Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 34 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars As good as ever
If you don't know Blackmore's Night it is a band formed by former Deep Purple guitarist, Ritchie Blackmore, and his wife Candice Night. Along with an ever changing line up of `minstrels' they play renaissance style music, and when playing live they perform in period costume at castles and the like. Very popular in Germany and surrounds which can offer a range of that...
Published on 14 Sep 2010 by Alex

versus
9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars recycling
well what can isay,probably the worst release of blackmores night since their first brilliant release,it gets slowly boring to here the same sound every album ,sorry does nothing for me,been a big fan since beginning but slowly the songs and music are getting a bit yawny,hopefully the tour will be better,and maybe bringing back the sisters of the moon would help.ok thats...
Published on 9 Oct 2010 by M. Brogden


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 34 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars As good as ever, 14 Sep 2010
By 
Alex (Sandhurst, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Autumn Sky (Audio CD)
If you don't know Blackmore's Night it is a band formed by former Deep Purple guitarist, Ritchie Blackmore, and his wife Candice Night. Along with an ever changing line up of `minstrels' they play renaissance style music, and when playing live they perform in period costume at castles and the like. Very popular in Germany and surrounds which can offer a range of that style of venue, and is an excellent evening's entertainment. They have a formula, and as per the old adage - `If it ain't broke, don't fix it.', so this latest release is very similar to all of their others, and I for one applaud them for it.

Autumn Sky is a mix of traditional and self penned numbers, vocal and instrumental, with a couple from outside writers, which while good, are the weaker tracks on the album.

For some reason Europe and the US have different cover art work. The US got the better deal.

If you know and like the band's previous work it is more of the same. If you are new to Blackmore's Night this album is typical and as good a start point as any. Highly recommended.

Track by track for those looking for more detail.

Highland - Not the best choice of opener as it is the weakest on the album. One of those by outside writers. Over produced and what sounds like a drum machine. No, they wouldn't, would they?

Vagabond (Make A Princess Of Me) - Intro very similar to Purple's - Soldier Of Fortune. Goes into a lilting hypnotic piece and it is not just the lyrics that make it sound a bit like their song Queen For A Day.

Journeyman (Vandraren)- If this is not a drum machine then Squire Malcolm Of Lumley and the techs need to do something to stop it sounding like one. Features Ritchie's signature electric guitar tone. English lyrics by Candice Night but for some reason not included in CD booklet.

Believe In Me - self penned slow number, acoustic to electric as song goes on. Maddeningly familiar melody to the start of the chorus, but at time of writing can't place. Anyone help?*** Only quibble is that Ms Night at times sounds as if she has been taking elocution lessons to hide her native American accent behind posh English. The same is true a few times throughout the album and she is better without it.

Sake Of The Song - Another Blackmore/Night composition, mid tempo good guitar work as always. In concert I am sure the title line will be one for the crowd to shout out. This segues into...

Song And Dance (Pt II) - Full pomp instrumental version of above, booming drums and various pipes a bit like a fast Irish march.

Celluloid Heroes - The old Ray Davies/Kinks song. Good song done well, but just out of place with the other material, even if you are old enough to remember all of the people mentioned.

Keeper Of The Flame - Self penned up tempo, all the elements those familiar with the band will know, even one of Ritchie's favourite licks. A crowd pleaser.

Night At Eggersberg - One of Ritchie's `solo' gentle acoustic guitar pieces. I love them.

Strawberry Girl - Acoustic waltz time, lyrics of fields, meadows and sunshine.

All The Fun Of The Fayre - Up tempo, the instrumental section has a Middle Eastern feel which would be at home played on an oud. Another crowd pleaser with a space for them to shout Oy Oy. If you've seen the concerts you'll understand.

Darkness - A traditional song. Flutes and acoustic guitars. An unusually prominent male harmony vocal with Candice, and her own voice double tracked. Segues into ...

Dance Of The Darkness - Instrumental version of above, shawms prominent and the big drum sound again. Good electric guitar and a chance for the bassist to show his stuff, again no doubt with live performance in mind.

Health To The Company - With such a title I was expecting a rousing drinking song and was surprised to find a slow reflective acoustic piece. Traditional song but lyrically similar to Dandelion Wine from the Ghost Of A Rose album.

Barbara Allen - Traditional song but with an arrangement that builds up. This is the one song where the `elocution lesson' accent should have been used but wasn't.

*** Solved. It is The Way You Look Tonight by Jerome Kern
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars recycling, 9 Oct 2010
By 
M. Brogden "mickb44" (germany) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Autumn Sky (Audio CD)
well what can isay,probably the worst release of blackmores night since their first brilliant release,it gets slowly boring to here the same sound every album ,sorry does nothing for me,been a big fan since beginning but slowly the songs and music are getting a bit yawny,hopefully the tour will be better,and maybe bringing back the sisters of the moon would help.ok thats it sorry to all u hard fans who disagree, but blackmores night have become stale,and the recycling paper is nearly being used more then quo lol
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic release. Notably softer this time..., 8 Sep 2010
This review is from: Autumn Sky (Audio CD)
It's fair to say that Blackmore's Night are quite lucky. They have the option and ability to create the quietest of ballads, yet totally rock out when the mood takes them, a far cry from most other renaissance/folk inspired bands out there.

The Village Lantern & The Secret Voyage (their 2 previous albums), had notably harder rock sounds, but this seems more in vein with Ghost Of A Rose era where the music seemed more mainstream and lighthearted. Whether this is a good or bad thing I suppose depends on your view of this direction Ritchie Blackmore has taken.

Heavy or soft, makes no difference to me however. I have greatly enjoyed all their albums so far and this is no exception. It may be a little 'samey' in some instances (I feel I've heard songs like Vagabond many times before) but they are still enjoyable and pave the way for some interesting and satisfying songs such as Journyman and Highland.

Don't miss!

(I still prefer the American version of the album cover to the UK one thought.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Slightly disappointed Blackmores fan, 9 July 2011
By 
Mrs. J. DICKINSON (Leeds, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Autumn Sky (Audio CD)
My husband is a huge fan and was really looking forward to this album. Whilst there is nothing really wrong with it, it does not match up to previous albums. I have to agree with him. Only about three songs will make it on to the iPod. Come on - we want better next time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars My first Blackmore's Night Album, 6 Jun 2014
By 
Mr. Richard The book boy "Book boy" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Autumn Sky (Audio CD)
I came across this band on YouTube and liked it very much. I like medieval and Celtic type music and this is very in keeping with that genre.
I have listened to it a couple of times on a decent HiFi and it is very nice to listen to. The music is fantastic and the singing equally so. I have ordered some more CD's from this group after listening to them extensively on YouTube.
Highly recommended .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful masterpiece for the winter time, 10 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Autumn Sky (Audio CD)
I've listened to Blackmore's Night snippets many times, and now decided to collect them all. I admire Ritchie Blackmore, his unique talent, musical visions and feels. I adore Candice' wonderful vocals which has similarities with ABBA's Agnetha and Anni-Frid, and then some Stevie Nicks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Ho-Hum, 21 Dec 2013
By 
S. Riley - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Autumn Sky (Audio CD)
Probably the weakest album of the entire BN back catalogue. Ritchie and Candice very much going through the motions with this one and "phoning it in". No stand-out tracks at all, all very same-old same-old, and as another reviewer put it, strictly elevator music. For BN completists only.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 10 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Autumn Sky (Audio CD)
This is an excellent album which i hear playing in a music store. Folky and rocky at the same time, brilliant guitar playing too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Autumn Skies, 6 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Autumn Sky (Audio CD)
What a great CD a CD well worth purcasing and it truly brings out the best of Blackmores Knight, i have been a very big fan of theirs way back when, so if you are going to buy one CD this year you would be adviced to purchase this one
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Bland, but with a few gems, 16 Nov 2011
This review is from: Autumn Sky (Audio CD)
I hate to give a poor review to this great band, but I don't think Ritchie and Candice really had their hearts in this album, distracted as they were by Candice's pregnancy. I read somewhere that it was mostly recorded by them alone in a tiny studio and that's exactly how it sounds. The comments by some about drum machines are almost certainly on target. Teamwork from great musicians is part of what BN is about and dropping the band is a bit short sighted. As for the songs, some of them are disappointingly repetitive, with little development or variation. It is almost as if Ritchie was working to a deadline and said "That'll do". Not good enough. The dearth of violins is a real mistake, and there's too much of the bagpipe-style sound (sorry don't know the name of the instruments). That said, the best tracks that I always play are Journeyman, Keeper of the flame (brilliant) and Health to the company, the last of which shows off Candice's mature voice, the meld of New England and olde England, and brings tears to my eyes. Sadly most of the rest is disposable. Never mind, onwards and upwards.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Autumn Sky
Autumn Sky by Blackmore's Night
Buy MP3 Album7.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews