Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Loved it
I am by no means a Woody Allen film and the first 15 minutes or so of this film were so shaky that I almost switched off, but it turned out to be an unexpected delight.

I'm not a Scarlett Johansson fan either, but I'm starting to change my mind after this very light-hearted but spot-on performance. She and the director made an unorthodox but highly effective...
Published on 9 Mar. 2009 by Tonkfan

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A scoop of awkwardness - an Allen blip
This Woody Allen film is a blip for him, which he later admitted (stating he would not act in his new films). The story is fast paced, hectic, colourful but lacks structure, comedy, fun and sophistication - as expected. Woody Allen's other newer, modern films do deliver, much more than this (i.e You Will Meet a..., Match Point and Vicky, Christina, Barcelona). Allen in...
Published on 29 Mar. 2011 by T. BROOKES


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Loved it, 9 Mar. 2009
This review is from: Scoop [2006] [Dutch Import] (DVD)
I am by no means a Woody Allen film and the first 15 minutes or so of this film were so shaky that I almost switched off, but it turned out to be an unexpected delight.

I'm not a Scarlett Johansson fan either, but I'm starting to change my mind after this very light-hearted but spot-on performance. She and the director made an unorthodox but highly effective double act, and while that age-old US portrayal of the British as wealthy, castle-dwelling, empty souls usually grates, for the purposes of this film it was perfect.

As good as Manhatten Murder Mystery, the only Woody Allen film I've ever whole-heartedly enjoyed, this film has more humour and a better sense of fun than any comedy I've watched in a long time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A scoop of awkwardness - an Allen blip, 29 Mar. 2011
By 
T. BROOKES "Brookey" (Midlands, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This Woody Allen film is a blip for him, which he later admitted (stating he would not act in his new films). The story is fast paced, hectic, colourful but lacks structure, comedy, fun and sophistication - as expected. Woody Allen's other newer, modern films do deliver, much more than this (i.e You Will Meet a..., Match Point and Vicky, Christina, Barcelona). Allen in this, provides an expected, but misplaced, nervous awkwardness - and this does not add to the film

The film stars the beautiful Scarlett Johansson as a quirky wannabe reporter. She is volunteered in a magic show, where Allen is the Magician. Whilst in a magic trick box she is visited by a recently deceased news reporter who gives her the 'scoop' on a murderer news story. This suspected murderer is played by Hugh Jackman.

For fans of Allen or the cast only really as the other more recent Allen films are far better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Clever And Funny., 14 Oct. 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Scarlet Johnasson and Woody Allen are two people trying to figure out the increasing deaths of young women by the Tarot Card Killer and one dead journalist reckons it's the handsome and very rich Hugh Jackman who may or may not be all his seems. She starts to fall for him while trying her hardest to find anything to link him to the murders and also not to lose her scoop. It's a very funny and clever story, lots of twists and turns. Everyone was very good and played their parts well, I'm glad I have seen it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Woody Allen fans should enjoy, 5 Jan. 2013
By 
R. Williams (Dorchester) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scoop (DVD)
Another Woody Allen film. Here's one that stars him in a supporting role. Here he plays a garrulous, quick witted magician, not disimilar to the role he played in Broadway Danny Rose. The main role is given to Scarlett Johansson, who plays a journalist who comes across information relating to a serial killer known as the 'Tarrott card' killer. She with the magician's help attempts to uncover whether the information is correct and to find out if the 'Tarrot card' killer really is a rich aristocrat played by Hugh Jackman. Much suspense and hilarity follow.

It is a film that does not take itself too seriously. If you're a Woody Allen fan I wouldn't be put off too much by the negative reviews on the site. Okay, it's not up there with Annie Hall or Manhattan, but there's enough here for you to enjoy.

Check out if you like:
Manhattan Murder Mystery,
Matchpoint,
Mighty Aphrodite
Annie Hall
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A lovely surprise of a film, 20 Feb. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have to admit that I had been avoiding this film, owing to some terrible reviews it had received in some of the press. I can't believe I waited so long to see it! I absolutely loved it. A perfect film for a cosy Sunday afternoon. You can't help but get drawn into this enticing little comedy mystery. If you loved (as I did) Manhattan Murder Mystery, then you'll surely adore this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Too kooky for its own good, 8 April 2015
By 
Albatross "Never argue with idiots" (Suburbia) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scoop (DVD)
‘Scoop’ is a Woody Allen film set in London. Despite this, most of its lead actors are not British. But that’s by the way. The fact is that it’s supposed to be a comedy. Only it’s not really that funny. Sure, there are a few lines here and there (largely delivered by Woody Allen himself) which may raise a smile, but overall it’s hardly a ‘laugh out loud’ affair.

Scarlett Johansson plays a student journalist in London who, while on stage during one of (magician) Woody Allen’s tricks, happens to be contacted by a ghost (Ian McShane) who tells her who a serial killer really is. She, in turn, decides to enlist Woody’s help and track down the alleged culprit. Only the man in question is Hugh Jackson and she falls in love with him. So you’re left with a kind of mish-mash of genres, encompassing supernatural, murder/mystery and romantic comedy. Sadly, it never really focuses on one area enough.

Scarlett and Woody are likable enough leads, but they breeze through the story (which is about a serial killer murdering women and leaving tarot cards at the scene of the crime) like they’re going on a picnic. It’s actually quite a dark affair, but you never really feel it, even in the climax at the end.

I read online that Woody Allen picked Scarlett Johansson because he thought she had untapped comedic value. She may well have, but she doesn’t really get much of a chance to shine here. Woody takes all the best lines for himself, leaving little else for her to do apart from fall in love and act a bit kooky.

Overall, ‘Scoop’ isn’t a bad film, it’s just not focused enough to be that memorable.

Bonus point (for men!) – Scarlett in a swimsuit (still doesn’t really save the entire movie though).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Worth seeking out, 2 Mar. 2015
By 
Richard Morton (Bristol, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scoop [DVD] (DVD)
This Woody Allen flick went almost a decade before finally getting a DVD release here in the UK - in some ways I can see why, it's far from his best work but as a fan I still found much to enjoy in this one.

Allen takes a starring role this time out which adds an element to proceedings as we likely won't see that much more of him on screen. He plays a stage magician who teams up with Scarlett Johansson's amateur journalist after they get a tip off as to the identity of a notorious serial killer who's bumping off London prostitutes. This tip off comes from beyond the grave in the form of a deceased journalist (just go with it).

Allen brings his usual fast patter with the odd corking one liner hitting home while Johansson plays nicely off him - they have a pretty decent, amusing, odd couple dynamic. Hugh Jackman gives us his best Hugh Grant impression as the possible murderer while a raft of familiar faces from British TV and film fill in the background.

In terms of Allen's previous work it's similar in tone to Manhattan Murder Mystery for example with a dash of the fantastic from the likes of Midnight in Paris or The Purple Rose of Cairo. Each of those films are superior to this one of course but it's still worth a go. The plot is interesting enough and perhaps most importantly it is genuinely funny for the most part - bringing a fair few chuckles and the odd big laugh. Recommended for fans, cautiously recommended for everyone else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Another underrated if imperfect late-career comedy from Allen, 13 Oct. 2014
By 
K. Gordon - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Scoop (DVD)
Another Allen film that was generally dismissed by critics, but for me was worth seeing. Certainly it’s hard to argue that this is up there with Allen’s best work, but it still has a lot of funny bits, and Allen and Scarlett Johansson have a great on-screen rapport as a young aspiring journalist and a slightly pathetic aging magician who team up to try and solve a murder case.

The two Americans have to fake their way into the upper-class world of London, to chase the young aristocrat who a ghostly Ian McShane (a great reporter who died, but got a tip crossing the river Styx, and came back to tell someone) has informed them committed a series of murders. Allen is very funny in these scenes as he tries to blend in with the lords and ladies, and Hugh Jackman does an excellent job as the suave, likable ‘is he or isn’t he’ object of their investigations, who, naturally Johannson falls for.

There are weaknesses; some logic problems with the mystery, and a pay-off that’s less than one might hope. But this does a nice job of capturing some of the feel of a witty 1930s comedy. While no masterpiece, if almost anyone else had made this film, it might well have gotten praise as an enjoyable, well made romantic comedy thriller. It just doesn’t quite stand up when compared to the heights Allen is capable of.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Scoop, 1 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Engaging and Hugh Jackman is charming as ever. Funny and entertaining and full of quirkiness that you would expect from Woody Allen. Love Jackman's take on a quintessential English man.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 19 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scoop (DVD)
I don't understand how this film isn't bigger in the U.K. because it's fantastic. So funny plus Woody and Johansson work very well together.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Scoop
Scoop by Woody Allen (DVD)
£5.55
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews