Customer Reviews


88 Reviews
5 star:
 (70)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Musical Brilliance
A Hard Day's Night is my favourite Beatle's album. The opening chord, one of the most recognisable in pop music, sets up an album which is full of classic tracks. The harmonies between Lennon and McCartney work perfectly throughout the album. The use of the harmonica on 'I Should Have Known Better' suits the song perfectly. George's guitar work on 'And I Love Her'...
Published on 30 Oct 2003 by mart17

versus
10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An aural awakening
Well after years of waiting we finally have all The Beatle's albums re-mastered and sounding as fresh as if they were recorded last week.
Back in 1988 the Beatles album collection was rushed out on CD to take advantage of the new medium which was rapidly consigning vinyl to history. Unfortunately it transpires that in the case of The Beatles collection it was more or...
Published on 1 Oct 2009 by Al-13


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Musical Brilliance, 30 Oct 2003
This review is from: A Hard Day's Night (Audio CD)
A Hard Day's Night is my favourite Beatle's album. The opening chord, one of the most recognisable in pop music, sets up an album which is full of classic tracks. The harmonies between Lennon and McCartney work perfectly throughout the album. The use of the harmonica on 'I Should Have Known Better' suits the song perfectly. George's guitar work on 'And I Love Her' helps make the song one of McCartney's best ballads. The tracks which did not appear in the movie are still great Beatle's songs. 'I'll Be Back' is a beautiful, thoughtful Lennon track which ends the album in style. The album stands the test of time and remains a classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not hard to listen to and to love., 1 Dec 2008
By 
Flickering Ember "I need a break and I wanna ... (Once Upon A Long Ago.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: A Hard Day's Night (Audio CD)
This album is a light hearted album from The Beatles, and is their first one to consist solely of their own compositions. It was the soundtrack to their film of the same title, and it was released at the height of Beatlemania.

This album is one that most people will know, and it's probably one of the most popular because it's so upbeat, catchy and well-known.

The title track, A Hard Day's Night opens the album, and there is not a lot I need to say about this one as everyone and their dog knows it. A good song which although it's played a lot, never grows old.

I Should Have Known Better makes me think of the scene in the film where the lads are on the train, and it's a favourite song of mine from this album with a catchy song, great riffs and a welcome addition of the harmonica.

If I Fell is more of a ballad/love song and it's another one which is easy to learn the lyrics to and sing along with.

I'm Happy Just To Dance With You is George Harrison's contribution to the album, and it's probably his most pop-sounding Beatles track.

And I Love Her is a fairly well known and yet somewhat understated love song.

Tell Me Why, when you see it on the film or in general, performed on stage, it's just how I imagine it; it's one of those songs that sounds very catchy and verging on a showtune.

Can't Buy Me Love is another song which needs no introduction. Again, played a lot but very catchy nonetheless.

Any Time At All is a demonstration of the shouty, screamy vocals John Lennon became famous for, and it's another favourite track of mine; it's upbeat despite sounding quite heavy in the instrumental delivery.

I'll Cry Instead is yet another infectiously catchy track and upbeat despite the title.

Things We Said Today is not only my favourite track from this album, but it's my favourite track overall by The Beatles. I love the clever transition between tempos.

When I Get Home is another John Lennon underrated gem. I like the gruff vocals in it and I like the overall melody.

You Can't Do That is a song which is also reasonably well known, and it's a good one to listen to and to dance to.

I'll Be Back is another personal highlight of the album and it is, much as the rest of the record, very catchy.

There is not one questionable track on this album, and I thoroughly enjoy listening to it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EARLY BEATLEMANIA AT IT'S PINNACLE - REMASTERED IN STEREO, 21 Oct 2003
By 
PETER XUEREB (SYDNEY, NEW SOUTH WALES Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Hard Day's Night (Audio CD)
To set the scene here: 1964 was an amazingly, ridiculously busy year for the Beatles..they achieved many goals and set standards that had many other lesser bands riding their "British Invasion" coat tails for years to come.
After conquering the USA, A Hard Day's Night was probably the crowning achievement of the year.

This 2009 CD Stereo remastered version sounds amazing and is a huge improvement on in it's shrill sounding 1987 Mono CD counterpart. As others have said the music has room to breathe and it sounds much fuller. This album included a couple of firsts for the Beatles - It was the first LP of ALL Original material written by Lennon-McCartney, the first purpose-written record & the first not to feature a Ringo lead vocal. From that distinctive opening chord on the title track, the album doesn't let up in quality and depth. Though I had only ever heard the film half of these songs and the previously issued single B-sides (Things We Said Today & You Can't Do That) as a 6 going on 7 year old in 1964, this was pretty much the soundtrack to my life back then. This is probably the most consistently excellent album of their "early period". There is some rocking toughness such as on the title track, I Should Have Known Better, Can't Buy Me Love, Any Time At All & You Can't Do That. Bear in mind that the lads were so prolific that they had also recorded an all-new 4 Track EP "Long Tall Sally" which was released around about the same time. It was arguably the best EP ever recorded!

We have a sophisticated, beautifully produced album that stands alongside the likes of "Rubber Soul", "Revolver", "Abbey Road" & "Sgt. Pepper" as a masterful recording of some great & memorable songs. The "non-film" half of the album includes such quality songs as the John's gentle "I'll Be Back", the countryfied "I'll Cry Instead", the previosly mentioned and wonderful "Things We Said Today" & the hard rock of "You Can't Do That". Any of these songs could have been "A" sides and been hits in their own right.

As a starting point to the Beatles this would fill the bill and leave you wanting to investigate more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The second masterpiece., 30 July 2007
By 
This review is from: A Hard Day's Night (Audio CD)
After the promising debut of Please Please Me and the excellent R'n'B of With The Beatles, the band returned with their third album in the space of a year; the soundtrack to a film (that was far better than it should've been) and without doubt their finest work up to that point, or even up to Rubber Soul. With the group having discovered the work of Bob Dylan early that year, a whole new layer of acoustic music was added to their work, resulting in a textured, rich sound for this record; add to this the fact that it's the first entirely Lennon/McCartney-penned album and you have several new beginnings on this LP.

The album is really a Lennon LP more than a Beatles LP, seeing as 10 of the 13 songs are mostly Lennon pieces. This means that since Lennon wrote many of them in a short period while on the road - and many of them were written for, as he puts it, 'the meat market' - there is not as great a degree of quality control as the more group-oriented LPs. For example, 'When I Get Home' is excellent melodically, but lyrically is garbage and worryingly close to the title track.

However, aside from a couple of minor dips, this is the band's most accomplished LP up to this point. The layered, deep sound on this album is surmised by the title track, most importantly it's massive, famous opening chord and the guitar solo - played on twelve string and doubled by a piano. The Dylan influence is also obvious in excellent acoustic-based tracks like Paul's 'Things We Said Today' or the slightly eerie 'I'll Be Back,' and in the harmonica used on the bawling 'Tell Me Why.'

George Harrison gets a look in on a vocalist on 'I'm Happy Just To Dance With You,' a song with surprisingly dissonant chords, Lennon shows his more vulnerable side on the beautiful harmonies of 'If I Fell,' and Paul created one of his most enduring standbys in 'Can't Buy Me Love.' Perhaps best of all is 'You Can't Do That,' a hint of the future written by Lennon, led by a nasty, sneering piano and guitar line with a snake-hipped groove, boosted by John's bitter, suspicious lyrics. It's one of their best early songs and is sorely overlooked.

A Hard Day's Night is just one of the many early Beatles records that is all but ignored in the face of say, Sgt. Pepper. But it deserves accolades almost as high as that record, and if you're not into the psychedelic era then you may even prefer it. I know I do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 2009 Stereo Remaster miles better than the 1987 Mono CD!, 16 Sep 2009
By 
M. Norman "BeatleGeek" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Hard Day's Night (Audio CD)
A joyous album - the first Beatles album with no covers. The first album to be recorded with 4-track tape machines which allowed more intricate arrangements (eg vocals on If I Fell and I'll Be Back). The song content is still of the boy meets girl / girl wrongs boy/ boy wrongs girl variety - but is melodically and harmonically more sophisticated than the band's 1963 output. So five stars for the music!!

Now for the re-mastering. The sound is bigger and much better than the 1987 mono cd and definitely less harsh. But it's not as good as it could be. (Possibly the limitations of cd sound quality??) The title track lacks ambience and there is an "artificial" feel to some of the songs - as if the sound is a bit constrained and can't "breathe" (eg the title track and I'm So Happy Just To Dance With You). I have a vinyl copy of the album with the 60's stereo mix on it which doesn't have any of these problems. But it is a bit scratchy....and I'm not keen on hearing scratches!

I've not heard the new mono re-master...but I do think A Hard Day's Night is the only album of the first four that DOES cut the mustard in stereo. The 2009 remaster is definitely worth buying....AND listen to Ringo hammering the cowbell on You Can't Do That. Inspired!!!

..And for those people moaning about the stereo field placement on many of the 2009 remastered Beatles albums....The albums have NOT been re-mastered from the MASTER tapes [where it is easy to shape the sound of individual voices and instruments and move things arround in the stereo field]. The remastering process has used the MIXDOWN tapes [the tapes used to press the records in the 60's AFTER all the mixing and stereo placement decisions had been made.] Therefore the re-mastering process was always going to be about making the original '60's mixes sound better. The Love album from a couple of years ago involved going back to the MASTER tapes and REMIXING which is why the sound on that album is quite different to some the 60's mixes [eg I am the Walrus].
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars QUINTESSENTIAL BEATLES..., 18 Sep 2001
By 
Lawyeraau (Balmoral Castle) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: A Hard Day's Night (Audio CD)
This is a great CD. It is the first Beatles' album released in which all the songs were composed by the Lennon/McCartney duo. From rock to pop to ballads, they did it all. Coupled with their stylized vocals and the band's signature sound, it is quintessential Beatles' music. Without a doubt, this is a landmark album, as The Beatles were at the high point of their popularity, and Beatlesmania was rampant. All you baby boomers out there know what I am talking about.
This CD showcases The Beatles' versatility, as they rock through "A Hard Day's Night" and then segue into a great pop tune, "I Should Have Known Better". This is followed by the romantic "If I Fell", and for those who love a beautiful ballad, there is the haunting and melodic "And I Love Her", sung only as Paul can. Likewise, those who love a gritty, pulse pounding rock beat will definitely be thrilled by John's raspy vocals on "You Can't Do That". These songs are just the tip of the iceberg, however, as there is not one bad track on this CD.
It was with this CD that The Beatles took a pivotal role in the shaping of pop music in the twentieth century. No music collection should be without it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The First �Real� Beatles Album, 24 Jun 2004
By 
L. Hutchinson (Newcastle Upon Tyne, Britain) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Hard Day's Night (Audio CD)
"A Hard Day's Night" not only was the de facto soundtrack for the Beatles movie, not only was it the first Beatles album to be nothing but originals (all penned by Lennon-McCartney), but it found the Beatles truly coming into their own as a band. All of the disparate influences on their first two albums had coalesced into a bright, joyous, original sound, filled with ringing guitars and irresistible melodies. "A Hard Day's Night" is where the Beatles became mythical, but this is the sound of Beatlemania in all of its giddy glory. Decades after its original release, its punchy blend of propulsive rhythms, jingly guitars, and infectious, sing along melodies is remarkably fresh.
There is something intrinsically exciting in the sound of the album itself, something to keep the record vital, years after its recording. Even more impressive are the songs themselves (obviously). Not only are the melodies forceful and memorable, but also Lennon and McCartney have found a number of variations to their basic Merseybeat style, from the brash "Can't Buy Me Love" and "Any Time At All" through the gentle "If I Fell" to the tough folk-rock of "I'll Cry Instead". It's possible to hear both songwriters develop their own distinctive voices on the album, but, overall, "A Hard Day's Night" stands as a testament to their collaborative powers- never again did they write together so well and so easily, choosing to pursue their own routes.
John Lennon and Paul McCartney must have known how strong the material was/is- they threw the pleasant trifle "I'm Happy Just To Dance With You" to George and didn't give anything to Ringo to sing. That may have been a little selfish, but it hardly hurts the album, since everything on the record is performed with genuine glee and excitement. It's the pinnacle of the Beatles early years.
This is a truly great album; it's one of my favourites. If you haven't got it-you're crazy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five times a week, 10 Dec 2006
By 
H. meiehofer "haroldm" (glasgow, scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Hard Day's Night (Audio CD)
This is the first truly great Beatles album. I can recall at the age of seven going to see the film five times in one week; quite a feat that involved me tapping every relative I had for the entrance fees. All worth it to hear this fabulous music.

Whilst the Beatles did produce good music before, this is the moment when the moved on to a different plane and left the competition floundering in their wake. It's all the more remarkable given that the songs were all knocked out to order in a few days in a hotel bedroom.

The variety on this album is breath taking, moving seamlessly from good time rockers to touching ballads. They also show a good understanding of the effective use of acoustic guitar.

If the Beatles had stopped here then they would still deserve every bit of the magnificent reputation they enjoy. Thankfully they didn't
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Addition to previous reviewer's comments., 14 Oct 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Hard Day's Night (Audio CD)
There's not much I can add to the reviews already submitted, however in respect of Ringo not being given a song, he actually sang lead vocals on 'Matchbox' which was actually recorded during the sessions for a Hard Day's Night. Also recorded during these sessions were 'Long Tall Sally', 'I Call Your Name' and 'Slow Down'. All four of these songs (three of them were covers) were excluded from 'A Hard Day's Night', but released seperately on the 'Long Tall Sally' EP.

Also of interest, the two sides of a single, i.e., 'Can't Buy Me Love' and 'You Can't Do That' were actually recorded at an earlier session in 1964, but included on the 'A Hard Day's Night' album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Should be on all classic album lists, 21 Oct 2006
By 
D. J. H. Thorn "davethorn13" (Hull, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Hard Day's Night (Audio CD)
This is the first Beatles album to consist wholly of self-penned material at a time when probably only Bob Dylan could boast the same. Moreover, it sounds almost like a greatest hits collection, such is the consistently high quality. You'll do well to find as formidable a set of songs as this by just about any other artist. As such, 'A Hard Day's Night' shouldn't be forgotten when thinking about all-time best albums. These are the sort of studio creations that made The Beatles the best in the first place.

The title track and 'Can't Buy Me Love' are the flagship tracks, but try finding anything less than stunning amongst the rest. 'When I Get Home' and perhaps 'I'm Happy Just To Dance With You' are the only instances I can find. The latin-flavoured 'And I Love Her' shows their mastery of the slow pop song as does 'If I Fell'. 'Things We Said Today' is bewitching and 'You Can't Do That' is a gutsy John Lennon song. 'Any Time At All' might be described as a production line Beatles song, but this is a production line that produces Rolls-Royces. An irresistibly enjoyable half-hour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Hard Day's Night [VINYL]
A Hard Day's Night [VINYL] by The Beatles (Vinyl - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews