IS!!! It is excellent quality and a must for all sad people like me who enjoy sci fi
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars After "Taken" It was the bit of left behind, 10 Dec 2007
This review is from: Intruders [DVD] (DVD)
I think we have been spoiled after previous films covering this sort of subject matter.
such as the slow moving yet tense atmospheric Spielberg series "Taken"
I cannot really remember much about this dull film...perhaps an alien implant whilst watching it when dozing off ?
So didn't move me to recommend it in any way.
None of the family enjoyed it finding it a disappointing waste of a film night.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Intruders (1994)
Intruders (1994) by Dan Curtis (DVD)
£4.70
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews