Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


46 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LOVED IT!!!
This is great! It is like listening to The Andrews Sisters, only modern. If like me you enjoy classic Christmas songs, you probably have albums like the amazing Merry Christmas With Bing Crosby and the Andrews Sisters, and I suppose you might wonder why get the album of a contemporary group, singing 40s style Christmas songs, when you can have the original. Indeed most of...
Published on 15 Nov 2010 by Eleni

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars I wanted to love it ...
but alas it did not make the grade... I rate some of the Puppini's other CDs much higher. But this just felt rather shallow and commercial. This is not the Andrews sisters at xmas. I was looking for an alternative to some of the xmas classics but this will slide to the back of the collection and is unlikely to be played very often. There is lots of good alternative xmas...
Published 7 months ago by Yachtsman


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

46 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LOVED IT!!!, 15 Nov 2010
By 
Eleni - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Christmas With The Puppini Sisters (Audio CD)
This is great! It is like listening to The Andrews Sisters, only modern. If like me you enjoy classic Christmas songs, you probably have albums like the amazing Merry Christmas With Bing Crosby and the Andrews Sisters, and I suppose you might wonder why get the album of a contemporary group, singing 40s style Christmas songs, when you can have the original. Indeed most of the songs in this album are oldies, like "Here Comes Santa Claus", "Let It Snow! Let It Snow! Let It Snow!", "White Christmas", "Santa Baby" , "Mele Kalikimaka" , "Winter Wonderland", and "O Holy Night", performed in a retro style. Well, the obvious reason to get this album, is because it is excellently done; great music, nostalgic lyrics, imaginative arrangements and creative performances, all that by artists who seem to love and enjoy what they do.

Also, the album includes newer popular Christmas songs like Elton John's 1970s "Step into Christmas", Wham's 1980s "Last Christmas", and Mariah Carey's 1990s "All I Want for Christmas Is You", all performed in the modern burlesque-ish jazz style of the Puppini Sisters. I actually think that these versions of all three of these songs are far better then the originals and they certainly made me like the songs more.

In total this is an excellent Christmas album; a very original idea, skillfully executed in the unique Puppini Sisters style, with a great deal of humor and imagination, thus highly recommended.

Have a Very Happy Christmas!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant covers with one radical re-interpretation, 21 Nov 2010
By 
Peter Durward Harris "Pete the music fan" (Leicester England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Christmas With The Puppini Sisters (Audio CD)
The Puppini sisters aren't really sisters, but they harmonize well together and they have a very distinctive sound that ensures their future (if they want it) in cabaret long after their commercial recording days are over, but let's hope that doesn't happen any time soon. Although difficult to classify, I suppose jazz-pop would be the best description. Jazz-pop is far more popular in America than Britain, but the Puppini sisters with their upbeat music are surely helping to boost the music's popularity in Britain. Their enthusiasm for upbeat jazz-pop music makes it no surprise that the Andrews sisters provide their biggest influence.

As somebody who owns a lot of Christmas albums and has reviewed plenty of others borrowed from the library, I generally prefer those albums that contain at least some unfamiliar material, but as soon as I knew that the Puppini sisters had recorded a Christmas album, I also knew it was a must-have even if every song was a familiar classic. From their previous albums and their cover of Jingle bells (not on any of their own albums; see later), I realized that they were capable of bringing freshness and excitement to familiar songs. This album contains exactly the kind of Christmas music that I expected from them, though I don't think anything could have prepared me for their entertaining version of Step into Christmas; I hope it impressed the co-writers Elton John and Bernie Taupin as it certainly impressed me.

Of the other songs, most date back originally back to the thirties, forties and fifties. On these songs, the Puppini sisters turn in excellent performances although they don't really add anything new to these songs. However, their jazz-pop arrangements distinguish their versions of Last Christmas (Wham!) and All I want for Christmas (Mariah Carey) from the originals, though neither of these covers offer such a radical departure from the original as Step into Christmas.

With only ten tracks, it would have been nice if their earlier recording of Jingle bells had been added as a bonus track. That track can be found on several multi-artist Christmas compilations and is also available as a download. If you enjoy this album, be sure to acquire their version of Jingle bells.

Although a little on the short side, this album oozes quality from start to finish. If you're looking for a Christmas party album filled with familiar songs, this one is ideal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's Fun. It's Fresh. It's Fabulous!!!, 19 Nov 2010
By 
This review is from: Christmas With The Puppini Sisters (Audio CD)
This is a brilliant Christmas album! It brings a unique blend of modern / nostalgic fun and cheer to the party! The harmonies are exquisite and the choice of songs perfect! Cannot fault this album at all! If, like me, you are not looking forward to Christmas, listen to this album ... it will cheer you up!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely loved it!, 12 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Christmas With The Puppini Sisters (Audio CD)
This is Christmas music with a difference. The harmonies and style of singing are brilliant! I will be buying more of the Puppini sisters!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Christmas album, 23 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Christmas With The Puppini Sisters (Audio CD)
Songs sung in the old style (Andrew's Sisters style) gets you in the Christmas mood. Only negative is the old songs are quite short so the album is relatively short.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 3 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Christmas With The Puppini Sisters (Audio CD)
Brilliant! :0)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love these girls, 24 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Christmas With The Puppini Sisters (Audio CD)
This is a very good Christmas cd great mix and choose recommend you add to your collection if you love swing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Puppini Sisters, 27 Dec 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Christmas With The Puppini Sisters (Audio CD)
Love this girl group. Fabulous CD with very different versions of christmas songs. Absolutely love it and have played many times over Christmas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars I wanted to love it ..., 21 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Christmas With The Puppini Sisters (Audio CD)
but alas it did not make the grade... I rate some of the Puppini's other CDs much higher. But this just felt rather shallow and commercial. This is not the Andrews sisters at xmas. I was looking for an alternative to some of the xmas classics but this will slide to the back of the collection and is unlikely to be played very often. There is lots of good alternative xmas music out there now... try Dianna Krall if you want a more jazzy sound.

Not bad ... but they have proven capable of doing much better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Re-Imaged Christmas Classics, 21 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Christmas With The Puppini Sisters (Audio CD)
The Puppini Sisters bring their unique revival sound to the Christmas classics and I was very pleased with this album. The orchestrations complimented the vocal style perfectly and resulted in a very listenable album. This is the kind of album that can be played to reinvigorate the usual Christmas holiday classics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Christmas With The Puppini Sisters
Christmas With The Puppini Sisters by The Puppini Sisters (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews