Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ALFIE (2004)
Generally not in favour of remakes,
they are often pointless and very often the original was still the best anyway. However, this is one of those exceptions, and it is very good.

The original was very much a film of it's era, and belongs in the 60's, this one has been updated and moved to America.

The female cast in this film is very strong,...
Published on 5 Feb 2011 by Hound Dog 2

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A day in the life of a gigolo
This is the story of "love 'em and leave 'em" Alfie, an old school womaniser whose whole philosophy on life is that women love a scoundrel. Alfie, played by Jude Law, knows exactly how to manipulate women, all relationships have to adhere to his rules, and he will think nothing of bailing out without even a goodbye as soon as a more tempting lady comes along. He has a...
Published on 24 July 2008 by N. Burgess


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A day in the life of a gigolo, 24 July 2008
This review is from: Alfie [DVD] (2004) (DVD)
This is the story of "love 'em and leave 'em" Alfie, an old school womaniser whose whole philosophy on life is that women love a scoundrel. Alfie, played by Jude Law, knows exactly how to manipulate women, all relationships have to adhere to his rules, and he will think nothing of bailing out without even a goodbye as soon as a more tempting lady comes along. He has a kind of semi-permanent girlfriend but she acts as nothing more a port in a storm he returns to when he wants to hang up his flirting boots for the night. She also has a child that Alfie is genuinely fond of, but this still doesn't stop him from misbehaving with the ladies.

Playing the field seems like his whole reason for existing until he embarks on one shenanigan too many, damaging his friendship with a very close friend. Things then start going wrong for him, including getting a taste of his own medicine from a feisty older lady, and suddenly his cosy world isn't quite as cosy anymore and he starts having serious doubts about his attitude towards people.

The film is very stylishly shot in New York, with the women that Jude Law encounters being equally stylish. Although the film's setting is modern day, it has a slight 1960s feel to it which makes Alfie's world seem even more set apart from the 'real' world that everyone else inhabits.

Jude Law puts in a convincingly cheeky performance, wittily narrating his way through the film and effectively inviting us to come along for the ride and cheer him on as he drifts from one female conquest to another. When things start to go astray for Alfie, he then enters a long period of soul searching and the film starts to lose it's direction a bit and becomes almost like a self-contained soap opera as Alfie tries to redeem himself. In fact the film's mood changes quite considerably in the second half, losing a lot of it's fun factor and becoming very melancholy and a little depressing. It's a pity this introspection couldn't have been complemented with the fun elements that made Jude Law's character so entertaining in the first half of the film.

Nonetheless Jude Law is on top form and the film has a good mixture of laughs and good drama that will keep you fully engaged as you wonder what is to become of this likeable rogue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ALFIE (2004), 5 Feb 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alfie [DVD] (2004) (DVD)
Generally not in favour of remakes,
they are often pointless and very often the original was still the best anyway. However, this is one of those exceptions, and it is very good.

The original was very much a film of it's era, and belongs in the 60's, this one has been updated and moved to America.

The female cast in this film is very strong, Jude Law comes over as a more sensitive Alfie than Caine. But with the impact of Women's Lib he is up against women who are more stronger today.

I wasn't expecting too much from this film, and surprisingly found a remake that was certainly worth watching. But try watching it without thinking too much of Michael Caine 1966.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly good, 31 Mar 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Alfie [DVD] (2004) (DVD)
I must confess to having quite serious reservations over the prospect of this movie. Being a huge fan of Michael Caine - and cinema - it was darn near heresy to remake a classic such as 'Alfie'. But, reluctantly, I watched it.
I have to say it was a thoroughly satisfying experience! I studied film (among other things!) at university, and know first-hand that too many critics can be unnecessarily snobby about the films Hollywood churns out. I've started measuring the film ratings I dispense by the level of contentment I felt afterwards.
'Alfie' is a cracking little movie. It bears little resemblance to the original, and is very much a movie in its own right. The film is an ultra-glossy affair, with Jude Law in great clothes walking through great sets and great locations with great-looking women, living a great lifestyle. You get the idea! It's a snappy story of morals, but without ever becoming too preachy. First and foremost it aims to be a slick romantic comedy, and it pulls it off.
I'd heartily recommend the film. I'm willing to bet you won't take your eyes off it and somewhere, deep down, you'll experience a real sense of satisfaction. Jude Law was made for the role (think Dickie Greenleaf!) and proves he's a star by ably carrying the picture. Ultra-solid support from Susan Sarandon, Marisa Tomei, Nia Long and Sienna Miller provides a nice mix of spices. Give it a shot. You may just like it, even though I was tempted to knock off a star for the monstrously egomaniacal post-movie credits from the director (you'll see what I mean...)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a slick and classy film, 22 Feb 2005
This review is from: Alfie [DVD] (2004) (DVD)
i must admit to being slightly biased towards this film. after seeing Law in 'Sky Captain and the World of Tommorrow' i became a fan of his work and his extrodinary talent of creating a character which is his and only his. despite this being a remake, this is what he manges to do
the film is fast paced and very stylish, with a great soundtrack and exciting cinematography. i do, however agree with some criticisms that the film seems to lose its way somewhere half way through, and it has less of a storyline, more a structure of episodes of Alfie's life. due to this my boyfriend (who i dragged along to see it with me) got rather bored in the last half hour or so. the film also lacks a satisfactory resoloution, in my mind, although the last scene is probably Law's most impressive.
so go and see this film if you want to see a slick and stylish film, with great acting from one of the most attractive men in the industry, but not if you want a complex, thought provoking plot, or a straightforward story with a beginning middle and end
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Lord, but this was boring!, 29 July 2006
By 
Mr. R. J. MacRae "jayhawk2000" (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Alfie [DVD] (2004) (DVD)
This was a messy movie, veering from one style to another, from stylised montage to a homage to the swinging 60s, before ending up sentimental and weepy, all whilst cramming in product endorsements by the second. Too many scenes were stopped short or faded out and felt unfinished.

The cliché-ridden songs whining in the background were DIRE ('like the blind leading the blind...old soldiers never die...etc'). You're left gasping to hear the original theme tune, Joss Stone's capable version of which is buried at the end of the closing credits.

Can someone please explain why they bothered filming in England? I remember them spending so much time and money turning Manchester's Northern Quarter (my neighbourhood) into Greenwich Village, which ended up being used in maybe 5 minutes of footage (the coffee shop and restaurant scenes with Marisa Tomei).

What were the fat florist and the German doctor doing in this movie??? It was like something from the Carry On films and another indication of the unevenness of the whole production.

And just think of poor Sadie Frost, having to watch Sienna's nips wiggling around in Jude's face!

A woman sat behind me sobbed through the second half (feeling sorry for Jude, which I'm not sure was the piont), while a bloke sat next to me snickered. So much for being the perfect 'date' movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Alfie Lacks Class, 5 Feb 2005
This review is from: Alfie [DVD] (2004) (DVD)
Like many films before it, Alfie has the look of being a sharp, witty and well produced film with Jude Law as its front man. Yet unfortunately the film fails to deliver any of the above. Never really taking off due to the lack of a story, the film fails to grasp the audience and leaves them after two hours with a distinct feeling of wasted time.
Although the film does have it's good points. The film looks classy, boasting a well dressed cast and a few good one liners from Law. Jude Law yet again continues to show why he is a leading man in Hollywood through his acting abilities and if you are a particular fan of him then you will no doubt find reason to buy this film.
Yet apart from the good looks of Law, which the film tries to live off, it boasts nothing other than a script which forgets the story half way through the film and an undoubtedly unthought provoking movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A rather intriguing little film, 5 Aug 2005
By 
Daniel Jolley "darkgenius" (Shelby, North Carolina USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Alfie [DVD] (2004) (DVD)
Alfie struck me as a most unusual film. I haven't seen the original version of the film featuring Michael Caine, so I went into this film with no expectations as to how things would play out. Things certainly didn't end the way I thought they would - but that it almost surely a good thing. Jude Law's modern Alfie doesn't deserve a fairy tale ending - indeed, such a flowery ending would have betrayed the real meaning of the entire film. Alfie is a charming little devil, but he's the worst kind of man - a womanizer who leaves broken hearts in his wake as he evades commitment and rushes ever onwards to more women, more cheap thrills, and ever more self-satisfaction. It's hard for me to feel too sorry for a guy like this when he eventually discovers that he's nothing but an empty shell and begins to look longingly at the things he doesn't have. He does come to understand exactly what he is by the end of the movie, but I'm not sure he ever reaches the point of redemption. Every time there seems to be some hope that he will change his life, he falls right back into the lifestyle he is supposedly growing tired of. It's important to note that, at the end, he is basically asking "what's it all about?" He still doesn't know - he's been hurt the very way he has hurt so many others, but he never goes beyond the pain to find moral redemption.
Alfie works his way through a number of women in this story: the unhappily married Dorie (Jane Krakowski from Alley McBeal); Julie (Marisa Tomei), the single mother who pretty much starts Alfie wondering about his priorities in life; Lonette (Nia Long), his best friend's girl and ultimately the instrument of Alfie's most painful lesson about his lifestyle; Nikki (Sienna Miller), a somewhat tragic manic-obsessive; and the rich, mature Liz (Susan Sarandon - and, if I'd known she was in this movie, I never would have watched it). When you come right down to it, Alfie is really just a stupid, stupid man who can't even figure out what he should want, yet regrets not having it. I'm not saying he's not intelligent - but he is stupid. No matter how much he wants to change, nothing manages to change him - not a most embarrassing little problem, a health scare involving the favorite part of his body, or even his ultimate realization of how much he has hurt his best friend. The ending is pretty much open-ended, so hope is not lost - but I'm not optimistic for this character, given his track record as shown in this film.
I should clearly state that I think Alfie is a good film - almost a very good film. Jude Law does an excellent job portraying a man who is much more complex than it might seem - and he manages to make all of his little soliloquies to the audience very effective, as they basically provide the insight into whatever soul is lurking behind Alfie's charm and carefree attitude. There's a real, tragically flawed person in there, a man who can't seem to change no matter how much he wants to. Had they wrapped the film's ending up in a pretty little bow, I would have extremely critical of this film. As it is, I seem to like this movie more, the more I reflect upon it - and that's a sign of quality film-making and good story-telling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Finally, a good remake?, 14 Feb 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Alfie [DVD] (2004) (DVD)
When I heard about this film my first response was that is was a pointless remake. After watching it I discovered I was absolutely correct... this film adds nothing to the original. True, its slick, well crafted and the cast are all very good, but the sexual politics of the 1960s version simply doesn't transfer well into modern day audience consciousness. In its favour is that it's a good film and for people who have not seen Caine's Alfie or simple don't know it's a re-make the film is an enjoyable journey and drama of a mans life (it's certainly better Stallone's remake of Get Carter). Law is very good as Alfie: slightly smarmy, but ultimately likeable. Rent this film, even if you love the original because it is beautifully constructed, but I wouldn't buy it, it simple does not measure up to the original (but then how often do remakes outshine their predecessors?).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A cockney womanizer learns the hard way about the dangers of his actions., 8 May 2007
This review is from: Alfie [DVD] (2004) (DVD)
The higher you go, the harder you fall; That's the film's premise. I should probably start off by saying I haven't seen Michael Caine's version of Alfie. Without anything to compare it to, I surprisingly enjoyed this film. All in all, I found Alfie to be a 'breath of fresh air,' a pleasant surprise, a good balance of light-heartedness fun and more serious, thought-provoking issues not to be taken lightly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Alfie, 9 Mar 2005
This review is from: Alfie [DVD] (2004) (DVD)
Very good, a great depiction of the single man! Funny in parts, but quite sad overall.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Alfie (2004)
Alfie (2004) by Charles Shyer (DVD)
£6.27
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews