Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Shop now Learn more


Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 October 2010
DISC 1: THE ISLAND

David (Paul Dickson, 1951, 38 mins)
To Be A Woman (Jill Craigie, 1951, 18 mins)
The Island (Peter Pickering, 1952, 25 mins)
The Elephant will Never Forget (John Krish, 1953, 10 mins)
Sunday by the Sea (Anthony Simmons, 1953, 13 mins)
Henry (Lindsay Anderson, 1955, 4 mins)
Foot and Mouth (Lindsay Anderson, 1955, 20 mins)
Birthright (Sarah Erulkar, 1958, 25 mins)
They Took Us To The Sea (John Krish, 1961, 26 mins)
Faces of Harlow (Derrick Knight, 1964, 30 mins)

DISC 2: RETURN TO LIFE

Thursday's Children (Lindsay Anderson & Guy Brenton, 1954, 20 mins)
There Was a Door... (Derek Williams, 1957, 30 mins)
People Apart (Guy Brenton, 1957, 36 mins)
Return to Life (John Krish, 1960, 29 mins)
Four People (Guy Brenton, 1962, 41 mins)
A Time to Heal (Derrick Knight, 1963, 40 mins)
Time Out of Mind (Eric Marquis, 1968, 38 mins)

DISC 3: THE SHADOW OF PROGRESS

Three Installations (Lindsay Anderson, 1952, 23 mins)
The Film That Never Was (Paul Dickson, 1957, 30 mins)
Stone into Steel (Paul Dickson, 1960, 37 mins)
From First to Last (Anthony Simmons, 1962, 30 mins)
People, Productivity and Change (Peter Bradford, 1963, 44 mins)
Shellarama (Richard Cawston, 1965, 14 mins)
Picture to Post (Sarah Erulkar, 1969, 23 mins)
The Shadow of Progress (Derek Williams, 1970, 26 mins)

DISC 4: TODAY IN BRITAIN

Today in Britain (Peter Hopkinson, 1964, 19 mins)
I Think They Call Him John (John Krish, 1964, 28 mins)
Portrait of Queenie (Michael Orrom, 1964, 46 mins)
Education for the Future (Derrick Knight, 1967, 10 mins)
Tomorrow's Merseysiders (Eric Marquis, 1974, 25 mins)
Time of Terror (Eric Marquis, 1975, 18 mins)
The Shetland Experience (Derek Williams, 1977, 27 mins)

There's also a new 42-minute documentary, 'Perspectives on Documentary Filmmaking' that interviews half a dozen of the filmmakers mentioned above.

I have to declare an interest in that I was one of the contributors to the accompanying 100-page booklet, but Amazon insists that all reviews have star ratings attached. That said, I'm pretty confident that this won't be the only five-star one when it's released: it really is an extraordinary collection, fully up to the curatorial standards of its predecessor 'Land of Promise'.
88 comments|77 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2011
This is an absolutely stunning collection of documentary films, giving a wonderful picture of my childhood years and beyond. It does not give you a Pathe News or "Look at Life" feel good view of Post-War Britain, but digs far deeper into the social world in which I grew up. It is a mixture of entertaining and informative subjects, some of which will be a delight but others quite hard to watch. Most of the films are about 30 minutes in length , a few shorter.
Essential viewing for those who grew up in the 1950s, not so much nostalgia as a truly educational experience about the world around us as children.
11 comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2010
The BFI do an incredible job of finding and archiving films which could otherwise just be lost to us.
This set of films covers that crucial period when the war was over but the country seemed uncertain of where it went next.
Social changes were significant and this whole aspect rapidly grew into the seventies when the roots of our new society were growing.
Of course theres propaganda - were new towns ever going to be the utopia that the film offers - but the feel of how life was for so many people does come over strongly in the sharp black and white photography and crisp direction - star directors often cut their teeth on these movies - and the strong social themes.
The film about the deprived children having a day out at the seaside is worth the price alone.
Its hard to believe that the world in these films was our world only a short time ago
For anyone who is interested in modern history and loves film heres the perfect package.
0Comment|22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 December 2010
i'm a bit of a documentary fiend and up till a few years ago existed on a diet of shark / hitler / serial killer / cannibal programmes......oh dear !

thankfully after watching ''the tribe that hides from man'' i came to the conclusion that much of the best work was created decades ago.

''world in action'' and ''whickers world'' were quickly devoured ( there i go thinking i'm a shark )

i have collected many dvd's made by BFI and see them as a national treasure in themselves , the USA has ''criterion'' we have both BFI and EUREKA as producers of top quality product.

shadows of progress i consider the finest documentary collection currently available.
it is a real mixed bag of subjects , many subjects i truely believed i would find dull but no , every one held my interest.

''Thursday's Children'' i thought was just amazing , it touched upon the full range of emotions.....i didn't expect to laugh though......it was during a very un-pc moment that wouldn't be broadcast these days !

i must mention ''The Elephant Will Never Forget'' it had me blubbing like a child.....at the demise of a tram of all things.

the boxset is top value considering the quality and quantity of documentaries included , the book is first class and very informative.

anyone reading this who like me watches : shark / hitler / serial killer / cannibal docs , please give this a try you will be surprised !

thanks mr brooke and everyone else at BFI for releasing these fabulous films to the public.
0Comment|34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2012
I grew up in the fifties and after watching these documentaries I did not realize at the time how hard life was, some of the films look more like the 1930/40's than the Post War regeneration era but true accounts often show a different version to what you remember. The films were well made and provided a nostalgic look back at life.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 24 December 2010
Another excellent clutch of documentaries. Excellent booklet which has a lot of detail and useful modern discussion added.

If you are, like myself, a serious modeller of the 1950s and 1960s the details from the shots are invaluable in giving an insight into how we used to live. Two things that strike me is the almost universal smoking in the workplace - even in a doctor's waiting room; and the lack of any present day health and safety obligations. I have, however, a slight cocnern about whether or not the work people 'dressed up' for the filming. Any permanent record would always mean being told to put on a clean collar for men! But such a stricture is due to any such films produced in that era. However a brilliant record of social atitudes - the tale of those who were sacked for havign epilepsy shows how far we have come in dealing with some issues.

My only complaint is the packaging. The DVDs - there are four in all - are placed in trays which mean one is partially superimposed on another. I am less sure how well this will protect them adequately. I can see the upper DVD getting damage from the one partially uderneath. I can see this possibly saves space but I have found another box to store two of the DVDs to ensure that no damage ensues. With such a useful record I would not like to lose them.
0Comment|21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2015
Brilliant
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2011
IM STILL WORKING MY WAY THROUGH THESE DOCUMENTARY FILMS . WHAT I HAVE WATCHED SO FAR I HAVE BEEN IMPRESSED WITH PORTRAIT OF QUEENIE BEING ONE OF MY FAVOURITES SHOWING PUB ENTERTAINMENT HOW IT USED TO BE BACK IN THE 60S. FOLLOWING ON FROM THE EARLIER COLLECTION LAND OF PROMISE THIS A WORTHY SUCCSESSOR
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)